We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I hate to sound picky ,but i wouldve been disappointed to pay full price.Check in was nice and efficient.On the way to the room and definitely in our room there are alot of marks and what appears to be damage from water along skirting ,that could do with maintenance.Dont get me wrong,the bathroom was to die for.Spa bath was fantasticand the room was spacious and very comfortable.My issue is when youre paying nearly $500 for the deal we had{thankfully grabone voucher}things like Sky only having one sports channel.Ive stayed at many places at a fraction of the price that provide full sky channels.The lite breakfast that was provided ,i found to be very minimal.Couldnt even eat the muffin it was that dry.Very limited selection from cereals to spreads etc.Whether it was because we had voucher or didnt order cooked breakfast,not once did anyone clear any plates off our table and yet we noticed every other table had there plates cleared during there breakfast.We were lucky enough to have a bath experience in our package ,which included the bath being set up with rose pedals,scented oil etc,which was devine.The downside was it was that hot i virtually burnt myself.After waiting over an hour and a half it was still far to hot to even get into.Had to pour alot of cold water into bath,just so we could use it..Temperature meter said 50 degrees.Bathrobes werent provided as stated.Just a lot of little things i wouldnt have expected to come across in a very expensive lodge.Generally we go away every two months on Grabone vouchers and a lot have proven to be far better value for money.I certainly wouldnt discourage anyone from going,but didnt meet my expectations ,sorry.

Room Tip: Facilities are what makes this place.Only thing with ground floor room,you just hope if theres peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director09, Owner at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

We thank your reviewer for their helpful comments. The Lodge is currently undergoing a period of maintenance after the busy summer season and unfortunately being the Queens Birthday weekend and the Lodge was full your reviewer was in a room (a huge 80m2 Medway Spa Suite) that is still to be painted however this will be done over the next month or so. I have checked with the restaurant supervisor and the reason their plates were not removed was that they were still eating from the buffet breakfast. The buffet breakfast includes three cereals, three different home made preserves and vegemite, marmite and peanut butter all available on request. An upgrade to a full cooked breakfast is available for $10 per person. Good news is that we are getting three new Sky channels (on top of six already) plus three more free to air (on top of the three we already have) which include a music channel. Naturally we apologise for the aroma bath being too hot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

My husband and I booked to stay 2 nights as a special treat having not had a night to ourselves since our children were born 5 years ago. Safe to say we were quite excited and looking forward to a luxury stay in Hanmer. We found a great deal and got our room on sale. Upon arrival were greeted professionally and upgraded too a larger room. However upon entryl to our room we discovered the aircon was not working-but complimentary drink offered. There was an apology note for the yellowing laundry due to water supply, a big water stain/leak mark on ceiling and the spa bath did not work. We informed the staff of the spa bath the next day and they advised that maintenance would check. Once we returned from Hanmer we were informed it was not working and we could have a bottle of bubbles or move rooms. While this was good I was not entirely happy with the overall experience and upon expressing my frustrations at the overall lack of quality I felt as though the front desk staff/manager? was almost dismissive and patronising as though I was an annoying patron who was being petty. Irregardless of whether we "paid less then everyone else" and "we were upgraded when we arrived(even though we didn't ask to be) I expected far better attention to detail and service for a luxury boutique lodge. I won't be staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeksInked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director09, Owner at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

We are obviously sorry that your reviewer encountered some major maintenance issues that affected their stay and we are still trying to get the air conditioning unit replaced (it requires major parts that have to be shipped from Australia and although you can fly there in 3 hours it has taken almost a month for the replacement parts to arrive!). We do have a gas fire in all rooms so they do have heating and we hoped the offer of a warming drink at the bar with our compliments would in part make up for the inconvenience. Regarding the spa bath in which the bubbler motor had broken since the last guest used the room, it is a whole day process to lift the bath out of its housing, replace the broken part and return / re-seal the bath. Accordingly we offered to change their room to another room but did not have any more of the 80m2 suites available or alternatively provide the bubbles in the bath in a different way with a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine. Unfortunately neither of these options suited your reviewer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Braemar was our destination to celebrate our 15 year wedding anniversary. What a lovely location with amazing views. We were greeted personally on arrival and check in was fast and efficient. The rooms are second to none. We had a lovely room with spa bath on the balcony as well as the largest spa bath in our massive bathroom, that we had ever seen. The rooms are a great size complete with gas fire and super and i mean super king bed!! We both enjoyed a one hour couples massage in the spa which was wonderful. There were only a couple of things to let the side down. The plug in our amazing bath wasn't the best. We had ordered an amazing milk bath and returned to our room to find our bathroom bathed in the most amazing light from red tea light candles and flower petals. However the water kept going out of the bath so we had to keep the water running to keep the jets above the sensor. The other downside was that although the two staff in the restaurant were lovely they were clearly not trained very well as neither knew how to make the cocktails on the list and it took 4 requests for water for dinner (it finally arrived in time for dessert). The food however was lovely. Those small factors aside, we would definitely return and had felt very pampered.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director09, Owner at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you Tania for your comments and I'm glad your 15th wedding anniversary was such a success. On the small points you noted, I am obviously disappointed you did not receive the water you requested after having only recently bought a couple of dozen of new glass carafes for the restaurant team. For the cocktails, i understand you wanted a non-alcoholic mohitos and they were certainly a bit confused over that request! Lastly the bath plug is now fixed - so sorry about that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We bought a one night package and it was a wonderful experience and we'll definitely be going back. Friendly, efficient service and you are truly made to feel special. High quality everything and the beds are incredibly comfortable and cosy. The rooms are large, spacious and seem to have everything you could possibly need. The massage was divine, and the food outstanding. Really can't speak any more highly than this. A wonderfully relaxing weekend; I feel recharged!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed here for a weekend away. The room was superb - well decorated, fireplace, huge and very comfy bed, indoor spa bath, balcony with superb views over the hills when the mists cleared. Perfect for a romantic getaway. About 7kms away from Hanmer Springs. We went to the spa at Hanmer as we had left it a bit late to book spa treatments at the lodge. Lots of walks around Hanmer to do. You can hire bikes from the lodge - but it's less expensive in Hanmer. The food looked good. If you are really looking to spoil yourselves then this is the place to come.

Room Tip: A room with a spa bath is the best choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We bought a GrabOne voucher for a one night stay with a room upgrade to a Medway Spa Suite, and it was delightful to be welcomed like special guests, not bargain seekers! The room was huge and luxurious, and we couldn't fault it. We used the bath and the spa and both were lovely. The view from the room is stunning and it feels completely private. It was so quiet we felt like the only people there.

We enjoyed dressing up for dinner and the service was good. My husband enjoyed his meal immensely, however I thought my main was just okay for the price, however this was made up for by the delicious complimentary dish that was served before the main, and we left happy.

We only stayed one night but we're seriously considering joining their VIP club and enjoying some more relaxing stays there this year. Like others have said, one night is just not enough.

Room Tip: Using the Spa (Medway Suite) and enjoying the view is a real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 290SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We were upgraded to a Deluxe Spa Suite. The room was very comfortable and cosy for the chilly nights. The room included a private outdoor spa on the balcony, an indoor spa, and 2 person shower. Sitting in the outdoor spa and enjoying the alpine air was our evening ritual.

The staff were great with special mention to Tony the owner and the staff in the restaurant.

We're looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indulgent_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
3.7 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
723 reviews
3.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
476 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
303 reviews
3.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
615 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Braemar Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Braemar Lodge & Spa

Address: 283 Medway Road, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £129 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Select Braemar Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Select Braemar Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Braemar Hotel Hanmer Springs
Select Braemar Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing