We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Lake Apartments
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed here the night before my wedding with my 3 bridesmaids in March 2011. It was a lovely apartment. Extremely clean and stylish, and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. They also allowed me to have a late check out so that I could spend the day getting ready, which no other hotel in Hanmer was will to provide. The only suggestion I would make to the hotel is that more crockery, glasses etc would be useful given a full kitchen is provided. I would totally come back to this hotel and happily recommend it to anyone looking for quality accomodation in Hanmer.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandHSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
119
78
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Great weekend getaway. One of the best equipped apartments we have stayed in. Extremely good service provided by the owners. Excellent location to the main village. Only downside was no aircon, although i think the weather was probably warmer than normal (was the hottest place in new zealand according to the forecast). Other than that i would highly recommend this place to couples and mature families.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen_Booth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed two nights in a two bedroom ground floor apartment near end of December.

Highly recommend this property and that is because of the size of the rooms / quality of the decor / very close prioxity to the town etc AND the service to match - very helpful and friendly managers.

Room Tip: Go for an Upstairs Apartment - it will be quieter as the Ground Floor who can hear the plumbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwistoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and there were 21 of us staying in 5 apartments for my in laws 60th wedding anniversary. Service and staff were fantastic. Accommodation is of a very high standard - could not fault it. Wish we could have stayed longer. It was very clean, and the attention to details was outstanding. There was not one thing I could think of that was not avaliable in the apartment that we needed and there was 21 people in our 3 bedroom apartment for all meals, drinks & celebrations - we bought plates, knives, forks, spoons, bowls, chairs etc from the other apartments and when we were trying to return them to the right apartments at the end of our stay the wonderful staff told us not to worry that they would do it all for us. They were outstanding and I would encourage everyone to stay at this wonderful place. Very close to the main street but far enough away to be a very peaceful location.

Room Tip: Room 2 was a 3 bedroom apartment with a view over the lake area. Stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eltekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We booked this 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights at the end of a 12-day holiday we spent with another couple. When you enter the apartment it definitely has the "WOW" factor - spacious, well-appointed, tastefully decorated. The beds and pillows are incredibly comfortable, the shared bathroom is great and laundry facilities more than adequate. The location of Village Lake Apartments is very central to the shopping, eateries and activities which Hanmer has to offer - and there are stacks!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We reserved a 2 bedroom apartment for a two night stay in December with friends from Sydney. On arrival we were placed in a 3 bedrom apartment, not our choice, and told we would have to pay an extra $50 per night for using the second bathroom. No If, no buts, pay up or the bathroom will be closed off. We paid up but our stay will be remember for this "incident ' rather than for the nice weather and surrounding environment.
Future bookers beware.

Room Tip: Watch out for the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageLake, Manager at Village Lake Apartments, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Thank you Graham for taking the time to place a review on our property.
I must apologise that you were upgraded you to a 3 bedroom suite, when you did book a 2 bedroom apartment. Sometimes we have the need to put a booking into one of the suites, on this occasion this was given to your party. Being 4 persons it was thought you may enjoy the extra living space etc that the suite has to offer. As the original booking was for a 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom unit it is usual to lock off 1 bathroom/1 bedroom in a suite (these suites are designed to allow for this). Guests are given the choice of bathroom they may wish to use, however when a member of your party asked the extra costs of using the extra facilities I did offer a very much reduced rate than a normal full suite. This was quite eagerly accepted at the time so I left everything as it was. There was most definitely a choice given to you not a ‘no if no buts ‘situation, this is clearly not the way we conduct ourselves.
Please be assured that we have taken your comments on board for ‘future bookers’ and in the future if suites are required as a 2 bedroom option the extra rooms will be shut off prior to guests arriving. This will quite clearly alleviate any misconception by either party. It was certainly not intended to offend anyone merely offering something else a little special at a very much reduced rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

I recently stayed at this great accommodation for two nights, 31 Oct & 1st Nov (wished I coudl have stayed longer). The rooms are really well finished and have everything you could possibly need, very clean and what great views....!! The balcony was the perfect for a wine and place to sit and watch the world go by, such a relaxing beautiful part of the world. The owners & staff were very helpful and friendly. Has only been open 2.5 years so everything is still new and fresh. Motel is in easy walking distance of everything in Hanmer. Will be back !Highly recommend. Donna K.

Room Tip: Book early I am sure they wil fill up fast once this spot becomes more well known
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripSA5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Lake Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Lake Apartments

Property: Village Lake Apartments
Address: 1 Rutherford Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Lake Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark 5* Rated! Hanmer Springs Premier luxury 2 and 3 bedroom apartments in a fantastic location, balconies/patios, spa baths, gas fires.Complimentary daily newspapers (except Sundays)Complimentary use of Pool Towels for Thermal Pools Complimentary use of DVD's Complimentary Swap a Book Complimentary 400Mb daily internet use Complimentary booking Service. Rental cars available on site. Ask us about a 'Late checkout when staying mid week!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Village Lake Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing