We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check it out first on deal etc”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Check it out first on deal etc”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

This stay was not the best. A lot of things not mentioned in the booking and advertising
1)First a three cooked breakfast. (One Bread and jam)?
2)No mention that it was only a B.B.
3)A dog in the bedroom leaving hair behind after having a hair cut. Dog roaming the kitchen where the food was being made. Also while we were eating our breakfast
4)Pricing. We were charged an extra $50 to upgrade as they did not have a room for our voucher. On the internet it said to upgrade to the room we got was only $10 not $50. and they charged the $50
A very over priced and below standard stay

Room Tip: Don't go there as you can find better value in the heart of the township
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay D, Owner at Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We are sorry this customer had a bad experience. We are sorry she chose to not read things correctly. The deal brought was for Albergo B&B!!! The upgrade was to another room which was not part of the deal. The guests still received $100.00 discount on this room! in order to stay the night she wanted. Our breakfasts are 3 courses. Fresh fruit platter, porridge, birchermuesli or cereal. Main course a selection ranging from Full cooked, pancakes, etc and French Toast. This is served with home made swiss mini-loaves and home made jams. we make no excuse for Molly the spaniel as she is an important part of the Albergo experience. We attempt to keep her away from guests rooms. We are happy to accept all reviews and are concerned when guests perhaps misread things
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    15
    6
    0
    5
See reviews for
13
65
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

You can be sure of a warm, welcome when you stay with Linz and Jo at this superb location set beneath the spectacular mountains of Hanmer Springs. We recently spent three nights in the Lodge attached to the main house while touring New Zealand's South Island and couldn't have asked for better accomodation for our visit to the area. The facilities,together with the personal touches in decor in each of the rooms, makes this a first class venue for a relaxing break. Linz and Jo are fantastic hosts and ensure that all their guests are made to feel comfortable and, although we had facilities for self catering, we chose to eat breakfast in the main house with other guests as the choice offered and standard of cooking were brilliant. The home baked bread was particularly delicious. Definitely recommend this place to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

Room Tip: The lodge is great for families, groups of friends and for couples who like that little bit of extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay and Joh... D, Owner at Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thanks Sue. Was lovely to see you both again after so long. Hope the next time we meet is not so far away. Warmest Wishes to you both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here last night for the night as my friend and I were going to the Culverden Fete. My friend had booked this place based on reviews and those reviews were spot on! The room was clean, comfortable and the bathroom was spacious witha HUGE separate shower and a massive spa bath!
The breakfast was divine! The hosts were so friendly and welcoming and made us feel as though we were at home.
Will definetly be going back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadyladynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay and Joh... D, Manager at Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi. Thanks so much for the kind words. Happy that you chose to stay and it was delightful to have you with us. Come back next year please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here recently and I highly recommend this little gem ,we would normally stay in the centre of Hamner but this was perfect so peaceful and so relaxing ,The breakfasts we had were amazing and the owners made us feel so welcome . We will be back !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilcox2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay and Joh... D, Owner at Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your review and happy we could make your time here memorable and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Just a little way out of town to this wonderful place. Fantastic hosts, Jo and Linz, incredible breakfast and ultra-friendly spaniel, Mollie. Absolutley delightful people, the room was everything we wished for and more, lovely decor and fantastic views. We watched the Americas cup race seated at our breakfast table which was moved into the lounge for us and ate to our hearts content while cheering on our team !! The hosts are the warmest, nicest couple and are so accommodating. We have no problem reccommending Albergo Lodge for those discerning travellers looking for a fantastic B and B or fully self-contained accommodation. Certainly wish we could have prolonged our trip but alas work needed us back ! We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are ground floor, set up for couples mainly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junedunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay and Joh... D, Owner at Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Shhhh! Don't tell everyone or there will be no room when you return. Best Wishes look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing night here. Room was big, clean and comfortable with a great view. Breakfast was delicious and our hosts were great. Would definitely stay here again and will be recommending to friends!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huck09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at the Alpine Villa and absolutely loved it! Great accommodation to stay and to sit in your private pool looking at the stars is pretty amazing!
The breakfast is to die for, all home made and delicious! I loved the company of Mollie the beautiful spaniel who is definitely part of the family. The hosts Jo and Lynz were amazing too, like old friends really, you will never get such a warm welcome in any other accommodation!
We would recommend this place warmly to everyone who would like to have some time out!

Room Tip: We only stayed in the Luxury Villa, so don't have comparison to other rooms sorry We loved wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hariette64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay D, Owner at Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thanks you so much for your kind words. It was a delight to have you stay and we, including Molly, look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.8 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.0 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rippinvale Retreat
Rippinvale Retreat
#3 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.3 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marchmont Gardens
Marchmont Gardens
#2 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa

Property: Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa
Address: 88 Rippingale Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand (Formerly Albergo Hanmer Lodge & Alpine Villas)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where magic happens .! Legendary 3-course delicious and nutritious breakfasts! This contemporary lodge is embraced by peace, views, & all day sun. The courtyard with lavenders & soothing waterfall is a unique feature. You can enjoy Vibrant Living Retreat famous 3 course breakfast, freshly made smoothies, healthier cooked breakfasts, homemade breads, offering over 10 great choices. Choose from super-king lodge suites or Spa Suite, 3 bedroom Peaceful cottage, Alpine Villa or go self-contained. Other facilities and activities in-lodge is our Day Spa Mountain View Massage and Yoga classes.Vibrant Living Retreat is the perfect place to come to unwind, relax , explore and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing