We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harrogate Gardens Motel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My partner and I spent 3 fantastic nights here at the beginning of September and thoroughly enjoyed the warm hospitality from the hosts.
Location wise we found the 2 minute walk to the thermal pools and 5 minutes to town centre to be easy and convenient.
The self contained unit was clean, warm and very comfortable. With everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The home baking just added another level of service.
Well definitely come back again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate21, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Hi there.
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us.
We are pleased you had a wonderful 3 nights with us and enjoyed your stay in our lovely village. We certainly look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in Hanmer Springs.
Philippa and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    27
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
81
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I have been to Hanmer a few times before, but this is the best place I have ever stayed. Spacious warm unit set in a beautiful garden, my son who is 12 sooo enjoyed Millie the owners dog . I wish I could put up a photo of the garden in the frosty morning! literally 2 minutes walk to town and pools , but located on a very quiet side street. very reasonably priced too. In the warmer weather the bbq area in the garden will be fantastic. Thank you Phillipa, and for the homemade caramel slice. We had such a great time... will be back again.

Christine

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate21, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Hi there.
We are so pleased you had a great stay - Millie loved playing with your son and the walks you went on. It's great you enjoyed the winter stay - come back in the summer when it's sure to be BBQ weather...
Thanks for taking the time to review us.
Philippa and Kerry and Millie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights at the start of May. Phillipa was a lovely host, dropping homemade biscuits in each day, advising on walks and weather, plus kindly let me take their Jack Russell, Millie, out for a couple of tramps! The rooms were lovely too - electric blankets, such a treat! I have highly recommended this place to others already. Thank you Phillipa x

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate21, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a review.
We are pleased we were able to help make your stay in Hanmer a memorable one.
It's good to know the home baking and local advice was appreciated and the electric blanket came in handy!!
We hope you will come back and see us when you are next visiting Hanmer.
Kind regards
Philippa and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2012

After reading trip advisor reviews, decided to stay here. Located in quiet street and only two minute walk to pools and town. Great value as much more reasonably priced than larger motels in town, yet offered all the same amenities. Our unit was spacious, well furnished and sunny. Loved the window seat overlooking small private garden area. Arrived early evening to find heater had been turned on and two slices of homemade cake in kitchen - extremely nice touch. Has more of a homely feel as only two units on the property, next to the main house. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Hi there.
thanks for your wonderful review - we are happy the experience at Harrogate Gardens met your expectations - hope to see you again when you are next in Hanmer.
Philippa and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed as a couple in Feb 2012. The unit exceeded our expectations; great value for a reasonable price. We enjoyed a spacious, spotless unit with a lovely bathroom and spa bath. The unit had large windows overlooking the private garden with a barbecue and outdoor seating. It's very peaceful and relaxing yet close to everything. Philippa was very friendly and helpful and the home baking with our cuppa was a nice touch. We'd head here first for our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanmerLLamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review. It's great to know you had a wonderful stay - we look forward to have you stay with us again.
Philippa and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Wonderful place to stay. Cheap rates, great hosts, and a superb location. Away enough from the town and small enough to be very quiet and private, but so close to town you don't need your car for anything. Homemade baking most days for a cup of tea was a special touch, as was the chocolates and rose petals sprinkled around just because the host knew we were on our honeymoon. Excellent rooms, very comfortable and heaps of facilities, including the hosts bbq which you are offered to use!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Greetings.
We are happy you had a relaxing stay with us after your wedding. We hope we were able to help make your honeymoon that little bit more memorable. Do stop in and see us next time you are over from the coast .
Philippa and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I had a lovely stay here, I was also pleasantly suprised at how close it was to everything. Literally a 2min walk - it was great!
I really enjoyed the garden setting and listening to the birds - it was very peaceful.
Also lovely room, very comfortable and friendly owners :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purdythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review us - we are pleased you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the peaceful yet central location.
We look forward to seeing you back again.
Philippa and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrogate Gardens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrogate Gardens Motel

Property: Harrogate Gardens Motel
Address: 21 Harrogate Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrogate Gardens Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Harrogate Gardens Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrogate Gardens Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing