We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Village Lake Apartments
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay!!”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed there with my husband and son in oct 2011. Wonderful place to stay. Large living room, well equipped kitchen and very comfortable bedroom. Great location and very beautiful place to stay!! Very friendly owner.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kbindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
80
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed for three nights in these beautiful apartments and couldn't be happier. Really well fit out with a stylish decor, it was all so relaxing. Loved the gas fireplace and heavenly bath products but most of all loved the beds.
Everything is close by and there are free towels for the thermal pool. You do pay for wifi but it was reasonably priced and fast.
The apartments were well worth spending a bit extra on.

Room Tip: Upstairs is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gundagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This was ourt 2nd visit in 6 months. Chose to come back because of the well appointed and clean apartments. Located just a few minutes walk from the main street of the village in a quiet street. Management are very friendly and efficient. Products in the room are fantastic! The beds are probably the niciest we have experienced anywhere which makes for great sleep. The kitchen is very user friendly and everything that you would need to prepare meals or snacks. The spacious living room with the comfortable couch and gas fireplace is great place to relax and have a wine.Would recommend these apartments to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusTravellingDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Only stayed here 1 night, but it was pure luxury. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, which had a full kitchen, lounge room, 2 single beds, a huge comfy king size bed, spa bath, and balcony over looking a very active duck pond and the gorgeous mountains that frame Hamner.

This place feels well away from the tourism of the main road, but is only a very short 5 minute walk from town and some great pub food or posh restaurants.

Only negative was that we didn’t have any spa gel to throw in the spa, and we couldn’t change the pressure/speed of the bubbles….it was turned down low and the dial wouldn’t budge.

Had the most comfortable stay, great way to finish our trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricky83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageLake, Manager at Village Lake Apartments, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Hello Rikki,
Thank you for taking the time to place review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Village Lake Apartments. I am sorry you did not get to sample our lovely hand made bath crystals which are available for the spa baths, we do have the crystals on display in the office and also a page in the compendium advising our guests that they are available from the office.
These bath crystals have been available for our guest to enjoy for past 20 months and the feed back from people using them has been over whelming with a lot being bought to take home.
We have checked all the air controls on the baths and have found two of them have been turned done very tightly so thank you for bringing this to our attention and it has now been added to our house keepers duties to check these everytime an apartment is cleaned
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
252 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed here for two nights in a 2-bed apartment with another couple,
Overall, we felt the apartment was excellent value for money being very well located, beautifully presented and with all mod cons.
My partner and I travel extensively in Asia for business and leisure and I do feel that village lake can compete at the 5* level and when taking the price into consideration, it offers excellent value for money.
A few minor grumbles might be:
- internet is charged for which you would typically expect to be included in the price of accommodation of this standard, at least up to a certain GB level, $7.50 to check your mails seemed a bit steep
- The second bedroom and bathroom were a bit pokey and required a degree of side-shuffling to move around with luggage in tow. The second bathroom would be better designed as an en-suite with a sliding door.
- We were in an upstairs room and there was quite a bit of noise from underneath and from outside in the mornings (7:30 onwards). If you are travelling with kids this may not be an issue but for those who like a lie-in, it wasn't ideal.

All together, a fantastic place with a wonderful warm welcome from the lovely hosts.
We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Project25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Awesome apartment complex in close proximity to the hot pools and restaurants in Hanmer. Very well equipped kitchen with everything you'd need to cook up a storm. Fantastic spa bath in out 3 bedroom suite. Comfortable beds, friendly staff and warm unit. The only flaw would be the poor sound proofing from upstairs. We were both woken at 6.30am by the sound of running water coming from upstairs and thudding around. So much for our sleep in. Would recommend requesting an upstairs unit.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Numskulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Absolutely the best apartment we have stayed in in NZ for the last 3 years. Hosts went out of their way to make us comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
674 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
3.8 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Lake Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Lake Apartments

Property: Village Lake Apartments
Address: 1 Rutherford Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Lake Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark 5* Rated! Hanmer Springs Premier luxury 2 and 3 bedroom apartments in a fantastic location, balconies/patios, spa baths, gas fires.Complimentary daily newspapers (except Sundays)Complimentary use of Pool Towels for Thermal Pools Complimentary use of DVD's Complimentary Swap a Book Complimentary 400Mb daily internet use Complimentary booking Service. Rental cars available on site. Ask us about a 'Late checkout when staying mid week!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Village Lake Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing