We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely, warm, welcoming, comfortable and relaxing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Girraween Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Ballandean B&B and Inns
1 review
“A lovely, warm, welcoming, comfortable and relaxing stay!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were lucky enough to spend two nights with Andrea and Valerio recently whilst we explored the Granite Belt for a relaxing weekend. Andrea and Valerio could not have been more accommodating if they tried. From lovely, roaring fires to beautifully clean and warm rooms, from amazing home-cooked, authentic italian dinners to thoughtfully presented continental breakfasts, great stories, conversations and hospitality, our weekend at Girraween was like staying with longtime friends. Would recommend staying here to anyone... The surroundings are peaceful, relaxing and you honestly do leave feeling rejuvenated and like you've been a million miles away from the hustle and bustle of everyday, busy lives! CAN NOT WAIT TO GO BACK AGAIN!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karnie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    16
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We went here for a work social club weekend. I can highly recommend this to anyone. I was worried that the rooms might be like small motel rooms but that is not the case, ours was quite large and comfortable. We dined in both nights and the food was a delight. They have a set menu which is Italian and all made in house by Valeria - highly recommended. Andrea also organised for us a wine tour with Stanthorpe Tours which was just so relaxing and enjoyable and we all had such a good day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgrieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Wow!! ... My husband and I recently met up with a group of friends at Girraween Country Inn for a winter weekend away and a tour of local vineyards. Girraween Country Inn is a lovely cosy guesthouse set in a great location. However the highlight of our stay in my opinion was that the hosts Andrea and Valeria were so wonderful. They were welcoming, efficient and helpful. Valaria's cooking was ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! We were so happy that we had elected to eat at the guesthouse for the duration of our stay. If you are considering staying in the Stanthorpe area I would certainly recommend Girraween Country Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at the Girraween Country Inn for a spontaneous weekend away to enjoy the cold weather on the Granite Belt. Andrea and Valerio run the place with genuine warmth and hospitality, and guests can enjoy a 3-course table d'hote dinner in the evenings. As Valerio, chief cook and bottle washer, is from Southern Italy the food reflects his heritage with beautiful vegetable and pasta dishes and hearty meat dishes. Andrea is warm and efficient sorting out tours and sightseeing opportunities for guests and any other requests that come her way. Our room was clean and comfortable with it's own ensuite - I was a bit worried it might be a bit noisy as they were at capacity when we stayed but we heard not a peep from any one else! We will definitely be back - in fact, we can't wait.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We just enjoyed a weekend at the Inn, which impressed us with its setting and grounds. Andrea and Valerio were excellent hosts and we stayed for the italian-style 3 course meal on both nights. The room was very clean and comfortable and provided with an oil heater and electric blankets which kept us warm in the winter season. The location on Eukey road was perfect for visiting the boutique-style wineries of the Granite Belt and very picturesque. Would recommend in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

On our arrival, we were warmly greeted by Andrea one of the hosts. The rooms themselves were spacious and adequately equipped with the usual modcons. I was slightly worried about being cold seeing as we only had a small oil heater, but this and the election blanket did the trick. Shower was very clean and basic (no bath sadly). Water pressure isn't great so time your showers when others aren't having one! Our room was right above the breakfast area which meant it got noisy during peak breakfast time. These delicious small croissants are served straight out of the oven at brekkie (continental) so the noise could be forgiven. There is a small area between the rooms where a group of 5/6 can hang out and play one of the board games provided right by the fireplace. Our bed was a lovely four poster bed which was really cosy and comfy. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this BnB.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Ourselves and two other couples have just experienced the most wonderful long weekend at this glorious Inn. Nothing was too much trouble for Andrea and Valerio the hosts, whether it was the delightful dinner or chopping wood for the fire. We would all certainly recommend this Inn. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenore L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballandean
3.9 mi away
Girraween Environmental Lodge
3.1 mi away
Cypress Ridge Cottages
Cypress Ridge Cottages
#2 of 8 in Ballandean
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sancerre Estate B&B
Sancerre Estate B&B
#1 of 4 in Ballandean
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Diamondvale Cottages
Diamondvale Cottages
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
10.5 mi away
High Street Motor Inn
High Street Motor Inn
#4 of 8 in Stanthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ridgemill Estate: Cabins in the Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Girraween Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Girraween Country Inn

Property: Girraween Country Inn
Address: 1793 Eukey Rd, Ballandean, Queensland 4380, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Ballandean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballandean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Girraween Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Girraween Country Inn is in a land of huge Granite Boulders at a height of nearly 1,000 metres on a 40 acre Eucalypt forest. Relax in our comfortable and spacious King Suites, dine in our restaurant and enjoy a selection of the best local wines in our fully licensed bar. The Inn is also ideal for families with one bedroom and adjoining suites, common areas to relax and gardens to explore.All the local attractions are just on our doorstep. The Inn is just moments from the boutique wineries of Ballandean and Stanthorpe and a short drive from the four major National Parks. We look forward to welcoming you to the Girraween Country Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Girraween Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing