We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Girraween Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Ballandean B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at Girraween Country Inn for a long weekend to do some walking in the nearby national park and to visit a few of the Granite Belt wineries. The accommodation turned out to be one of the highlights of the weekend.

The King Suite is spacious with a great bed and the Inn's location is very picturesque. However, it's the hosts who make this place so special. Valerio and Andrea are very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Their warm welcome and big smiles make you feel right at home.

We stayed in for dinner on both nights and the food was superb. Valerio's efforts in the kitchen produce tasty works of art for the dinner table. Saying this hotel is excellent doesn't speak highly enough of the hosts.

Room Tip: The King Suites are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikey0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

What a fabulous few days, our hosts Andre and Valerio were warm and friendly. The food, hospitality and service were second to none.The National Parks are just beautiful. A memorable time thanks Andrea and Valerion

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were lucky enough to spend two nights with Andrea and Valerio recently whilst we explored the Granite Belt for a relaxing weekend. Andrea and Valerio could not have been more accommodating if they tried. From lovely, roaring fires to beautifully clean and warm rooms, from amazing home-cooked, authentic italian dinners to thoughtfully presented continental breakfasts, great stories, conversations and hospitality, our weekend at Girraween was like staying with longtime friends. Would recommend staying here to anyone... The surroundings are peaceful, relaxing and you honestly do leave feeling rejuvenated and like you've been a million miles away from the hustle and bustle of everyday, busy lives! CAN NOT WAIT TO GO BACK AGAIN!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karnie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We went here for a work social club weekend. I can highly recommend this to anyone. I was worried that the rooms might be like small motel rooms but that is not the case, ours was quite large and comfortable. We dined in both nights and the food was a delight. They have a set menu which is Italian and all made in house by Valeria - highly recommended. Andrea also organised for us a wine tour with Stanthorpe Tours which was just so relaxing and enjoyable and we all had such a good day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgrieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Wow!! ... My husband and I recently met up with a group of friends at Girraween Country Inn for a winter weekend away and a tour of local vineyards. Girraween Country Inn is a lovely cosy guesthouse set in a great location. However the highlight of our stay in my opinion was that the hosts Andrea and Valeria were so wonderful. They were welcoming, efficient and helpful. Valaria's cooking was ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! We were so happy that we had elected to eat at the guesthouse for the duration of our stay. If you are considering staying in the Stanthorpe area I would certainly recommend Girraween Country Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at the Girraween Country Inn for a spontaneous weekend away to enjoy the cold weather on the Granite Belt. Andrea and Valerio run the place with genuine warmth and hospitality, and guests can enjoy a 3-course table d'hote dinner in the evenings. As Valerio, chief cook and bottle washer, is from Southern Italy the food reflects his heritage with beautiful vegetable and pasta dishes and hearty meat dishes. Andrea is warm and efficient sorting out tours and sightseeing opportunities for guests and any other requests that come her way. Our room was clean and comfortable with it's own ensuite - I was a bit worried it might be a bit noisy as they were at capacity when we stayed but we heard not a peep from any one else! We will definitely be back - in fact, we can't wait.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We just enjoyed a weekend at the Inn, which impressed us with its setting and grounds. Andrea and Valerio were excellent hosts and we stayed for the italian-style 3 course meal on both nights. The room was very clean and comfortable and provided with an oil heater and electric blankets which kept us warm in the winter season. The location on Eukey road was perfect for visiting the boutique-style wineries of the Granite Belt and very picturesque. Would recommend in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballandean
4.7 mi away
Vineyard Cottages and Cafe
Vineyard Cottages and Cafe
#2 of 4 in Ballandean
87 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cypress Ridge Cottages
Cypress Ridge Cottages
#2 of 8 in Ballandean
132 reviews
9.0 mi away
Diamondvale Cottages
Diamondvale Cottages
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Sancerre Estate B&B
Sancerre Estate B&B
#1 of 4 in Ballandean
59 reviews
2.8 mi away
Windswept Country Retreat
Windswept Country Retreat
#8 of 8 in Ballandean
8 reviews
5.5 mi away
Azjure Studio Retreat
Azjure Studio Retreat
#3 of 8 in Ballandean
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Girraween Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Girraween Country Inn

Address: 1793 Eukey Rd, Ballandean, Queensland 4380, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Ballandean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballandean
Price Range: £82 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Girraween Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Girraween Country Inn is in a land of huge Granite Boulders at a height of nearly 1,000 metres on a 40 acre Eucalypt forest. Relax in our comfortable and spacious King Suites, dine in our restaurant and enjoy a selection of the best local wines in our fully licensed bar. The Inn is also ideal for families with one bedroom and adjoining suites, common areas to relax and gardens to explore.All the local attractions are just on our doorstep. The Inn is just moments from the boutique wineries of Ballandean and Stanthorpe and a short drive from the four major National Parks. We look forward to welcoming you to the Girraween Country Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Girraween Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing