We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little motel”
Review of Aspen Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aspen Lodge Motel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great little motel”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a neat little motel with everything you could wish for. It's so close to the town's amenities that you can leave the car behind and just walk, but if you want to stay 'at home' the motel has a DVD collection that rivals some video stores I've seen. As well as being escorted to your room and being shown how things work, you get given a town map, neatly rolled up and tied with a ribbon - a nice touch that makes guests feel a little bit special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaymondH646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    52
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
83
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Amenities already mentioned by others are great location in a quiet neighborhood (vacant lot behind, park in front) yet within walking distance of the hot springs and the town center; large selection of free DVDs and extensive cable TV; reasonable prices; cozy but modern room with kitchenette and appliances. The owners were very friendly, helpful and accommodating, and gave extra service without charge. Very hard to believe a couple reviewers here took issue with their attitude, but that's review sites for ya. Would definitely recommend Aspen for price, location and pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hidey-holer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Nice welcome. Room had balcony which faced golf course and nice setting out back door to reserve.Bed was ok. Great that they have over 50 sky channels and free Wi Fi.nice wee touch with the bikkies and sweets.Room was clean and tidy.very close to pools/resturants/walking tracks/ golf and many other things to do.Would be happy to stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motueka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was so pleased that we booked this place. When we arrived the greeting was warm and inviting with lots of information and even an escort to our room. The location is ideal, being a 2 minute walk to the pools. They offer free movies to borrow and the room was well appointed, large, and beautifully clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joolspaulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Aspen Lodge Motel was recommended to me by the hotel manager I am staying at in Christchurch. It's a nice little getaway for a weekend. I stayed in a studio, there's a simple kitchenette, the room is spacious and clean.

I arrived before check in time, the manager's wife kindly offered to take my bag and pointed me to a lovely cafe just down the road for a brunch. When I came back in one hour the room was ready, and I found a small bag of cookies waiting for me in the room, a nice welcoming!

The motel is quite close to all the activities, with the thermal pool, the restaurants and shops only a few minutes away. It's also not too far from walking tracks. The room is comfortable, spacious and clean.

Would definitely stay here again when I visit Hanmer Springs next time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitliao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Aspen Lodge is well situated to walk into Hanmer Springs township and to the thermal pools which is a few minutes walk away. The units are comfortable and well equipped. The owners are very pleasant and there is an excellent, up to date choice of DVDs to borrow from the office as well.
We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakview30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The facilities at the Aspen Lodge Motel are clean and spacious. The location is within walking distance to shops, pools and several restaurants. BUT, the attitude of the owners and their complete lack of customer service outweighs any of the positives of this facility. This is our families 4th trip to New Zealand and we have always enjoyed warm welcomes, positive attitudes and a willingness to assist and share information about their region. To these owners we felt we were more of an inconvenience than guests. A real shame.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Motel

Property: Aspen Lodge Motel
Address: 24 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspen Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Aspen Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing