We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place, great hospitality”
Review of Kauri Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kauri Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“wonderful place, great hospitality”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Libby & Jim,
Thank you very much for everything.
We enjoyed our stay with you very much; the view was wonderful, delicious food, and great hospitality.
If we ever happen to be in New Zealand again, we will surely choose to stay at your place again.
Irit & Oded

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oded E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libby T, Owner at Kauri Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you Irit & Oded, It is easy to be hospitable to such lovely people - we would love to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

It was wonderful experience! If you are travelling in the North Island and look for a room around Hamilton, this lodge is amazing ! The host were really friendly, the meals were great, the rooms comfortable! Furthermore, if you like animals, this the perfect place for you!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libby T, Owner at Kauri Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you Vincent - your family is wonderful and we enjoyed meeting you all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time at the Kauri Lodge. Libby and Jim are wonderful hosts and take pride in making their home welcoming and just right for your stay. Our favorite part was a tie between Libby's top notch breakfast and the wonderful tour she gave us of the surrounding farms in the morning. It was fantastic!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Akshowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libby T, Owner at Kauri Lodge, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review, We are so glad you had a good time here !!
Regards, Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

If you ever want to get away in paradise then all you need do is book here.

Set in the country just a wee bit out of Cambridge is the perfect rural slice of heaven. Quiet and serene and views that will leave you speechless.....
Jim & Libby are the best ever hosts and Libby's cooking is world class!
They as hosts are so welcoming and their menagerie of treasured pets make one feels they have truly come home.
John and I had the best ever weekend away at Kauri Lodge. At the end of the weekend we felt that we had known Jim & Libby for years.
The guest accommodation is absolutely spic and span with all the lovely touches you often don't see these days.
Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us.
Can't wait to come back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnandFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libby T, Owner at Kauri Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you John & Fee - wonderful people to have to stay - we have enjoyed getting to know you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Kauri Lodge and our hosts Libby and Jim where very helpful and friendly.
We where travelling with 2x large ponies and this was also no problem at all, our ponies had a lovely paddock to overnight on the way to Horse of the year and back. Libby and Jim went out of their way to help, provide us with the option of buying hay and a lovely breakfast. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: All rooms lovely and beds so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patterclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libby T, Owner at Kauri Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review - we loved you visit, and having your ponies !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is a lovely place out in the rural country side, not far from Hamilton. Very helpful and hospitable owners, Libby and Jim. I forgot something and they were happy to send it on. We did not have the breakfast, but available if wanted xxx

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libby T, Owner at Kauri Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your review - we enjoyed meeting you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
9.5 mi away
Earthstead Villas
Earthstead Villas
#2 of 29 in Cambridge
125 reviews
12.2 mi away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
292 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lexington Park Cottages
Lexington Park Cottages
#3 of 13 in Cambridge
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation
10.6 mi away
Eldonwood Bed & Breakfast
6.8 mi away
Sarnia Park Boutique Lodge
Sarnia Park Boutique Lodge
#4 of 13 in Cambridge
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Lodge

Property: Kauri Lodge
Address: 957 Taotaoroa Road | Karapiro, Cambridge 3496, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauri Lodge is situated 13 kms from Cambridge New Zealand in the lovely Karapiro farming district. Your hosts, Jim & Libby Telfer, have enjoyed visitors from all over the world and New Zealand, and will do their best to make sure your stay in the Waikato is a memorable and enjoyable experience. We are close to our lovely LAKE KARAPIRO, home of our Olympic Rowers, and also popular for water skiing, swimming, kayaking, jet-boating, river cruises and fishing. It is a short drive from Kauri Lodge to HOBBITON of the "Lord of the Rings" trilogy. Cambridge is a beautiful "town of trees" and has many attractions including cafes and restaurants. An approximate one hour drive takes you to the famous WAITOMO CAVES, Raglan beach on the west coast, Mt Maunganui on the east coast, or to ROTORUA. We have a two bedroom apartment and also a studio unit at Kauri Lodge. Each bedroom in the apartment has a queen and a single bed, plus there is a single bed in the lounge. There is a very large private guest lounge and kitchen/dining area. The studio unit has a queen bed and kitchen/dining/lounge (it is a different part of the farm from the apartment). There are impressive views of our farm and the Waikato Countryside from our expansive decks where you can also enjoy a private BBQ. A short walk can take you to a beautiful native bush reserve. We offer Bed & Breakfast or you can just rent the apartment as a holiday home. We welcome children, and pets are also welcome by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kauri Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing