We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa
Ranked #4 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My partner and I came here after spending a somewhat heart-wrenching and stressful time in Chch itself dealing with family issues and a family member suffering from cancer. We had flown down specifically for family but had treated ourselves to a stay out here in Hamner Springs as I personally had never been there before.

It was AMAZING!!! We stayed in the luxury villa and it was to DIE FOR! The room was spacious, luxurious and awesome. The hosts were lovely to us, (including the dog lol) and they took the time to get to know us and have a chat to us which we thought was a lovely touch :) The breakfast was by far the BEST that we had whilst we were in the South Island and we thought the location was fantastic. We also had a spa out the back of our room so we popped a bottle of bubbles and watched the stars for a bit before we got some zeds in the massive bed in the villa! Couldn't be more grateful for such a nice experience, the Albergo was the highlight of our trip - thanks again guys.

Room Tip: Go Luxury Villa - you won't regret it!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingKaiQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay and Joh... D, Owner at Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi and thanks for your kind words. Happy we could make your visit to the South Island a bit less painful than it was. Trust everything has worked out to your plans and we can see you another time. Yes the Villa is special and something you need to experience every once in a while.
Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is the best B&B that we have stayed in so far on our tour around New Zealand. Set in immaculate grounds looking out over stunning scenery, the accommodation is spacious, luxurious and artistically decorated. Hosts Johanne and Lindsay are most helpful and provide a stunning breakfast - imaginative choices beautifully presented. A great choice for you stay in Hanmer Springs.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SouthernPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay D, Owner at Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. It was delightful to have you both with us and we do hope the rest of your holiday is fabulous. Look forward to seeing you both again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We visited the Albergo Lodge last New Year's Eve, and received such a warm welcome. The room was beautiful, a really pleasent surprise, with a fantastic view of the huge gardens and mountains.

Breakfast next morning was one of the nicest I've ever eaten, amazing French toast and fruit, picture I took is going into my honeymoon album!! The best part of the stay however was how nice our hosts were - indeed their advise directed us to probably the most stunningly beautiful part of our NZ tour - the back road from Wannaka to Queenstown.

So thanks Lindsay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachBliss7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay and Joh... D, Owner at Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Hi Guys Thanks for that it was lovely to have you with us for a brief stay. Trust all is well and we would love to have you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We were here just for one night and we were graciously welcomed by our hosts. Our booking did have a computer hic up but was handled in the most professional manner. A very quiet location, very clean rooms and a breakfast to die for!
I recommended this location to our travel agent to be put on her A list

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay and Joh... D, Owner at Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Hi you two. Thanks for that. We speak of you often as we enjoyed your company very much. Trust you have an enjoyable trip and a safe journey home. The summer did arrive albeit a bit short to date.
When you have enough of what you are doing come back and chill out here. Warmest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Managed to find this at short notice and was very impressed by the set up. Away from the main street, you'll love lying in the spa, watching the sun set, and then the night sky over a glass. Kids really liked walking around the open space too... and then came breakfast. Long story short: breakfast was fantastic and amazed that it was all home made. Have no hesitation coming back to Jo and Linz for a longer stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Tupu_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay and Joh... D, Owner at Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thanks you so much. It was lovely to have you with us and happy we could help you out at short notice. Cross the ditch sometime and come back to see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This stay was not the best. A lot of things not mentioned in the booking and advertising
1)First a three cooked breakfast. (One Bread and jam)?
2)No mention that it was only a B.B.
3)A dog in the bedroom leaving hair behind after having a hair cut. Dog roaming the kitchen where the food was being made. Also while we were eating our breakfast
4)Pricing. We were charged an extra $50 to upgrade as they did not have a room for our voucher. On the internet it said to upgrade to the room we got was only $10 not $50. and they charged the $50
A very over priced and below standard stay

Room Tip: Don't go there as you can find better value in the heart of the township
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vivienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay D, Owner at Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

We are sorry this customer had a bad experience. We are sorry she chose to not read things correctly. The deal brought was for Albergo B&B!!! The upgrade was to another room which was not part of the deal. The guests still received $100.00 discount on this room! in order to stay the night she wanted. Our breakfasts are 3 courses. Fresh fruit platter, porridge, birchermuesli or cereal. Main course a selection ranging from Full cooked, pancakes, etc and French Toast. This is served with home made swiss mini-loaves and home made jams. we make no excuse for Molly the spaniel as she is an important part of the Albergo experience. We attempt to keep her away from guests rooms. We are happy to accept all reviews and are concerned when guests perhaps misread things

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

You can be sure of a warm, welcome when you stay with Linz and Jo at this superb location set beneath the spectacular mountains of Hanmer Springs. We recently spent three nights in the Lodge attached to the main house while touring New Zealand's South Island and couldn't have asked for better accomodation for our visit to the area. The facilities,together with the personal touches in decor in each of the rooms, makes this a first class venue for a relaxing break. Linz and Jo are fantastic hosts and ensure that all their guests are made to feel comfortable and, although we had facilities for self catering, we chose to eat breakfast in the main house with other guests as the choice offered and standard of cooking were brilliant. The home baked bread was particularly delicious. Definitely recommend this place to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

Room Tip: The lodge is great for families, groups of friends and for couples who like that little bit of extra...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay and Joh... D, Owner at Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thanks Sue. Was lovely to see you both again after so long. Hope the next time we meet is not so far away. Warmest Wishes to you both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
703 reviews
0.8 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
466 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cheltenham House
Cheltenham House
#1 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa

Address: 88 Rippingale Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand (Formerly Albergo Hanmer Lodge & Alpine Villas)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £115 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where magic happens .! Legendary 3-course delicious and nutritious breakfasts! This contemporary lodge is embraced by peace, views, & all day sun. The courtyard with lavenders & soothing waterfall is a unique feature. You can enjoy Vibrant Living Retreat famous 3 course breakfast, freshly made smoothies, healthier cooked breakfasts, homemade breads, offering over 10 great choices. Choose from super-king lodge suites or Spa Suite, 3 bedroom Peaceful cottage, Alpine Villa or go self-contained. Other facilities and activities in-lodge is our Day Spa Mountain View Massage and Yoga classes.Vibrant Living Retreat is the perfect place to come to unwind, relax , explore and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing