We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious host” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Girraween Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Girraween Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Ballandean B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Gracious host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Apolonia was a gracious host. Although she has only got back into the role very recently,she was definitely a warm and welcoming host.
The room was as expected. Sufficiently large and generally clean.
There were some details that were lacking though,dead bugs in cups n dust on plate. Should have hooks to hold the wooden windows,the strong wind gust would make it slam shut.
Food department really needs improving. Continental breakfast consist of hot fresh crossaints,cereal and fruits. I actually wanted toast,but when asked,there was no bread. Dinner was a pleasant enough experience but definitely needs improving.
It was very well written, unfortunately it didn't live up to its description. The only part of dinner that was good was dessert.
In saying that,I would like to return to see how things are after the new management settles down and sorts itself out.
Apolonia was just beyond nice and welcoming. I believe I'm giving it another go in future because of her. Also we were treated with a surprise as upon checking out,we were presented with the resident wine!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodgloriousfood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed recently at the Girraween Inn which was very nice. Our hosts Valerio and Andrea made our stay fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble. We dined in both nights and had the most delicious meals prepared by Valerio and served by the friendly Andrea. Andrea also recommended a great place for local fruit and veg and sour dough. We needed to leave early on the Monday morning before the normal start of breakfast and Valerio prepared the breakfast buffet early to accommodate us. Once again - Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Valerio and Andrea - you have made our visit extremely memorable and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela1012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at Girraween Country Inn for a long weekend to do some walking in the nearby national park and to visit a few of the Granite Belt wineries. The accommodation turned out to be one of the highlights of the weekend.

The King Suite is spacious with a great bed and the Inn's location is very picturesque. However, it's the hosts who make this place so special. Valerio and Andrea are very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Their warm welcome and big smiles make you feel right at home.

We stayed in for dinner on both nights and the food was superb. Valerio's efforts in the kitchen produce tasty works of art for the dinner table. Saying this hotel is excellent doesn't speak highly enough of the hosts.

Room Tip: The King Suites are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikey0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

What a fabulous few days, our hosts Andre and Valerio were warm and friendly. The food, hospitality and service were second to none.The National Parks are just beautiful. A memorable time thanks Andrea and Valerion

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were lucky enough to spend two nights with Andrea and Valerio recently whilst we explored the Granite Belt for a relaxing weekend. Andrea and Valerio could not have been more accommodating if they tried. From lovely, roaring fires to beautifully clean and warm rooms, from amazing home-cooked, authentic italian dinners to thoughtfully presented continental breakfasts, great stories, conversations and hospitality, our weekend at Girraween was like staying with longtime friends. Would recommend staying here to anyone... The surroundings are peaceful, relaxing and you honestly do leave feeling rejuvenated and like you've been a million miles away from the hustle and bustle of everyday, busy lives! CAN NOT WAIT TO GO BACK AGAIN!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karnie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We went here for a work social club weekend. I can highly recommend this to anyone. I was worried that the rooms might be like small motel rooms but that is not the case, ours was quite large and comfortable. We dined in both nights and the food was a delight. They have a set menu which is Italian and all made in house by Valeria - highly recommended. Andrea also organised for us a wine tour with Stanthorpe Tours which was just so relaxing and enjoyable and we all had such a good day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgrieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Wow!! ... My husband and I recently met up with a group of friends at Girraween Country Inn for a winter weekend away and a tour of local vineyards. Girraween Country Inn is a lovely cosy guesthouse set in a great location. However the highlight of our stay in my opinion was that the hosts Andrea and Valeria were so wonderful. They were welcoming, efficient and helpful. Valaria's cooking was ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! We were so happy that we had elected to eat at the guesthouse for the duration of our stay. If you are considering staying in the Stanthorpe area I would certainly recommend Girraween Country Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballandean
19.0 mi away
The Commercial Boutique Hotel
3.1 mi away
Cypress Ridge Cottages
Cypress Ridge Cottages
#2 of 8 in Ballandean
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.0 mi away
Girraween Environmental Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Vineyard Cottages and Cafe
Vineyard Cottages and Cafe
#2 of 5 in Ballandean
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sancerre Estate B&B
Sancerre Estate B&B
#1 of 5 in Ballandean
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
9.2 mi away
Diamondvale B&B Cottages
Diamondvale B&B Cottages
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Girraween Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Girraween Country Inn

Property: Girraween Country Inn
Address: 1793 Eukey Rd, Ballandean, Queensland 4380, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Ballandean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ballandean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Girraween Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Girraween Country Inn is in a land of huge Granite Boulders at a height of nearly 1,000 metres on a 40 acre Eucalypt forest. Relax in our comfortable and spacious King Suites, dine in our restaurant and enjoy a selection of the best local wines in our fully licensed bar. The Inn is also ideal for families with one bedroom and adjoining suites, common areas to relax and gardens to explore.All the local attractions are just on our doorstep. The Inn is just moments from the boutique wineries of Ballandean and Stanthorpe and a short drive from the four major National Parks. We look forward to welcoming you to the Girraween Country Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Girraween Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing