We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surreal and magical!”

The Boatshed Kayaks
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: the Boatshed Kayaks,was set up by Richard Clark in 2000, on his property on the edge of Lake Karapiro. We offer a number of different kayaking and stand up paddle board options from our great waterfalls trip to our evening glow worm experience, just flick through our website to get a better idea for whats available. Lake Karapiro offers an exellent venue with sheltered waters and 15 km of lake to explore. making it a safe and beautiful environment to try something new. our guides and instructors are fully qualified in both flat water and graded river paddleing so if your wanting to explore some of the lower sections of the waikato river between cambridge and hamilton youll be in safe hands. The Boatshed kayaks is also involved in multisport training and hire and has been training grade 2 paddlers for over 8 years, with a huge number of paddlers experiencing their introduction to kayaking through The Boatshed.The ethos at the Boatshed has always been on getting people out there paddling, young and old, and therefore growing kayaking as a sport or recreational activity.
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The glow worm tour is a must for anyone visiting New Zealand! We kayaked down a calm river into a lusciously green canyon that magically lit up with thousands of glow worms all the way through as we flowed back down the river on our return journey. I can't think of anywhere else in the world where you can do this without worrying about robbed half way or gobbled up by a crocodile! Our guides, Nicole and Elliot were extremely friendly and took us safely down the river even when it was pitch-black without bumping into anything at all. The journey was just the right distance to allow a decent amount of kayaking without being too exhausting and they allow a bit of time at the beginning to get used to the kayaks so even first-timers at kayaking should have no problems. Don't forget to arrive a bit early for the trip and enjoy the lovely Boatshed café before embarking on a magical journey!

1  Thank OpieOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Manager at The Boatshed Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

that's so much for taking the time to write a review. we appreciate all the feedback we can get. im glade you had a fantastic evening. and ill be sure to pass your comments on to Nicole. You really cant beat being out on the lake when its that calm either.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

It was our first time kayaking and the experience is unforgettable. Nice and freindly staff. Will visit again..

1  Thank Jett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Manager at The Boatshed Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

were stoked you had a great trip to the waterfalls. you' ll have to come back and do one of our guided evening glow worms trips next time. thanks for posting your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Thank you so much for allowing us to experience the other world that is hiding up and around the corner. Just a gentle paddle up a river opens up a whole other world. With the sounds of nature to accompany the journey, you feel as though you are the only ones out there. There is a different and spectacular vista awaiting at each turn in the river. Only one word could describe the return journey in the dark - SPECTACULAR. Again the sounds of nature to accompany what was the most amazing evening. Definitely a must do. Thanks Elliott for sharing your paradise.

1  Thank Aussiechick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Manager at The Boatshed Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

your welcome guys. it was great to have you along. im stoked that you enjoyed our evening kayaking experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

This is a must do glow worm experience with a difference! We enjoyed every moment out on the lake and the service given! Was great to be back in the kayak and a lovely date night without the kids (though they would have loved it too). Nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of life and experience a slice of New Zesland the way early settlers would have. Staff super friendly and knowledgeable. The vino, cheese, chocolate and warm drink on the landing while waiting for night to call also a cosy touch to the evening (could imagine the fire going too, though bush was to dry at the moment). Then the finale; floating back through the canyon which was adorned with glow worms. This experience was like witnessing a fairy kingdom all lite up. We will definitely be taking any overseas visitors on this adventure. I must do New Zealand adventure with a great kiwi twist.

1  Thank Beachbabesnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Manager at The Boatshed Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

wow, what a review! thanks so much for coming. im glade our team made your evening away from the kids and enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Lake Karapiro , what a beautiful & safe place to learn to kayak in. You paddle all the way up the
river to the camp fire and the kids loved roasting the marshmallows. After a drink & snacks you
float back down the river holding on to the other kayaks & you just relax as the guide paddles,
so you get to see all the glow worms in the bush area. Our Guide's were quite by nothing was a problem. And many thanks for posting back my sunnies. Serena

1  Thank Serena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Manager at The Boatshed Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

thanks for the fantastic feedback, hopefully we will see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boatshed Kayaks also viewed

 
Cambridge, Waikato Region
Cambridge, Waikato Region
 

Been to The Boatshed Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing