We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best apartment to date in NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Village Lake Apartments
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
auckland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“best apartment to date in NZ”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Absolutely the best apartment we have stayed in in NZ for the last 3 years. Hosts went out of their way to make us comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
80
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We were booked to go to Queenstown for a short break and due to the snow storms and road closures, we decided to try and make it to Hanmer Springs. Heading into town, no reservations, snow falling around us, we were delighted to find Village Lake Apartments. A very warm welcome from Brian and Cathy. Brian took us up to Unit 7 to view the apartment before checking in. Brian gave us a good rate which I think was great value.
We couldn't wait to bring our bags up and settle in! Beautiful beds that you sunk into and didn't want to get out of. Spotlessly clean, very cosy and warm, modern facilities, heated flooring, gas fire, seperate toilet, handy 2nd TV in main bedroom and plenty of space for a couple and a teenager!
We booked in for 4 nights and did not want to leave.
We had no issues during our stay, it is ideally located, short walk to town, pools etc.
Laying in our comfy bed watching the snow fall out the window was a real treat for us Aussies.
We used the washer and dryer (very handy, no washing to do when I got home!), internet (small charge for 24hrs use), dishwasher drawer and my husband and daughter enjoyed the choices on the large, flatscreen TV.
The kitchen has every type of bowl and utensil you could want or need (you are on holiday after all!) and a nice big fridge.
We loved our stay and we will definately be back.
Hanmer Springs is a beautiful place, friendly people, lovely resturants, lots to do and not too far from ChCh international airport etc.
Thank you Brian and Cathy for saving our holiday and giving us a beautiful place to stay and relax in your gorgeous town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceJase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

It is amazing, the room decor is just beautiful, clean, spacious, warm. We have stayed in some nice hotels and this is most certainly one of the best we have stayed in. The kitchen is super well equipped, everything about this room is tasteful and stunning. I have recommended this to my family, who have now stayed there twice and loved it. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenncarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Fantastic friendly service. I have now stayed here three years in a row & was a little worried when I read some recent reviews that it may have gone down hill but it is still fantastic. Apartments are spacious, modern, warm with lovely fluffy towels and great toiletries. Perfect for a girls weekend or couples holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Contentnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageLake, Manager at Village Lake Apartments, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review and place your valuable feedback about your stay here at Village Lake Apartments, You can be rest assured that the standards here at Village Lake have not slipped and never will slip but some times things well out of our control can influence what certain guests think and we do our utmost best to minimise these problems as soon as they occur but we do need to be informed of any concerns that a guest may have while they are here and we will attend to it straight away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We have just got back from a relaxing break at these apartments. Our group of us and 2 other families had 3 apartments between us and we all agreed how great they were. Fabulous comfortable beds, the best nights sleep I have had on a break in a long time. The en-suite bathroom had fab essential oil products and although I took my own I used theirs as it was just so lovely smelling. Under tile heating in the en-suite and kitchen, the en-suite had a lovely sink with large mirror above and spa bath with shower over and toilet to the side. You could independently have lights on over the vanity and the bath so there was no need for a main light in the bathroom. Lounge had 2 sofa's and gas fire inset into a lovely fireplace and a flat screen TV on the wall with movie channels, sport and regular TV. The master bed was so comfy I didn't want to get up!! We all ate a takeaway in our apartment on the first night and the floor got a bit sticky with spills in the kitchen so we rang down and asked for a service the next day. Just around 1pm the ladies came and made up our bed, replenished the towels, teas etc and gave the kitchen floor a steam clean for us. The dish drawer was a great addition and no problem being situated the opposite side of the sink, if the dishes do drip it quickly dries from the heated floor! We had an upstairs apartment, we asked if we could have a late checkout and were told yes as it was not immediately booked, oh and they also provide pool towels from reception which you drop in to the laundry bin on your return from the hot pools so that is another thoughtful thing they provide. No wet towels hanging around in your luggage on the way home! All in all the hosts were very accommodating and I will be checking in here again when we go back to Hanmer Springs.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs apartment 10 which overlooked the grounds of The Heritage Hotel and snow capped m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadsnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Just got back from staying here for a night with my family. We had high expectations having read some of the reviews here and they were certainly met. Top spec finish with quality furnishings and fittings. Underfloor heating in kitchen and bathroom was pure bliss. The apartment was spotlessly clean, lots of lovely extras. If it's in your budget this a beautiful place for a family or romantic weekend away. Cathy was a lovely host, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe9ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed for a weekend in school holidays. On arrival at 3pm the apartment was still being cleaned but was nearly finished- check in time is 2pm.The apartment was roomy but with a poorly designed kitchen with the dishwasher on the opposite bench to the sink and a washing machine and dryer behind cupboards which had to be left open as there was no external vent. The ensuite bathroom also very odd with no mirror above the basin so when my husband was shaving he had to turn around and walk a couple of steps dripping on the floor to the very poorly light mirror on the opposite wall. The only light in the bathroom was a strip light either side of the mirror, there was no central light and no hooks to hang clothes so they wouldn't get wet. The next odd thing was no soap , I asked for some and the manager said we were supposed to use the hand wash by the basin, the container in the other bathroom was empty and never refilled even when it was pointed out to the manager- it seems picky but at $410/night soap (not handwash because they are eco-friendly) would have been nice, or,at least 2 containers of hand wash with one in the shower so we didn't have to keep moving the one container around.
We also had trouble getting our room serviced, very very annoying having to ask for it to be done and then have it very superficially cleaned while we were trying to eat lunch.I said it needed to be given a quick vacuum but was told they didn't do that as a service so did it myself ( remember $410/night).
On departing and when paying the bill they wanted to charge us for 2 days internet, I had specifially asked if it was a 24hr charge and noted the time we were connected, the manageress insisted we must have used it over the time but I refused to pay the 2nd days worth as I knew we hadn't gone over time.I also told her our room was poorly serviced and that the handbasins hadn't been cleaned because the toothbrushes were still in exactly the same spot and the bench was needing a wipe, she said she wouldn't like to move other peoples toothbrushes either ( defending the cleaners), I suggested that that was part of a cleaners job and if they didn't like it she should be providing gloves .
Overall the rooms were comfortable but I would not stay here again, the service was very average and the apartments over priced.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget042022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageLake, Manager at Village Lake Apartments, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Hello Bridgit many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time as well as you would have liked.
We acknowledge that your Suite was not quite ready when you arrived, if you remember emailing to request an early check in we informed you at that time check is from 2pm. Although we do our utmost to have them ready by 2pm this is not always possible and on this particular day we had a very heavy work load which did put us around 50 minutes behind schedule.
I am at a loss to understand what you mean with regards to the laundry, the washing machine and Dryer are behind the bi-fold doors and are vented to the outside so the doors do not need to be left open when in use.
All of our bathrooms have a central ceiling light and after your departure our house keepers noticed that the bulb was blown so a quick call to reception would have had that replaced immediately. Switches for these are found on the wall just inside the door, plus there are strip lights on the sides of the bathroom mirrors. This apartment also acts as a disabled unit so the ensuite bathroom is set up to allow for guests that are not as mobile as the rest of us to shower or get in and out of a wheel chair etc.
We understand your frustration in regard to the absence of hooks in the bathrooms. This has been an ongoing issue for us as the doors are hollow core and do not support hooks well, securing them on the tiles has not worked satisfactorily either. We will endeavour to find a solution for this but in the interim please accept our apologies.
As per our Environmental policy we use only the best Hand & Body wash (and our other toiletries all handmade with essential oils and are far superior to cakes of soap. Hand Wash and Body Wash is the same product, we are presently changing labels on containers to state simply Hand & Body Wash, thereby eliminating confusion for anyone,The ceramic dispenser from the spa bath was refilled later that afternoon. This apartment has four Hand And Body Wash containers, one Hand And Body wash pump in your ensuite bathroom plus one more in the second toilet and a third pump in the second bathroom along with the ceramic dispenser on the spa bath this was explained to you by our house staff and also by the manager. This ensuite bathroom has a window above the hand basin so it is impossible to have a mirror there as well, this one bathroom of the two in this apartment is set up to cater guests that are disabled
$410 per night was for 6 persons in your party in a 3 bedroom, 2 bathrooms, 2 toilets, fully equipped large Suite during a peak time.

Servicing was discussed with the staff. This was carried out as per normal process without the need to be asked by guests to do this. As your party was having lunch the house staff offered to return a little later but the request was for them to carry on. They agreed that you did wish the Suite to be vacuumed but in their opinion it was not in need of this at that stage. They have 30 years experience between them and have no hesitation in completing this task should it be required. Each Suite/Apartment has their own vacuum should guests wish to use them after any untoward event. Alternatively vacuuming is completed as part of a full clean e.g. after the 4th night, not 1 night, where full bed linen etc is changed and a thorough cleaning of the whole unit undertaken, and again after a guests departure.
Gloves are provided for cleaners and are worn. They are also instructed, for hygiene and security reasons that in no circumstances are they permitted to move any personal items belonging to a guest. This covers clothing, jewellery, bags etc and items of a hygienic nature such as toothbrushes. This is for the safety and security of guests and staff alike. The handbasins had been cleaned, with exception of a small area where toothbrushes were left lying about. Most guests prefer toothbrushes left untouched.

The internet allows up to 24hrs or 200mb of data after which extra charges apply or logged into again. The internet had been logged into a 2nd day and more data used, as a gesture of goodwill the 2nd days charge was waived.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
674 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
3.8 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Lake Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Lake Apartments

Property: Village Lake Apartments
Address: 1 Rutherford Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Lake Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark 5* Rated! Hanmer Springs Premier luxury 2 and 3 bedroom apartments in a fantastic location, balconies/patios, spa baths, gas fires.Complimentary daily newspapers (except Sundays)Complimentary use of Pool Towels for Thermal Pools Complimentary use of DVD's Complimentary Swap a Book Complimentary 400Mb daily internet use Complimentary booking Service. Rental cars available on site. Ask us about a 'Late checkout when staying mid week!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Village Lake Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing