We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed August 30 - 31 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harrogate Gardens Motel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stayed August 30 - 31 2013”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, what a great location - so close to pools and resturants. Nice warm room, comfortable bed, fresh baking daily. Great selection of DVDs also. Friendly and welcoming owners too.

We will book with you again next time we are in Hanmer.

Many Thanks

Emma

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
79
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We loved staying here. Our hosts gave us a free room upgrade. The location was excellent, because it was quiet and private, but also walking distance to shops, thermal pools and restaurants/cafes.

I'd happily stay here again. Loved the private spa bath and fresh complimentary baking each day.

My only complaint about our room, was that the shower didn't have a door or curtain, so water got EVERYWHERE making it necessary to put shoes on if you wanted to go into the bathroom at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiddyUpHorsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Would be great in the summer with the garden outside the window of the larger front unit we had. Cold wet evening when we were there and it took a bit to warm up the large room. Had asked for access unit but the bathroom was not a success as shower had a glass wall with nothing to hold on to. Was assured the new owners will be rectifying this. Very pleasant spa bath and good kitchen facilities. Good off street parking. The home baking to go with our coffee was a nice touch! Close to pools and restaurants and very pleasant owners - appreciated the help with carrying the bags thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WetaRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Great hosts nothing to much trouble... Lovely setting highly reccomended. Comfortable beds... very quiet lovely morning call from dog too!!
Walking distance to springs easy relaxed atmosphere. Easy access to forrest walks safe parking all round brill!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope we will see you again in the near
future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Nice clean, tidy and well presented. Hosts very friendly and helpful. Bed and living area very compfy, and a nice bay window to sit on, with cushions.
Very close walking distance to shops and cafes etc. but still quiet and peaceful. Less than 150 mtrs to nice creak and walking tracks into the forrest.
Would definately stay again and would prefer more than any other location.

Room Tip: only two units avaliable and both with spas, so book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROYROGERS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Good morning.
Thankyou for your wonderful review - very much appreciated.
We are chuffed to know you had a wonderful stay with us at Harrogate Gardens. We hope the rest of your trip to NZ was a success also - we look forward to seeing you again when you are next over in Hanmer Springs.
Kind regards,
Philippa and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

What a great find. Excellently located in beautiful surrounds. The owners are the friendliest people you would ever meet. Accommodation is superb. Spa bath, washing machine, great beds, extremely quiet and great kitchen if you want to be self contained. Cannot recommend highly enough. A truly lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnno60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Hi there.
Thanks for taking the time to review us.
We are really plaesed you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you next time you are in Hanmer.
Philippa and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, UK
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We arrived for our second stay here to find that I had inadvertently booked the " wee room", one which I didn't know existed -I thought there were just the two big units in the garden. The problem was that the wee room was unsuitable for my wife, who is disabled.

Kerry didn't hesitate. He told me to go and find some suitable accommodation in the village. He would be within his rights to charge me, but he wouldn't hear of it. Since it was a Saturday, Hanmer Springs was full, though we had to stay for one night instead of two.

The wee room is stylish, but it is wee, and has no furniture except a comfortable double bed and a small unit for the welcome tray Then there is a lobby leading to a very stylish bathroom with a good shower. It's much smaller than the other two units, but is just as stylish (the door leads out to a brick terrace with petunias, reminding me of home in England).

I want to publicly say thanks to Philippa and Kerry for their kindness and understanding. When they chose to go into the hospitality business, they chose wisely.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Hi Folks.
Thankyou for taking the time to review us . It was wonderful to see you back again and it was a pleasure to have you.
We are dissapointed for you that you did indeed book the wrong room. We realise the particular site you booked through is not very clear - and we are trying to get this fixed. We are pleasaed you were still able to get some positives out of your stay in the wee ensuite room - and hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand was successful.
Kind regards
Philippa and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
595 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forest Peak Motel
Forest Peak Motel
#16 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrogate Gardens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrogate Gardens Motel

Property: Harrogate Gardens Motel
Address: 21 Harrogate Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrogate Gardens Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harrogate Gardens Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrogate Gardens Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing