We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KIND AND FRIENDLY PEOPLE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harrogate Gardens Motel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Harpenden, UK
Level Contributor
221 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“KIND AND FRIENDLY PEOPLE”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We arrived for our second stay here to find that I had inadvertently booked the " wee room", one which I didn't know existed -I thought there were just the two big units in the garden. The problem was that the wee room was unsuitable for my wife, who is disabled.

Kerry didn't hesitate. He told me to go and find some suitable accommodation in the village. He would be within his rights to charge me, but he wouldn't hear of it. Since it was a Saturday, Hanmer Springs was full, though we had to stay for one night instead of two.

The wee room is stylish, but it is wee, and has no furniture except a comfortable double bed and a small unit for the welcome tray Then there is a lobby leading to a very stylish bathroom with a good shower. It's much smaller than the other two units, but is just as stylish (the door leads out to a brick terrace with petunias, reminding me of home in England).

I want to publicly say thanks to Philippa and Kerry for their kindness and understanding. When they chose to go into the hospitality business, they chose wisely.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Hi Folks.
Thankyou for taking the time to review us . It was wonderful to see you back again and it was a pleasure to have you.
We are dissapointed for you that you did indeed book the wrong room. We realise the particular site you booked through is not very clear - and we are trying to get this fixed. We are pleasaed you were still able to get some positives out of your stay in the wee ensuite room - and hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand was successful.
Kind regards
Philippa and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
78
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This place is like a home away from home. No hotel feel at all which suited us perfectly.
Greeted by super friendly couple who made you feel welcome immediately

Beautiful garden setting. Spacious room, very clean and tidy amenities, large bathroom and spa bath in our room, sky tv, central location....

Theres nothing i can fault with this place and we would a happily return anytime.

Thanks so much

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Hi there.
Thankyou very much for taking the time to review us.
We are pleased you liked our homely touch , garden setting , location and luxury amenities.
It was really nice having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again , soon.
Philippa and Kerry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I stayed at the Harrogate Gardens Motel for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year. My room was extremely comfortable, very well appointed, spacious, warm and quiet. The room looked out across Phillipa and Kerry's lovely garden. The motel is very handy for the centre of Hanmer Springs. Phillipa and Kerry themselves were great hosts. Very knowledgable about Hanmer Springs and its various attractions and generous with their time and knowledge. This is a big step up from the ordinary motel room in quality terms. I would strongly recommend the Harrogate Gardens Motel to anybody.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnandjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Happy New Year.
Thanks for taking some time to write a response. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall - we hope you found it relaxing.!!
We look forward to have you stay again next time you are in Hanmer.
Best wishes.
Philippa and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We have stayed here many times and have sent lots of friends to stay as well. Phillipa and Kerry are lovely friendly hosts always having the time to stop and chat or to whip up a batch of home cooking for you to smuggle up after a spa in the huge tiled bathroom. The beds are lovely and warm with the electric blankets. The garden is the perfect place to use the Free BBQ or to drift off with a good book. Just down a cute quiet side street to the pools 2 minutes away. See you guys again soon.

Room Tip: We have used all rooms BUT we do love number 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Hi there.
We are really thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us - it is certainly a pleasure to have you stay with us everytime you are passing through Hanmer Springs. That was a great looking trout you caught in the molesworth last time you were here - you made a great job of cooking it on the BBQ. It's great to know you are able to relax and ejoy you stay whith us and we look forward to catching up with you and your wife when you are in Hanmer next time.
Kind regards
Philippa and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My partner and I spent 3 fantastic nights here at the beginning of September and thoroughly enjoyed the warm hospitality from the hosts.
Location wise we found the 2 minute walk to the thermal pools and 5 minutes to town centre to be easy and convenient.
The self contained unit was clean, warm and very comfortable. With everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The home baking just added another level of service.
Well definitely come back again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate21, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Hi there.
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us.
We are pleased you had a wonderful 3 nights with us and enjoyed your stay in our lovely village. We certainly look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in Hanmer Springs.
Philippa and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I have been to Hanmer a few times before, but this is the best place I have ever stayed. Spacious warm unit set in a beautiful garden, my son who is 12 sooo enjoyed Millie the owners dog . I wish I could put up a photo of the garden in the frosty morning! literally 2 minutes walk to town and pools , but located on a very quiet side street. very reasonably priced too. In the warmer weather the bbq area in the garden will be fantastic. Thank you Phillipa, and for the homemade caramel slice. We had such a great time... will be back again.

Christine

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate21, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Hi there.
We are so pleased you had a great stay - Millie loved playing with your son and the walks you went on. It's great you enjoyed the winter stay - come back in the summer when it's sure to be BBQ weather...
Thanks for taking the time to review us.
Philippa and Kerry and Millie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights at the start of May. Phillipa was a lovely host, dropping homemade biscuits in each day, advising on walks and weather, plus kindly let me take their Jack Russell, Millie, out for a couple of tramps! The rooms were lovely too - electric blankets, such a treat! I have highly recommended this place to others already. Thank you Phillipa x

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate21, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a review.
We are pleased we were able to help make your stay in Hanmer a memorable one.
It's good to know the home baking and local advice was appreciated and the electric blanket came in handy!!
We hope you will come back and see us when you are next visiting Hanmer.
Kind regards
Philippa and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
674 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrogate Gardens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrogate Gardens Motel

Property: Harrogate Gardens Motel
Address: 21 Harrogate Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrogate Gardens Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Harrogate Gardens Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrogate Gardens Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing