We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and peaceful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonial Court Motel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful stay”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This motel is located on a side street off the main road at the northern end of Cambridge. I stayed in a one-bedroom unit that had a queen bed and single bed in the bedroom and a single bed in the lounge. The kitchen had a microwave and also a stove so there was an oven for cooking. Bathroom has a shower box.
Although this is an older motel, it has everything needed and is very pleasant, clean and well maintained. The lounge is small, but certainly adequate.
Being away from the main road was a bonus for us.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiwithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is Glynis from Kapiti 4 Seasons Tours. On our first night going up to the Bay Of Islands our senior group had nine units at the Colonial Court Lodge in Cambridge. A charming lodge in a beautiful city, our stay was quiet and very comfortable with spacious rooms on ground level. Very good value, modern and clean, our hosts made us very welcome and we do plan to return...

Room Tip: New large units by the pool are great (too cold for pool when we visited in Oct :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiconnection2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Cambridge was the last stop on our road journey from Christchurch, and my family stayed for one night before returning to our home up north. Cambridge is a delightful town with its pretty parks, central lake and leafy streets. Colonial Court is located on spacious site, amidst a well established northern suburb, and is convenient to both the main road north through Hamilton, and the alternative route north through Gordonton.

Our motel unit was the 1 br corner one that I had read some remarks about by a previous reviewer. However, the central skylight and extra large kitchen window does provide plenty of light to make up for the lack of windows along the front of this particular unit. The motel unit was well equiped, although the lounge area is a little restricted in size to accommodate a couch, a single bed and a dining table as well. As we only stopped for the one night, the confined space was a minor issue only. Besides we are tidy travellers anyway.

The motel grounds are delightful, and the owners take a lot of pride in presentation and customer focus. Although it was late April, and the pool wasn't heated, my son declared it to be wonderfully refreshing and a decent size for swimming. We enjoyed our stay at this motel, and will return for a future visit. Thankyou Greg and Sylvia for your friendly hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frangipani08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The hosts/ownwers of the Colonial Court are friendly and helpful. This motel is a nice size, is quiet and is located 150m back off SH1 at the northern end of town. It is across the road from the soccer grounds are nearby to the race course. Very clean refurbished rooms with good bathroom and new flat screen TV with Sky. Comfy bed, a nice swimming pool and plenty of parking space.

Room Tip: All rooms are good as they are set back off a quiet road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverfoxr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I have an aversion to cockroaches so when a large one popped out from behind the microwave oven as we were cooking, it slightly ruined what had been a good experience in this motel.

We stayed for one night to break our journey from Napier back to Auckland. The motel units are well equipped and quiet.

As I have written in other NZ motel reviews, the vinyl and tiled floors need to be wet mopped from time to time as well as vacuumed and Colonial Court's kitchen floors are in need of this treatment.

Despite the above I would have to say that it was value for money and well appointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingersTomTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Four adults stayed here for one night on our way up North. Everywhere else in Cambridge seemed booked out due to a local event. We spotted a sign saying "Quiet Motel" and were lucky enough to get a room due to a cancellation. Motel owners were very friendly and we received a free wifi voucher. Motel was clean and very tidy. Design was the basic 'block' type of many similar motels. Lovely swimming pool, which was much appreciated after a hot day driving. Motel had everything we needed without being ostentatious or luxurious. Being off the main road, where many motels normally are, meant it was quiet, which I really liked. Beds could have been firmer for our tastes.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Friendly and helpful staff, nice flatscreen tv, plenty of channels, wi-fi by voucher,(given free as a favour), reasonable rates and overall a great stay.Wouldn;t hesitate to recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimandDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
0.4 mi away
Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
12.7 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambridge Mews
Cambridge Mews
#2 of 8 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cambrian Lodge Motel
Cambrian Lodge Motel
#4 of 8 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.6 mi away
No. 1 Motels
No. 1 Motels
#6 of 8 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.1 mi away
Earthstead Villas
Earthstead Villas
#2 of 29 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Court Motel

Property: Colonial Court Motel
Address: 37 Vogel Street, Cambridge 3434, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Colonial Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing