We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“inn needs some upgrades”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Girraween Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Ballandean B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“inn needs some upgrades”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed there with six people over three rooms in July 2014. Its a beautiful place, with loads of potential, but... cold erratic showers, and a crappy breakfast overshadowed what might have been a fantastic experience. then when we left we were hit with a 2% credit card surcharge.
The fixed dinner menu did not suit everybody in our group, and seemed over priced.
overall with some work the place could be brilliant, just not the weekend we stayed there.

Room Tip: if more than one person is showering at the same time, you get nothing more than a dribble of hot wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    16
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Who knew you could find a little slice of heaven only 3 hours out of Brisbane. This place literally makes you feel like you have checked out of the world for a night. The rooms were beautiful and beds extremely comfortable. You were kept toasty and warm by the potbelly fires with old chess sets and board games to keep you entertained for something a little different. You are right on the footsteps of the national park. The only residence which is close to town but also has the delights of scenery and amazing boulders. The owner Apolonia is such a delight she makes you feel so welcomed and taken care of. She knows all there is to know about stanthorpe and ballandean as she set up around 20 years ago. Bruce is a wealth of information also on the area and also makes you feel welcomed. I would definitely be back to experience this warm hospitality again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The stay was very homely nothing was too much trouble for Anapolia she made you all very welcome and was always available to assist. She was a great help with pointing out places of interest she thought we should visit. The meals were excellent set meals with entree, main & desert always very nice.
The wife had a head cold when we arravied and Anapolia ask if she could make a hot lemon and honey drink which wife accepted that evening next morning there was a hot lemon drink waiting when came down for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Room was perfect and we were treated like royalty. The loacation was excellent for touring the area and very quiet. We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious , I have never tasted better. The deal also comes with table service continental breakfast. We were also given grest advice on where to go and what to see. All in all I have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends. A four star experience staying here, look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: Loved the four poster bed but I think I will try the king size next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This inn comes with great personality and is well situated. The hosts are amazingly helpful and kind. We chose to have dinner on the first night there and it was one of the best meals I have ever had and wine was from the neighboring vineyard 'Symphony Hill Wines' I have yet to find a shiraz to beat it. It was a home away from home and I would definitely stay there again next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emanuela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan City, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

What an awesome place to stay. The Owner and Best chef are the most kindest and nicest people that you could have looking after you.
The food was first class all the way and nothing was to much trouble
They have excellent knowledge of the area and history
The accommodation was also first class and very homey

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Having recently spent a weekend at this chalet and really enjoying our time, a review was in order.

We shared dinner on the first evening in the dining hall, were impressed by the meal and conversation in the tranquil settting. Apolonia graciously dispensed details on the locality, the homestead, the decor, and even provided our group with not only the recipe, but also the details of the rich history, of the familial dessert.

We stayed in the chalet, where there was plenty of room for four "Stanthorpe-loving" city couples to lounge, share meals, and of course drink the locally grown apple cider and unique wine varieties.

The location was in great proximity to both the national park and vineyards, and we enjoyed having the chalet to call home that weekend.


Kori and Lisa

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa-Kori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballandean
3.9 mi away
Girraween Environmental Lodge
3.1 mi away
Cypress Ridge Cottages
Cypress Ridge Cottages
#2 of 8 in Ballandean
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sancerre Estate B&B
Sancerre Estate B&B
#1 of 4 in Ballandean
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Diamondvale Cottages
Diamondvale Cottages
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
10.5 mi away
High Street Motor Inn
High Street Motor Inn
#4 of 8 in Stanthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ridgemill Estate: Cabins in the Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Girraween Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Girraween Country Inn

Property: Girraween Country Inn
Address: 1793 Eukey Rd, Ballandean, Queensland 4380, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Ballandean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballandean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Girraween Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Girraween Country Inn is in a land of huge Granite Boulders at a height of nearly 1,000 metres on a 40 acre Eucalypt forest. Relax in our comfortable and spacious King Suites, dine in our restaurant and enjoy a selection of the best local wines in our fully licensed bar. The Inn is also ideal for families with one bedroom and adjoining suites, common areas to relax and gardens to explore.All the local attractions are just on our doorstep. The Inn is just moments from the boutique wineries of Ballandean and Stanthorpe and a short drive from the four major National Parks. We look forward to welcoming you to the Girraween Country Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Girraween Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing