We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful accomodation”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Absolute luxury, fantastic service.

We had one of the spa and spa bath units, which was large and romantic. Perfect for a weekend away.

Service was excellent and personal, and things like the in room gas fire was just lovely. The bathroom has to be seen to be believed - very very nice.

The beauty spa was also excellent - we had a couples massage and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Whilst this review relates to the accomodation, we were disappointed by the restaurant. The food was good and solid, but just didn't have the wow factor - it simply wasn't that flavoursome. I'd recommend heading to no 31 for that special dinner....

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NickLanigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director09, Owner at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We thank NZ_snowboarder for their 5 star review. and I'm obviously sorry they didn't find our food flavorsome enough. Our chef couple are now back from their annual vacation and I'm sure you will find their new winter menu will offer the best of local produce and flavours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    57
    25
    12
    8
See reviews for
21
236
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Excellent staff and very friendly. Rooms were very spacious and the bed was very comfy and large. We had plans already made in Hanmer for dinner so we did not eat at the restaurant although we will make plans to eat there next time we stay. The lodge is about 5-10 mins drive to Hanmer. The spa's in the room are a great idea and really cool! We will return and will recommend Select Braemar lodge to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room or book a room with a balcony. Little higher up and excellent views of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Everything was outstanding, beautiful location, amazing rooms,staff went above and beyond. Also the food and the restaurant was fabulous.Will definitely be returning.Not cheap but really worth it for a special night!

Room Tip: Spa pool was fabulous but if on a budget the rooms with spa bath s very nice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ainslee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our room was lovely, spacious and luxurious with wonderful views, fantastic hot tub on terrace and cosy fire. The meals were very good, beautifully presented.
The staff were all wonderful, so friendly, helpful, welcoming and professional. Thank you Tony and Team for a lovely, relaxing, most enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a hot tub on the terrace so you can relax in it and enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very enjoyable stay for our second visit to Braemar Lodge. Beautiful location not too faraway from Christchurch and a very short distance by car to the thermal pool of Hamner Spring. For us is another way of relaxing in peaceful place not too far from home. Great people and service. (must say we are tye low key type people who like nice place and great food) The night we stayed was a Sunday night which is not a busy day for this time of the year but perfect for us to chilling out. The restaurant is nice and not over the top with a lot of bay window which give you a great view over the montagne. The food is very well presented and the selection is very good. Our entrée of Salad with goat cheese with mushroom and micro green was very generous and tasty. The lamb and the duck for the main looked beautiful on the plat and tasted great with nice accompaniment. The selection of Wine by the glass is small but there is enough to match the food that is on offer. We decided to take our very nice chocolate dessert to our room as we where there with a small child. The French waitress did a good job on here own, very polite and professional . The spa bath was ready for us on our return in our room, another good way to relax after a good and well priced meal. Also must say that the mini bar in the room is of very good value and you have the choice to ask for extra like cheese plate etc. The breakfast is low key and help yourself scenario with the option of cooked egg dish if you chose this option. The jam selection is good (but not my favourite) the texture is not what you will normally expect for a fruit jam but as a more starchy texture and less sweet.
Thanks again for making our stay very enjoyable. Will be back again some time.

Room Tip: Ask to have the room with the indoor and outdoor spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodpetanque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Excellent hotel, the staff were excellent and see to your every need...They take your luggage to your room which I think they should for such a high class place...The room was spectacular with large windows to the ceiling , fireplace and a balcony looking over the mountains...The bathroom was absolutely fantastic , with black marble, large spa bath, two person shower, just perfect...It is a five minute drive to the hamner town from the Lodge...I would definitely stay again..

Room Tip: I would ask for a room looking over the mountains..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pussycatmafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have stayed here twice in the Medway rooms in the last 3 years. There is no doubt that it is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are enormous, a spa bath in a big bathroom, an outdoor spa on the verandah, and a relaxing couch next to the cosy gas fire. Really inviting and very luxurious. Our first stay wasn't great, (bad service and exceedingly average/poor food for the price), but our last stay a couple of weeks ago was just wonderful, which moved me to make this rating. I have decided the biggest problem with this place is the availability of reliable staff (this comment was agreed with by management) Due to its remoteness, which is also its beauty, the staff turnover is relatively high. (Its approx 10min drive from Hamner Village). If you get good staff, you should get a wonderful stay. We treated friends to a special night away, and Braemar didn't disappoint (this time). Due to our previously disappointing restaurant meal at Braemar, I had planned to make use of the wonderful rooms, and dine in the village, but decided by the recent comments of other TripAdvisors to try the restaurant again. The current chef has been there for a couple of years, and we had a nice meal. Definitely worth a visit for the facilities tho. Our package included a bottle of bubbles on arrival (big bottle too, not a small one) and a romantic spa bath, which was waiting for us on return from our meal, complete with bath oils, candles and rose petals. Bliss!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YOLO-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director09, Owner at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you YOLO for your positive and glowing comments on your recent stay and I am pleased you gave us another chance after your visit 3 years ago. You are right that it is very difficult to get and keep good staff in Hanmer Springs. We are fortunate in having a great team at present and I'm glad that they helped exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
3.7 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
3.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
3.8 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
3.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
600 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Braemar Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Braemar Lodge & Spa

Property: Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Address: 283 Medway Road, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Select Braemar Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Select Braemar Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Braemar Hotel Hanmer Springs
Select Braemar Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing