We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Lake Apartments
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is excellent accommodation, clean, modern styling, excellent beds and only a few minutes walk from Hanmer Springs major tourist attraction, the thermal pools. Our host was very friendly and happy to organise activities for us. An excellent service was the complimentary towels outside reception for use at the thermal springs.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyWagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

The moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly hosts. Nothing was a problem and a map with directions and things to do were quickly placed in front of us. Our room was pristine, it was our home away from home and having the washer and dryer helped. We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Am sure any room here will be fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We spent two nights in Unit 3, a 2-bedroom apartment that was spacious, elegant, clean and comfortable. A well stocked kitchen made in-room dining easy, the top loader washer and neighbouring dryer were certainly convenient and the stylish bathroom contained luxurious products. It was an easy 5-minute walk to the main street and the thermal springs and beach towels were provided in abundance to take to the springs. Wi-fi internet was cheaply available. If this works for your budget, book it!!!

Room Tip: Unit 3 has a lovely mountain vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed here the night before my wedding with my 3 bridesmaids in March 2011. It was a lovely apartment. Extremely clean and stylish, and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. They also allowed me to have a late check out so that I could spend the day getting ready, which no other hotel in Hanmer was will to provide. The only suggestion I would make to the hotel is that more crockery, glasses etc would be useful given a full kitchen is provided. I would totally come back to this hotel and happily recommend it to anyone looking for quality accomodation in Hanmer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandHSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Great weekend getaway. One of the best equipped apartments we have stayed in. Extremely good service provided by the owners. Excellent location to the main village. Only downside was no aircon, although i think the weather was probably warmer than normal (was the hottest place in new zealand according to the forecast). Other than that i would highly recommend this place to couples and mature families.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen_Booth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed two nights in a two bedroom ground floor apartment near end of December.

Highly recommend this property and that is because of the size of the rooms / quality of the decor / very close prioxity to the town etc AND the service to match - very helpful and friendly managers.

Room Tip: Go for an Upstairs Apartment - it will be quieter as the Ground Floor who can hear the plumbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwistoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and there were 21 of us staying in 5 apartments for my in laws 60th wedding anniversary. Service and staff were fantastic. Accommodation is of a very high standard - could not fault it. Wish we could have stayed longer. It was very clean, and the attention to details was outstanding. There was not one thing I could think of that was not avaliable in the apartment that we needed and there was 21 people in our 3 bedroom apartment for all meals, drinks & celebrations - we bought plates, knives, forks, spoons, bowls, chairs etc from the other apartments and when we were trying to return them to the right apartments at the end of our stay the wonderful staff told us not to worry that they would do it all for us. They were outstanding and I would encourage everyone to stay at this wonderful place. Very close to the main street but far enough away to be a very peaceful location.

Room Tip: Room 2 was a 3 bedroom apartment with a view over the lake area. Stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eltekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
772 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#15 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
146 reviews
3.8 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Lake Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Lake Apartments

Address: 1 Rutherford Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £130 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Lake Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark 5* Rated! Hanmer Springs Premier luxury 2 and 3 bedroom apartments in a fantastic location, balconies/patios, spa baths, gas fires.Complimentary daily newspapers (except Sundays)Complimentary use of Pool Towels for Thermal Pools Complimentary use of DVD's Complimentary Swap a Book Complimentary 400Mb daily internet use Complimentary booking Service. Rental cars available on site. Ask us about a 'Late checkout when staying mid week!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Village Lake Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing