We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrogate Gardens Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harrogate Gardens Motel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I read other reviews before booking here and can vouch for the positive comments. We arrived before the normal check in time but were able to book in which was wonderful as we had come straight from Christchurch airport having had an overnight flight with little or no sleep. The unit was very comfortable and was in a lovely garden setting just a short walk from the Hanmer Spa and Hot Springs and the town centre. We decided to get take away fish and chips in the evening and it was nice to be able to relax and eat them in front of the TV in the unit. We only stayed here for one night but would recommend staying longer if you have more time than we did.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayK6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
77
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place to spend the night. We had the smaller of the three rooms and it was very cosy. Had all we needed + a lovely cake on arrival. Unit was clean with white towels etc and the bed is very comfy. We even got towels for the springs which saved us &10. Gorden the owner was great to deal with and full of info

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Arriving around 11.30am we did not expect to get in, but to just leave luggage. We were greeted promptly by Kerry and our room was already ready (YES!!).
Shown to our room and everything was explained without needing to ask a single thing... The home baked brownie was AMAZING. Heading outside to give the two gorgeous choc labs a cuddle really made my day, it felt much more like a home than a motel/hotel.
Coming back to NZ after living in Perth I was excited to show my partner around, esp, Hanmer Springs. We both weren't disappointed.

I have been to Hanmer myself many times before but have never heard of this place nor did I realise how close it actually was to the pools (60 sec walk). Unit was well equipped with everything we could have needed inc a small amount of washing powder if we needed to do washing. They thought of everything and for a unit of it's size it's VERY good value for money.

When I return back to NZ I will make sure to stop by again.

Thanks again for making our time so special!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Received a very warm welcome upon arrival here. We were shown to our unit and given an overview of the pools and recommendations for dinner that night. Unit was clean and very spacious with extra towels to take to the pools, a washing machine and even fresh baking! Couldn't help feeling like we were at home. Wonderful view of gorgeous gardens and hosts were so friendly. Within walking distance to everything. Thank you so much for an amazing end to our South Island tour, we have been recommending you and will be back!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kym P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolleston, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Harrogate Gardens is the perfect place to get away from it all!! Private, quiet room set in beautiful gardens with everything you need!! Very impressed that they had towels available to take to hot pools. Close to town and within walking distance of pools, restaurants, shops!! Highly recommend and hope to get back again soon!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying here for the night. Very pleased with the quality of this cosy unit. A perfect size for a couple wanting to get away for the weekend, or like us, traveling through Hanmer Springs on our NZ holiday.

This unit is well equipped with all the necessities. Microwave, kettle, small fridge, toaster and a two burner gas stove top! This unit is nestled away in a beautiful garden of colour. There are two units on this block, which means it would make for a perfect double couple's holiday. The bathroom is so lovely. A big spa bath great for warming up on one of Hanmers rainy days. We are enjoying this unit as we prefer to stay in private, self contained units rather than motels or hotel rooms. Another thing I need to mention is how polite and friendly the owner is! Kerry happily greeted us and welcomed us in even though we were two hours early for check in. Kerry also baked yummy chocolate brownies for our arrival!

All in all a very comfortable, clean and private unit that is well worth visiting.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TylarC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great place to stay. Excellent price. Friendly hosts (great home baking), everything provided that we needed, even towels to take to the thermal pools which were very close by. We stayed here one night on a road trip fro Dunedin to Nelson and it was perfect. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Has twin room option which I found hard to find when looking for accommodation in Hamner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flywithmeNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#20 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Greenacres Chalets And Apartment...
#13 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrogate Gardens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrogate Gardens Motel

Property: Harrogate Gardens Motel
Address: 21 Harrogate Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrogate Gardens Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Harrogate Gardens Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrogate Gardens Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing