We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful property”
Review of Blairgowrie House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blairgowrie House
Ranked #3 of 29 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Tasteful property”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

What a spot!!! Lovely house, lovely grounds, lovely people. From the fish in the pond to the fairies in the garden - awesome B&B. Great food. Beautiful decor. And charming hosts. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeAnnette, Owner at Blairgowrie House, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for taking time out to write a review we really appreciate this and glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
53
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

What a lovely surprise it was to find this beautiful place in peaceful surroundings in country New Zealand. Annette was so helpful and informative about the local area and even offered to drive us into town to dinner so we could enjoy a glass of wine and it was just a small cab fare back to Blairgowrie. A very comfortable sleep in the Silk room and a tasty fresh continental breakfast. Thank you Annette and Kelvin, we will let all our friends know of your special place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeAnnette, Owner at Blairgowrie House, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you for the review these are so important to the growth of our business. Kelvin and I enjoyed your humour and I will remember the LOLLY adict!! Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Beautiful settings both inside and outside the home. Charming, warm hosts with thoughtful and considerate attention to detail. Grounds are superb, with surprising delights to be discovered. For those interested in vintage machinery the inside of Kelvins garage is a must see! Really is worth a visit and we certainly hope to stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spirenite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeAnnette, Owner at Blairgowrie House, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you for the review So pleased you found some of the hidden treasures in the garden all placed with love to give the finder a surprise. Kelvin and I both enjoyed hosting you and hope to see you again on another visit. PS he is so pleased with the photo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Enjoyed a fabulous stay at Blairgowrie in January 2013 with the whole family. Great hosts, very comfortable and felt at home immediatley ! It was a refreshing experience we will definatley stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeAnnette, Owner at Blairgowrie House, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Thank you for the review. A special thank you to all your family it was so nice to see the enjoyment of you all together as a family. The children were excellent and a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Thank you so much Annette and Kelvin for our wonderful stay. Blairgowrie is a beautifully restored 1916 home within gorgeous grounds and gardens. It is located a few kilometres out of Cambridge and is surrounded by internationally recognised horse studs. We stayed in the Chocolat Suite for 6 nights while attending a family wedding at nearby Lake Karapiro. Our suite was really spacioius, well appointed and had a beautiful big bathroom. The interior decorating is just gorgeous and the attention to detail is second to none. Annette and Kelvin are wonderful hosts who really make you feel at home, have so much knowledge of the history in and around Cambridge and never feel like they are imposing on your space. We requested a cooked breakfast each morning and every day it was absolutely beautiful. We dined in the main dining room which is within a large front lounge room. This room has the highest ceilings and is so beautifully furnished and tastefully decorated. We highly recommend Blairgowrie and couldn't have asked for better hosts. Thank you Annette and Kelvin for making us feel so welcome, the family loved their visit too! We miss you and Blairgowrie already!

Room Tip: We loved the Chocolat Suite, would highly recommend. Beautifully decorated, tastefully appointed, sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoolzWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeAnnette, Owner at Blairgowrie House, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Thank you for the glowing review. What better way could we have kicked off the New Year with than a couple of fun characters like you two to stay. It is so good to see people enjoy thenselves and packing so much into such a short time! Hope to see you next family reunion! Many thanks and especialy for the trinkets hanging in the secret garden Annette & Kelvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2012

A great experience, wonderful, friendly hosts. Terrific facilities, beautifully maintained, comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Loved the knowledge that the hosts have of the surrounding area. Nothing too much trouble. Love the fact the rooms are named...and decorated in character. Such an amazing setting. An amazing find.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynneyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeAnnette, Owner at Blairgowrie House, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Thank you for the review it has been a super busy start to 2013 with Janurary almost booked out. Kelvin and I both look forward to your next visit hope this weather keeps up for all the rowing weekends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We spent a delightful night in the Chocolate Room Room at Blairgowrie house on the 6th December, 2012 and found it to be in an excellent position, close to town but not noisy. A wonderfully restored 1916 home, beautifully and tastefully furnished. Privacy was maintained. Due to bad weather we were unable to use the wonderful deck to enjoy the rural outlook. The place was spotlessly clean and breakfast just right. Loved the Fairy Garden and my husband just loved his tour of "the shed" with all its amazing bits and pieces.

Room Tip: Either the Chocolate Room or the Tulip room have excellent en suite facilities - I did not see the S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeAnnette, Owner at Blairgowrie House, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you for the review, they are so important to us and to viewers who are seeking honest reports on accommodation. I do hope you visit New Zealand again and the weather will be kinder to you next time. We are having some lovely weather at present just had a large function out on the sunny deck last night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.5 mi away
Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
2.4 mi away
Earthstead Villas
Earthstead Villas
#2 of 29 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grosvenor House B&B
Grosvenor House B&B
#1 of 29 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation
1.2 mi away
Cambridge Mews
Cambridge Mews
#2 of 8 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.0 mi away
73 Milton Accomodation
73 Milton Accomodation
#6 of 29 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blairgowrie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blairgowrie House

Property: Blairgowrie House
Address: 75 Peake Road, Cambridge 3493, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blairgowrie House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blairgowrie House exquisite Bed & Breakfast, situated just 5 min from Cambridge village with its fine restaurants and boutique shopping. Retreat,relax and recharge in our lovingly restored 1916 bungalow, tastefully decorated with the charm and romance of the Edwardian era.The House sits on five acres of land surrounded by extensive country gardens, also on site is a huge collection of vintage machinery available to view. Three generously proportioned suites - two with en-suite, one with private bathroom. All rooms have TV, fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, air con/heat pump, relaxing furniture, supreme comfort bedding. Fresh Continental breakfast. Guest laundry.Free parking room for trucks,vans etc, secure lock up area for bikes. Central to Hamilton, Rotorua Thermal land, Waitomo Caves, 10 mins to Mystery Creek and airport,20min from Lake Karapiro,25 min scenic drive to Hobbiton Movie Set and 2 min to St Peters Private School, and Avantidrome cycling home of cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blairgowrie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing