We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Motel!”

Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
Virginia USA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful Motel!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here only one night but wished we could stay longer. The staff were so friendly and eager to make our stay comfortable. We had a 2 bedroom unit that was very large and very clean. We would recommend this well cared for and maintained motor inn!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlashVirginiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    20
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
20
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for one night as we were passing through Cambridge. The facilities were impressive and very clean. The hosts were very friendly and inviting and made us feel very welcome
I would highly recommend staying at this motel. Thank you The Budd Family :)

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Moonie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
171 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed here for a total of 3 nights. I arrived with 3 lads that were taking part in rowing trials at lake Karapiro so 4 0f us to 1 room. Although one of the lads was my son, you still wonder what level of comfort you are going to enjoy or not! I have to say, the room was easily large enough to accommodate all of us with 3 singles and 1 double bed. The room was very clean, well equipped with toaster, kettle, fridge + knives forks etc. Good shower and plenty of hot water. Having driven for 4 hours and with a an early morning start, we needed a good nights rest before the hard work of the rowing trials. We had a great nights sleep in a quiet room even though the hotel is right on the main road. great owners - couldn't do more for you - very well recommended.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are well located around the pool and enjoy the same peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieC566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Everyhting you'd expect (in a good way) and more fromm this lovely small town motel. Exceptional service, spacious rooms and lovely bathrooms, Great location back from street sp peaceful. One of my favourite motels.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB_Sheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Nice location, on State Highway 1, but up a long drive way and no road noise. Nice clean and large room. Clean pool for the kids. Rooms have been maintained and upgraded with new kitchen units. FreeViewHD Flat Screens TV, with Sky channels as well. Wireless was available, but I did not need it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way up north as we wanted to break our trip, we had driven a long way and Cambridge was the perfect distance for a nights stop. I am glad we chose this motel, it had was so clean and tidy, comfortable and so quiet at night. We stayed in a very large two bedroom unit, with only the three of us there was so much room, well equiped kitchen and bathroom, plenty of towels etc. The pool is just a step outside all the room, well fenced of course. It is a well kept pool area, as clean as the rest of the motel areas, and so refreshing to jump into after the hot drive we had have. Would definitely come back to this motel if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Motel in Cambridge, so close enough to Hamilton but a pleasant small town with less hustle and bustle. Motel is set back on the block, and large rooms have very high ceilings, so all is peace and quiet. Good food preparation area, everything clean. Beds very comfortable which means a good night's sleep in the quiet surroundings. The bathroom was very clean and had a vanity unit and a shower over a bath, but there was no bench space, the shower pressure was so weak it was quite infuriating (hence the average rating for the room), and there were no power points, not even an outlet for shavers, so hair drying etc had to be done elsewhere. It seemed to be an odd initial design given the huge sleeping area could easily have been reduced to give better space in the bathroom.
The town was pleasant to walk around, and if you happen to be there and are just looking for a quick takeaway to take to the lovely park or back to your accommodation, try the Noodle Canteen. We chose it as the best of a rather dodgy looking lot and had low expectations but were pleasantly surprised - the food was freshly prepared and delicious.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambridge Mews
Cambridge Mews
#2 of 8 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cambrian Lodge Motel
Cambrian Lodge Motel
#4 of 8 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.0 mi away
Earthstead Villas
Earthstead Villas
#2 of 29 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No. 1 Motels
No. 1 Motels
#6 of 8 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colonial Court Motel
Colonial Court Motel
#5 of 8 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor House B&B
Grosvenor House B&B
#1 of 29 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Quarters Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters Motor Inn

Property: Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
Address: 57a Hamilton Road, Cambridge 3434, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain's Quarters Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Captain's Quarters Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing