We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“night with grandkids”
Review of Aspen Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aspen Lodge Motel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
doncaster
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“night with grandkids”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

we stayed at this motel for one night with the grandkids while visiting my daughter and her family in new zealand, and we had a fantastic night in this motel. it was clean, comfortable and the proprietors were very friendly, they even gave the kids a dvd to watch for the evening free of charge. i would highly recomend this motel to anyone visiting this area, whether its for a night or a fortnight.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindel253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    52
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
84
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We used the I -site in Blenheim as we were told lots of places had little accomodation. This is superb location. Off main traffic street , under the mountains, but close to hot pools and cafes and resteraunts.
Superb attention to detail...little biscuits with teas and coffees. Tied town maps. Nail file etc in bathroom.Towels for the hot pools. Beautiful rooms, immaculate linen and comfy bed. Superb kitchen area with 2 rings, pans and every utensil imaginable.

Room Tip: Some rooms are on first floor so there are stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great location, friendly accommodating staff, room spacious and clean. Wifi a bit iffy but was able to use if sitting on the balcony but as it was free can't really complain to much. Free dvd's with up to date titles. Would stay again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sues09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Top motel in every aspect. Once you step in you feel how the owners put extra attention for the small things.
The one bedroom unit upstairs is a Gem !
Large room, large lounge, cute balcony, fresh air throughout the unit, great kitchenette and a spa bath.
On top of all that - FREE. Wifi.
Value for money but a lot more than that , actually one of the best motels we've had after visited more than 12 motels at the South Island this month. Well worth !! Love it !!!
Super recommended (-;

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Well thought out, great little touches! Had 2 nights here, spotlessly clean units. Devine little muffins to come back to after a long walk. The hosts of this motel sure know all about service and how to make their guests feel welcome! Well priced and handy to everything. Highly recommend this Motel and will definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Had three nights here and we chose the best. The owners had thoughtfully put little extras in as previous reviewers said. We had upstairs one bedroom and quite spacious. In the afternoon we came back to fresh baking in our room. The owners did the extra mile and ensured we were happy. Short walk to restaurants, shops etc. certainly recommend this motel. Owners -Well done and thank you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LynRTwgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Quick overnight trip to Hanmer to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Stayed at this lovely Motel. Our 2nd visit too. It's just the right size, lovely and clean,has everything you need and great location - easy walk to local bars/restaurants. The hosts are just lovely too. Definitely recommend you stay at Aspen Lodge Motel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Motel

Property: Aspen Lodge Motel
Address: 24 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspen Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Aspen Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing