We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fabulous!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Muffins Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 29 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply fabulous!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I don't normally choose to stay in B&Bs because I'm a business traveller and want business facilities, but this accommodation was booked on my behalf. However, it turned out to be a great choice and I'd certainly go back. I was greeted with a plate of freshly baked muffins (delicious!) and got more each day - not great for the diet, but too good to resist! There was fresh fruit on the table and a fridge stocked with jugs of water, fruit juice and milk as well as a selection of yoghurts for breakfast. The cupboard also had a range of cereals to choose from.
I had a great stay. Chris and Bob could not have been more friendly and hospitable. The accommodation is like a mini cottage, with its own bathroom, lounge and bedroom. It is very thoughtfully equipped and furnished with everything you could possibly need - even a bubbly spa pool in the little courtyard. A simply great stay - thank you, Chris! By the way, you're really under-charging! I couldn't believe the price - really excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This place is WONDERFUL! Chris brought us baked goods each morning (mince pies first, then blueberry muffins), plus a nice selection of yogurts, juice, milk, cold cereral and fruits. The cottage is cozy and complete, with comfortable beds. Cambridge is a lovely town that allowed us to visit Matamata (30 min) and Rotorua (55 min) easily, while being 'away' from the touristy feel of both those places. Chris also offered to run a load of laundry for us, returned nicely folded (thank you!). We stayed here at the very end of our NZ trip, and would certainly choose to stay at Muffins B&B again (for longer!). Next visit, we might have more time to try out the hot tub!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewHampsterite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
We look forward to your next trip to NZ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Prior to arrival, the owner Chris emailled to check about how we would like the rooms configured and as to dietary requirements etc which was a great start. On arrival we were warmly welcomed to a lovely little seperate apartment surrounded by fragrant gardens and in a quiet area of Cambridge. We appreciated the attention to detail, from the plethora of soft towels in the bathroom, to the wide variety of fresh condiments, to the detailed visitor booklet with information on absolutely everything in the area. There is a fan and heater to use if required as it has no air con, and a lovely outdoor spa in a private location. Beds were comfortable; large shower room, flat screen tv and plunger coffee. Breakfast was freshly baked delicious muffins which were a big hit with everyone (thank you Chris!), a generous supply of bread for toast as well as yoghurt and cereal choices. Muffins b&b is obviously run by someone who loves what she does and it really shows. We are international visitors but if back in the area we would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietotandtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Wow! Thank you for this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is the first time I have stayed in a B&B and if this sets the standard. This has opened up new accommodation options to me. I was in Cambridge for a wedding and the friendly hosts offered to do ironing and even to drop me off and pick me up from the reception venue! The separate unit is cosy and fully equipped with lots of nice touches including flowers, fruit bowl, an extensive self help breakfast range and muffins. Didn't get a chance to use the spa pool and too soon had to head back to Auckland. Delightful and highly recommended.

Room Tip: There is only one unit and it is a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted that we were your first B&B experience & that it was a positive one!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

When we arrived, the spa was already heated, and the very friendly hosts brought us plenty of muffins.

The separate unit was very clean, comfortable and cozy, with a lot of attention to every detail.

In short: a perfect place when you are visiting the area around Cambridge!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for 'our cozy haven'! (All the very best for your new life adventure in Australia!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

What an awesome couple and a beautiful set up that they have. This is the first time we have stayed at a B&B and we will most certainly stay here again.

The hospitality was second to none and the muffins Chris made for us each day were the best.
5 days wasn,t enough we could live there forever

Room Tip: If you want privacy and seclusion this is it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
We so appreciate your review Ross & Julie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Have stayed at Muffins several times over the last few years and have always found the place to be immaculate. Chris and Bob are great hosts and go out of their way to ensure their guests have a great stay. The delicious muffins on arrival are an added bonus. I cannot recommend Muffins highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Sue comes to Cambridge for the dog shows. She sets up the patio area, which is secure, especially for her beautiful dogs to be free in the daytime and then they sleep in their special beds in the truck at night. We enjoy our repeat guests very much - it's like our extended family has increased! Thank you Sue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
2.1 mi away
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
#1 of 8 in Cambridge
35 reviews
2.5 mi away
Earthstead Villas
Earthstead Villas
#3 of 29 in Cambridge
125 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grosvenor House B&B
Grosvenor House B&B
#1 of 29 in Cambridge
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cambridge Mews
Cambridge Mews
#3 of 8 in Cambridge
65 reviews
1.3 mi away
No. 1 Motels
No. 1 Motels
#6 of 8 in Cambridge
45 reviews
1.5 mi away
Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muffins Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muffins Bed & Breakfast

Property: Muffins Bed & Breakfast
Address: 109 Kingsley Street | Leamington, Cambridge 3432, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muffin's - a cosy haven, nestled in a quiet & peaceful garden setting, just 3 minutes drive from Cambridge town centre. Completely self-contained, Muffin's is a private & cosy retreat - just 5 mins off the Waikato Expressway/State Highway 1. This family friendly 'home away from home' has two rooms which can be adapted to best suit the requirements of up to 5 guests. The lounge/dining area looks out onto a private, sunny patio with hot spa pool. You will also find a well resourced kitchenette, spacious en-suite, complimentary WIFI and serve yourself continental style breakfast ingredients supplied in your unit. Distances:3 mins drive to Cambridge Town centre. 6 mins to Sarnia Park. Within 15 mins to Hamilton Airport, Mystery Creek Events Centre, Maungatautari, Lake Karapiro. 45 mins to Tauranga, 60 mins to Rotorua, 90 mins to Taupo. Smoking outside only. Bob & Chris look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing