We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”
Review of Aspen Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aspen Lodge Motel
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Well thought out, great little touches! Had 2 nights here, spotlessly clean units. Devine little muffins to come back to after a long walk. The hosts of this motel sure know all about service and how to make their guests feel welcome! Well priced and handy to everything. Highly recommend this Motel and will definitely stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

Had three nights here and we chose the best. The owners had thoughtfully put little extras in as previous reviewers said. We had upstairs one bedroom and quite spacious. In the afternoon we came back to fresh baking in our room. The owners did the extra mile and ensured we were happy. Short walk to restaurants, shops etc. certainly recommend this motel. Owners -Well done and thank you.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LynRTwgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Quick overnight trip to Hanmer to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Stayed at this lovely Motel. Our 2nd visit too. It's just the right size, lovely and clean,has everything you need and great location - easy walk to local bars/restaurants. The hosts are just lovely too. Definitely recommend you stay at Aspen Lodge Motel

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed one night in Hanmer on my way back from Marlborough Sounds. With so many motels to choose from I couldn't be happier with my choice. With a lovely welcome, map of the town wrapped in a ribbon, fresh milk and beautiful 'real' pot plants in the room, this was a lovely stay! The owners clearly love their gardens and the free DVD selection was impressive! Free WiFi (not fabulous, but allowed me to check my emails), and above all we got the afternoon sun on our balcony, and a lovely quiet sleep. Ask for an upstairs room for a nice outlook and you are sorted! Clean and faultless in presentation and 'extra touches'. Clearly the owners have thought long and hard about what makes a practical and easy stay for visitors.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, rather than ground floor, unless you prefer no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mem99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great motel good location lovely and clean.
Great little touches, a nail file and cuticle stick in pack with a compliments sticker. little try of boiled sweets on the coffee table a couple of biscuits with a compliments sticker on them when you are taken to your room you get given a map of the area. You feel very special and the attention to detail is awesome.
Will recommend to anyone I find going to Hanmer.

Room Tip: All appear to be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwyer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at a doubleroom and it was awesome!!!! Felt like home....
Clean, quiet Hostel with very helpfull and Friendly stuff!!!!! Simply one of the best Hostel we've stayed at in nz!!!!!
Thank you guys!!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fabian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Great place to stay. Very handy to everything in hanmer. Room was great with plenty of heating. Well equipped kitchen. Clean. The attention to detail by the hosts was awesome. Daily we found fresh baking in the room when we came back. Great value for money

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
729 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#15 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Motel

Address: 24 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £77 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspen Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aspen Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing