We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could want!”
Review of Aspen Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aspen Lodge Motel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything you could want!”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed overnight here having driven up from Dunedin. We wanted to go to the hot springs and the motel had free towels for us to use. It was late but we could just leave the used towels outside the office when finished. No hassle about anything. The room contained everything a tired traveller might need including a nail file kit! Well appointed rooms with balconies, but quiet. It is about a hundred yards from the main drag and pools. Just right for achieving all we wanted on foot. Beautiful views out the back of the mountains.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    52
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
84
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed here with my my daughters 6 and 8, left the boys at home. Perfect location, very quiet, short walk (just a couple of minutes) to cafes, pools. Spacious very clean, very well equipped units and the hosts couldnt have been any better. Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Excellent motel in every respect. Very clean and well maintained. Hosts were very helpful. The basket of muffins most appreciated. Would certainly stay again when visiting Hamner Springs Very handy to all restaurants and of course the hot pools

Room Tip: one bedroom room was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Aspen Lodge rooms are nicely self contained with a mini kitchen, dining table and a sofa to relax on. This is a very comfortable place to stay. The mineral pools are within walking distance and there are towels available from reception. We were presented with some very tasty muffins which we thought a nice touch. We found the owners to be very helpful and a delightful couple.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Have stayed numerous times at the aspen lodge motel in hamner, we like it because we are made to feel like we are friends or family, it's the small touches like home made cookies or muffins, the room is nice clean etc but so are most in hamner, we choose the aspen lodge motel because of the staff,

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robandwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed here with friends for the 2013 NZ Corvette Nationals from 1-3 March. What an awesome place! Where to start. The owners are very friendly and extremely helpful, they even dropped off a wee basket of muffins on the second day! The apartment was top notch, ooooh the super-king sized beds! Very clean and tidy, well serviced and everything in working order. The location was perfect for us as our functions were at The Heritage hotel which was just around the corner. We were also within a few minutes walk from the hotpools. We found it was the little things that made all the difference with this place. There was little extras like sewing kits, sunscreen and nail files in the bathroom, towels to hire for the hotpools were a one off fee of $2 for the duration of our stay no matter how many towels we used. A newspaper was delivered on the second day along with a weather report which was great as we were off cruising in our corvettes. Would happily stay here again, awesome place and very friendly owners. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxyLoxy025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilat
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We enjoyed our overnight stay at Aspen Lodge, and Hanmer Springs is a nice place. However, the owner of the motel has a bit to learn about customer service and politeness. In requesting for a receipt for the overnight stay, he was rather impatient, agumentative and even a little rude (eventually we got a receipt). This was a bit unexpected dampened our stay bit, which was otherwise very nice.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are a bit noisy if the people in the neighboring rooms sit on the back terrace an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#11 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Motel

Property: Aspen Lodge Motel
Address: 24 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspen Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aspen Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing