We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We wanted luxury, and got it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Lake Apartments
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We wanted luxury, and got it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed here in January 2013 with a girlfriend. We decided we wanted to stay somewhere that was nicer than our own home. Well we certainly got that. This motel is lovely, it was spacious, clean, beds were very comfortable, and the kitchen well-equipped. In fact we decided to eat in both nights, as we enjoyed the feeling of the motel, enjoyed sitting on the balcony, and enjoying the view. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ptbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
119
78
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
179 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during a road trip of the South Island. Four of us stayed in a 2 bed unit which was very clean and comfortable. The property is right in the centre of the town. We did use the washing machine etc which was very good but we ate out. The beds were comfortable and toiletries and welcome teas etc very good - needed more milk as you seem to get one small bottle whether byou are a 2 or 4 but not a problem. Only downside was the BBQ was dirty but this was probably just an oversight. We had driven through the Molesworth station which is the biggest farm in New Zealand. The scenery is stunning here. We ate out in the town and had a very good meal Can't remember the name of the restaurant at the mo but will let you know if it comes to me

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeansandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We only had one night in Hanmer Springs, but would love to have had more. We found the accommodation and service at Village Lake Apartments outstanding. The location is perfect. Rooms well appointed and beautifully finished. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMW105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Wow, this is my new favourite place to stay in Hanmer Springs!

We had a two bedroom apartment, and were sorry to only have booked for one night. The room was very spacious, and fully equipped with everything a family needs for a great holiday. Comfy beds and top line furnishings and fittings make this a luxurious family accommodation.

The hosts were very helpful, nothing was any trouble.
Can we store our bike in the lockup - sure!
Need some towels for the pools - help yourself, just put the wet towels back in the basket when you're done.
We checked out, but they were happy to let us leave the car in their car park until we were ready to head home.

Highly recommended - we will stay more than one night next time!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiana13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Had one night here in early December. Was really impressed by the standard of the accommodation, kitchen had great facilities, lovely decor throughout, service was great - some of the best accommodation i've stayed in in New Zealand - highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you're from Christchurch ask for an upstairs room as if you're downstairs the people walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikinbingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We feel compelled to share our experiences at the Village Lake apartments. We have stayed there several times now, and enjoy each stay better than the last. The apartments are very spacious, the kitchen is totally equiped with everything you would need. The beds are the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. Brian and Kathy are the perfect Managers for this complex, friendly, welcoming and totally prepared to make your stay the best it could be. If you are considering a weekend break, or longer stay this complex takes alot of beating. We look forward to more fun times with you in 2013.

Room Tip: All units are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliandnoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

As the title suggests its just like the brochure and more . Check in was fast all mod cons fantastic space we had a two bedroom unit mod kitchen LCD tv's etc spa bath. The only thing missing was air con as it was a stinking hot day when we got there and all you could do was open the windows. Other than that all very good . They did however have a fan that we used

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nighthound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Lake Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Lake Apartments

Property: Village Lake Apartments
Address: 1 Rutherford Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Lake Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark 5* Rated! Hanmer Springs Premier luxury 2 and 3 bedroom apartments in a fantastic location, balconies/patios, spa baths, gas fires.Complimentary daily newspapers (except Sundays)Complimentary use of Pool Towels for Thermal Pools Complimentary use of DVD's Complimentary Swap a Book Complimentary 400Mb daily internet use Complimentary booking Service. Rental cars available on site. Ask us about a 'Late checkout when staying mid week!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Village Lake Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing