We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Family Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vineyard Cottages and Cafe
Ranked #2 of 4 Ballandean B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Family Weekend”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My family, including children, grandchildren and great grandchildren, has just celebrated our mother's 80th birthday at Vineyard Cottages. The owners, John and Penny, were fantastic. We arrived to warm and welcoming cottages and then proceeded up to the restaurant where we celebrated with drinks in front of a toasty fireplace. The children entertained themselves with games provided by our friendly hosts. We then enjoyed an amazing birthday feast in the function area at tables set up to suit our family perfectly. We were made to feel like we were in our own home. Nothing was too much trouble. Warm, friendly, relaxed, welcoming and much, much more....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    16
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
41
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
594 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

So, a friend suggested we go and follow the wine road through the granite belt. We chose to stay at this venue mainly because it was all we could get in to at the last minute. What a great decision it was. They offer a selection of cottages, that are exactly that, cottages. All are clean and well equipped, complete with delicious biscotti. Great outlook across the country side, clean, pleasant staff and just off the main road. We also chose to eat at the restaurant one night as well, and as a special treat had breakfast cooked by the inimitable, if slightly hungover "John" our host. We spent some time with John the previous evening after dinner and invited him to share his extensive wine "knowledge" with us, and a very entertaining evening it was, complete with attempts to coax out the alleged ghost of Vineyard Cottages. They had free wifi in reception which was more than adequate and a decent stocked bar and menu. Highly recommended if you are ever in this area, very well placed for the entire surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardUpshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a very charming place to stay and relax for a long weekend. Everything I had read on Trip Advisor (positive) was confirmed. Our accommodation in a king terrace cottage was extremely comfy. During winter the cottages are kept constantly warm. The rooms are clean and well appointed. In the evening we enjoyed a lovely glass of red in front of an open fire place before heading into the restaurant for a wonderful dinner. John and Penny were very welcoming hosts and nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend this accommodation for anyone wanting to escape for a weekend touring the Stanthorpe/Ballandean wineries.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeeAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The owners John and Penny make this place very warm and friendly. This is our second visit here spending two nights in the Vineyard Cottages and their customer service and relaxed vibe makes this place a very pleasant weekend away. Use of local produce and an excellent chef, The Vineyard Cafe is an excellent place to eat. Accompanied with an extensive wine list of both local and other domestic wines makes for an enjoyable weekend. Worth a try and we will certainly return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al_twmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I cannot find words good enough to describe this place. The food was second to none as was the service. John and Penny were absolutely amazing hosts who made you feel more like friends than customers. We all tried different meals and we all practically licked the plate clean. It was quite cold however John and Penny accommodated to us by setting us down by the roaring fire to have desserts, wines and cheese platters. John has a wealth of knowledge on wines and always gave the best suggestions. Amazing will be there again in a heart beat!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We travelled with another couple to the Stanthorpe/Ballandean region for an Easter break and spent 3 nights staying here. The hosts were friendly and helpful, and our two-bedroom cottage had everything we needed (except a kitchen sink!). It was a great place to base ourselves while exploring Girrawean National Park and the wineries, markets and food shops in the region. Breakfast in the cafe was delightful - we had the 'cooked' breakfast option rather than the cold buffet breakfast, and enjoyed it every time.
We also had drinks in front on the communal fire one evening and then dined in the attached restaurant. John could not have been more helpful, even bringing the menu out to us in front of the fire so that we could enjoy the warmth and atmosphere while waiting for our meals to be prepared. A wonderful place for a break - we'd go there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runaway Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

After three lovely nights at Vineyard Cottage last August, my husband and I hired a mini bus last weekend and took another three couples back for a return trip.
They, like us, were delighted by the charmingly comfortable cottages, welcoming hosts and fabulous local wineries.
Our weekend was made all the more enjoyable by the amazing dinners provided at the Vineyard Cottages restaurant. Quite honestly, the food provided at this restaurant is second to none. Between us we sampled each dish on the menu over the two nights and we were in awe of this chef's talent. The breakfast each morning was also a delight with the chef's home made breads, muesli and stewed and fresh local fruit or the option of a cooked breakfast.
John and Penny were such warm, welcoming people that we not only left feeling satisfied with a great weekend away but also that we had made two new friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballandean
9.3 mi away
Alure Stanthorpe
Alure Stanthorpe
#3 of 8 in Stanthorpe
109 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cypress Ridge Cottages
Cypress Ridge Cottages
#2 of 8 in Ballandean
125 reviews
6.2 mi away
Girraween Environmental Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Azjure Studio Retreat
Azjure Studio Retreat
#3 of 8 in Ballandean
79 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ridgemill Estate: Cabins in the Vineyard
0.4 mi away
Sancerre Estate B&B
Sancerre Estate B&B
#1 of 4 in Ballandean
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Cottages and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Cottages and Cafe

Property: Vineyard Cottages and Cafe
Address: 28126 New England Hwy, Ballandean, Queensland 4383, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Ballandean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballandean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vineyard Cottages and Cafe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vineyard Cottages is Stanthorpe's longest established and highest AAA rated premium boutique accommodation. Private cottages nestle in established gardens in the small village of Ballandean, 15km south of Stanthorpe and central to the Granite Belt's premium wineries. The onsite licensed restaurant, The Vineyard Cafe,features fresh local produce on its delicious breakfast and dinner menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA and Hotel.de so you can book your Vineyard Cottages and Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing