We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic”
Review of No. 1 Motels

No. 1 Motels
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
No. 1 Motels
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
NZ
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very basic”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I have stayed in many motels and hotels in my life and this had to be one of the worst. Thankfully we were only staying for one night. I accept that the rooms were very cheap but there was very little to them. The bed was uncomfortable and, despite there been numerous notices around the place telling people to be quiet after 10pm, I was disturbed several times during the night by people coming and going and talking down the corridor. I dont think they were very noisy - it is just that the rooms have no soundproofing whatsoever so you hear everything happening outside the room and next door too.

I judge places by their shower - and this one was pathetic. I suspect that it was fitted with a water saving device which meant that you had to stay in the shower longer just to get wet.

Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kowhaikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night with my brother and his wife while we were all going to races. Near our horses and a quick drive. No difficulty getting in and out. There is a lift for one of us (disabled) People were friendly, the communal kitchen and balcony was a good place to meet others. Overall quiet even though on a main rd. Will stay again. Light in bathroom not great for putting on makeup though,

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahia Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed for one night in October. Our host was friendly and welcoming.The basic room was clean and bed comfortable. We were able to use their well equipped communal kitchen and sit on the balcony to enjoy a balmy evening with a glass of wine.
This motel is centrally situated, has good off road parking facilities ,and is reasonably priced. We would stay again .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here for a night. Reception person was good and helpful. Very quiet being on the busy road. Central kitchen was a bonus. Car parking was not a problem. Good cafe is downstairs. Carpet was little stained but not too bad for the money I had paid.

Room Tip: If I would go again that side I would again book a room at the back of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChocolateBob14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Colonial Court Motel
Colonial Court Motel
#5 of 8 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cambridge Mews
Cambridge Mews
#2 of 8 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cambrian Lodge Motel
Cambrian Lodge Motel
#4 of 8 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.6 mi away
Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation
2.0 mi away
Earthstead Villas
Earthstead Villas
#2 of 29 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 1 Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 1 Motels

Property: No. 1 Motels
Address: 89 Victoria Street, Cambridge 3434, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — No. 1 Motels 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your No. 1 Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing