We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's the little touches.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aspen Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aspen Lodge Motel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's the little touches.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed one night in Hanmer on my way back from Marlborough Sounds. With so many motels to choose from I couldn't be happier with my choice. With a lovely welcome, map of the town wrapped in a ribbon, fresh milk and beautiful 'real' pot plants in the room, this was a lovely stay! The owners clearly love their gardens and the free DVD selection was impressive! Free WiFi (not fabulous, but allowed me to check my emails), and above all we got the afternoon sun on our balcony, and a lovely quiet sleep. Ask for an upstairs room for a nice outlook and you are sorted! Clean and faultless in presentation and 'extra touches'. Clearly the owners have thought long and hard about what makes a practical and easy stay for visitors.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, rather than ground floor, unless you prefer no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mem99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    51
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
81
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great motel good location lovely and clean.
Great little touches, a nail file and cuticle stick in pack with a compliments sticker. little try of boiled sweets on the coffee table a couple of biscuits with a compliments sticker on them when you are taken to your room you get given a map of the area. You feel very special and the attention to detail is awesome.
Will recommend to anyone I find going to Hanmer.

Room Tip: All appear to be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwyer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at a doubleroom and it was awesome!!!! Felt like home....
Clean, quiet Hostel with very helpfull and Friendly stuff!!!!! Simply one of the best Hostel we've stayed at in nz!!!!!
Thank you guys!!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fabian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Great place to stay. Very handy to everything in hanmer. Room was great with plenty of heating. Well equipped kitchen. Clean. The attention to detail by the hosts was awesome. Daily we found fresh baking in the room when we came back. Great value for money

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is a great place to stay in Hanmer Springs. Close to the pools and restaurants so you can park your car up for the weekend. The hosts are very friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. Always spotlessly clean and if you stay more than one night Anne bakes you some muffins each day (which are yummy).

Room Tip: Any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2TouristsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
207 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Had a great weekend getaway in Hanmer. These units are brilliantly located near the pool and are clean, tidy and warm. Hosts were excellent and the mini muffins were a nice unexpected touch. Well priced and would definitely say again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chchgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We were greeted to the warmest of welcomes and felt right at home in the homely but spacious 2 bedroom unit. Everything was to the highest of standards and the kids loved the complimentary lollies and cookies, but most of all, the freshly baked muffins! Easy walk to the pools and to town centre.
It is located off of the main road meaning it was very peaceful. Free towels for the pools and a massive DVD selection were bonuses! Thanks very much, we would love to return one day.



Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JeffandRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#18 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Motel

Property: Aspen Lodge Motel
Address: 24 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspen Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Aspen Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing