We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big highlight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Big highlight”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Everything was outstanding, beautiful location, amazing rooms,staff went above and beyond. Also the food and the restaurant was fabulous.Will definitely be returning.Not cheap but really worth it for a special night!

Room Tip: Spa pool was fabulous but if on a budget the rooms with spa bath s very nice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ainslee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    56
    25
    11
    8
See reviews for
19
226
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our room was lovely, spacious and luxurious with wonderful views, fantastic hot tub on terrace and cosy fire. The meals were very good, beautifully presented.
The staff were all wonderful, so friendly, helpful, welcoming and professional. Thank you Tony and Team for a lovely, relaxing, most enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a hot tub on the terrace so you can relax in it and enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very enjoyable stay for our second visit to Braemar Lodge. Beautiful location not too faraway from Christchurch and a very short distance by car to the thermal pool of Hamner Spring. For us is another way of relaxing in peaceful place not too far from home. Great people and service. (must say we are tye low key type people who like nice place and great food) The night we stayed was a Sunday night which is not a busy day for this time of the year but perfect for us to chilling out. The restaurant is nice and not over the top with a lot of bay window which give you a great view over the montagne. The food is very well presented and the selection is very good. Our entrée of Salad with goat cheese with mushroom and micro green was very generous and tasty. The lamb and the duck for the main looked beautiful on the plat and tasted great with nice accompaniment. The selection of Wine by the glass is small but there is enough to match the food that is on offer. We decided to take our very nice chocolate dessert to our room as we where there with a small child. The French waitress did a good job on here own, very polite and professional . The spa bath was ready for us on our return in our room, another good way to relax after a good and well priced meal. Also must say that the mini bar in the room is of very good value and you have the choice to ask for extra like cheese plate etc. The breakfast is low key and help yourself scenario with the option of cooked egg dish if you chose this option. The jam selection is good (but not my favourite) the texture is not what you will normally expect for a fruit jam but as a more starchy texture and less sweet.
Thanks again for making our stay very enjoyable. Will be back again some time.

Room Tip: Ask to have the room with the indoor and outdoor spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodpetanque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Excellent hotel, the staff were excellent and see to your every need...They take your luggage to your room which I think they should for such a high class place...The room was spectacular with large windows to the ceiling , fireplace and a balcony looking over the mountains...The bathroom was absolutely fantastic , with black marble, large spa bath, two person shower, just perfect...It is a five minute drive to the hamner town from the Lodge...I would definitely stay again..

Room Tip: I would ask for a room looking over the mountains..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pussycatmafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have stayed here twice in the Medway rooms in the last 3 years. There is no doubt that it is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are enormous, a spa bath in a big bathroom, an outdoor spa on the verandah, and a relaxing couch next to the cosy gas fire. Really inviting and very luxurious. Our first stay wasn't great, (bad service and exceedingly average/poor food for the price), but our last stay a couple of weeks ago was just wonderful, which moved me to make this rating. I have decided the biggest problem with this place is the availability of reliable staff (this comment was agreed with by management) Due to its remoteness, which is also its beauty, the staff turnover is relatively high. (Its approx 10min drive from Hamner Village). If you get good staff, you should get a wonderful stay. We treated friends to a special night away, and Braemar didn't disappoint (this time). Due to our previously disappointing restaurant meal at Braemar, I had planned to make use of the wonderful rooms, and dine in the village, but decided by the recent comments of other TripAdvisors to try the restaurant again. The current chef has been there for a couple of years, and we had a nice meal. Definitely worth a visit for the facilities tho. Our package included a bottle of bubbles on arrival (big bottle too, not a small one) and a romantic spa bath, which was waiting for us on return from our meal, complete with bath oils, candles and rose petals. Bliss!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YOLO-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director09, Owner at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you YOLO for your positive and glowing comments on your recent stay and I am pleased you gave us another chance after your visit 3 years ago. You are right that it is very difficult to get and keep good staff in Hanmer Springs. We are fortunate in having a great team at present and I'm glad that they helped exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I cant think of a better word to sum this Lodge and spa resort up, they have got everything perfect to the smallest detail, we had a beautiful, relaxing, stay here, staff are very nice, rooms are massive, classy but cosy, very pieceful all round, highly rocommend to all, thanks Select Braemar Hanmer Springs, Dennis & Judy.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director09, Owner at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
We thank Dennis S for his glowing comments. It is always heartening to be recognized for our efforts and although we strive for perfection sometimes people, systems or circumstances contrive to let us down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I was so excited to stay here however I was so let down. I didn't feel like the staff even wanted to know you. The food we ate was terrible the meat was over cooked. The best thing was the spa bath. I felt that for a room of this price it needs the luxury feel. The pillows were very thin and nothing made you go wow that's so lovely. The tea and coffee in the room was just that no hot chocolate or plunger coffee like many places of this price do. I wouldn't say it was a terrible experience but I would say that I spent the whole night looking for the wow factor.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holdies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director09, Owner at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
We thank Holdies for taking the time to submit their review and are only sorry that they felt our staff to be grumpy and didn't want to know them. I would very much like to discuss their experience with them but have no inkling who they are as all the guest comment cards at the time were of a positive nature so if they would like to contact me personally at the Lodge it would be appreciated. In the week following the terrible bad weather and rain that fell on the West Coast and Canterbury, our staff worked hard and long hours to clean up the aftermath of fallen trees, storm water drain overflows and I and many of our other guests felt they did a great job under difficult circumstances (quote from guest comment cards - 20/4 "the staff were lovely, helpful, professional and cheerful even when working under difficult circumstances"), 22/4 "you were all awesome"). Maybe just tired came over as grumpy, if so my sincerest apologies as we can and do do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
3.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
3.7 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
3.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Braemar Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Braemar Lodge & Spa

Property: Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Address: 283 Medway Road, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Select Braemar Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Braemar Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Braemar Lodge And Spa
Select Braemar Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing