We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harrogate Gardens Motel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

After reading trip advisor reviews, decided to stay here. Located in quiet street and only two minute walk to pools and town. Great value as much more reasonably priced than larger motels in town, yet offered all the same amenities. Our unit was spacious, well furnished and sunny. Loved the window seat overlooking small private garden area. Arrived early evening to find heater had been turned on and two slices of homemade cake in kitchen - extremely nice touch. Has more of a homely feel as only two units on the property, next to the main house. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Hi there.
thanks for your wonderful review - we are happy the experience at Harrogate Gardens met your expectations - hope to see you again when you are next in Hanmer.
Philippa and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
78
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed as a couple in Feb 2012. The unit exceeded our expectations; great value for a reasonable price. We enjoyed a spacious, spotless unit with a lovely bathroom and spa bath. The unit had large windows overlooking the private garden with a barbecue and outdoor seating. It's very peaceful and relaxing yet close to everything. Philippa was very friendly and helpful and the home baking with our cuppa was a nice touch. We'd head here first for our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanmerLLamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review. It's great to know you had a wonderful stay - we look forward to have you stay with us again.
Philippa and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Wonderful place to stay. Cheap rates, great hosts, and a superb location. Away enough from the town and small enough to be very quiet and private, but so close to town you don't need your car for anything. Homemade baking most days for a cup of tea was a special touch, as was the chocolates and rose petals sprinkled around just because the host knew we were on our honeymoon. Excellent rooms, very comfortable and heaps of facilities, including the hosts bbq which you are offered to use!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Greetings.
We are happy you had a relaxing stay with us after your wedding. We hope we were able to help make your honeymoon that little bit more memorable. Do stop in and see us next time you are over from the coast .
Philippa and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I had a lovely stay here, I was also pleasantly suprised at how close it was to everything. Literally a 2min walk - it was great!
I really enjoyed the garden setting and listening to the birds - it was very peaceful.
Also lovely room, very comfortable and friendly owners :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purdythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review us - we are pleased you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the peaceful yet central location.
We look forward to seeing you back again.
Philippa and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

we have stayed in quite a few places in Hanmer and i would have to say that this is the best. beautiful location, lovely accomodation and fabulous bathroom. Jason even caught a trout so he was happy :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allie2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Sorry about the slow reply - thanks so much for taking the time to review us. It was great to have you come and stay and well done for catching a fine trout - hope the chef did a good job on the BBQ !!! Hope to see you again soon - make sure you bring the fishing rod...
Kerry and Philippa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Nice quiet place on the street just opposite the hot springs. Close enough but yet still quiet and peaceful. We stayed there on our first night in NZ and the homely feeling was just fantastic. It was a good place to relax and unwind after a long flight. Kerry was really friendly and even Millie(the dog) made us feel well come with an impromptu game of fetch early in the morning. We will stay here again if we ever visit Hanmer Springs again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate21, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Hi there .
It was great to have you stay with us earlier this month. We hope the rest of your honeymoon went well and you took away some great memories of New Zealand - as well as Hanmer. Hope you enjoyed the rugby while you were here!! If you are ever back this way again we hope you will look us up...
Kerry and Philippa ( and Millie)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed here for a night in 2009 and vowed we would come back. Our three nights in early November 2011 reaffirmed our view that this is very comfortable and great value accommodation. Only 2 studio units in a garden setting, very comfy bed, fully equipped kitchen including your own washing machine, wide flat screen tv with a large range of Sky channels, very quick free wireless, and if that's not enough a great spa bath in the bathroom.

A screen door for the shower would be a useful addition. Otherwise perfect and amazingly good value. Nice hosts....and yummy home baked cake in your unit. What more could you ask for.

We will be back.

Room Tip: Best tip. Book early for the best rate and remember there are only two units
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randspayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate21, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Hi folks.
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are pleased the second time around was up to the same standard you encountered when you first came to us. We look forward to seeing you next time you are over from Perth.
Philippa and Kerry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#11 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrogate Gardens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrogate Gardens Motel

Property: Harrogate Gardens Motel
Address: 21 Harrogate Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrogate Gardens Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harrogate Gardens Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrogate Gardens Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing