We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Lake Apartments
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We've visited the South Island on 3 occasions (2 weeks each time) and this was our first visit to Hanmer Springs. What a charming place it is! Lots of things to see and do. Definitely put it on your list of places to visit, and definitely stay at Village Lake Apartments when you go! Near-new so ultra-modern and comfortable, the apartments are fantastic. Lovely outlook, very spacious living area with gorgeous gas heater, under-floor heating in the kitchen and bathroom, super-comfy beds, great towels!! Honestly, the list goes on. GREAT value for money, stroll into the village. Two pubs, lots of cafes and restaurants to meet any budget. Ideal for families, couples, friends, business. What are you waiting for!!??

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

I booked the apartment wanting to spoil my parents with a night away from Christchurch as I was visiting them from Australia with my boyfriend. The apartment first appeared as in the website. The living areas had a spacious feel and was close to the hot pools. There was a washing machine and dryer, and the apartment provided towels to take to the hot pools which was a nice touch.

After eating out for many nights on our holiday, we decided to eat in and cook as all the utensils were provided. The stove top was erratic at best, with the largest element being temperamental with heat and the second largest could not even manage to boil a pot of water !

The bathroom door lock to the main bathroom and main bedroom did not latch shut which was annoying as the main bathroom was the only bathroom with shower facilities.

The gas log heater did not work. Not sure if it was the heater itself or the power outlet it was plugged into. I guess we were lucky it was not a particularly cold night but it would have been nice aesthetically to have on as we watched our movie, perhaps then my boyfriend would not have noticed the MOUSE run past and in to our bedroom.

My dad and boyfriend were able to corner the mouse as it had jumped on to the headboard of our bed. I rang reception and told them of the mouse. To be fair, the owner did come to the apartment somewhat promptly as it was about midnight and chased the mouse back out to the living area. Unfortunately, none of us were able to catch it.

The owner left a mouse trap and said there was nothing more he could do, stating it was the first one of the season as they come in from the cold during winter. Watch out if you decide to stay here in the cooler season ! No offer of discount was made. No offer of moving to another apartment. So now that we were sharing the living area with our new fury friend, we packed all our belonging and moved them to the bedrooms and closed the door to ensure the mouse stayed out. We never got to finish that movie.

The mouse took the bait by morning but I had to listen to my mother on the car ride home. For the price paid, I would not stay here again. Definitely not the luxury I had hoped for !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlng5kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageLake, Manager at Village Lake Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Hello Ming,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I am sorry you had a less than memorable stay with us, we try very hard to make sure all our guests expectations are met or exceeded.
With regards to the cook top being erratic we have checked this and all elements seem to be working fine, the large element you mention that would not boil water is designed to simmer only for cooking soups, stews and such like and will not get hot enough to boil water, these cook tops are designed to work this way.
On checking the bathroom door I do apologise that the latch tongue was found to be a little loose so have tightened that up and is now working perfectly.
Unfortunately I cannot shed any light on the gas fire not working as it was working perfectly fine once it was switched on at the wall.
Mice are most unacceptable in any accommodation and there are vermin barriers built into this building but somehow one did mange to bypass this, once cornered in the bedroom we would have caught it but unfortunately when your boy friend opened the door the mouse did run back into the lounge and under the fire place so there was very little I could do from then on but to set a trap.
As I explained that night we were fully booked so we had no option to move you to another apartment which we would most certainly have done if one had been available.
We act on any queries or problems that arise as soon as they are bought to our attention no matter what the time of the day or night and a simply call to reception would have rectified any problems you may experience. We have taken on board your comments about the cook top and have now placed more explicit instructions in the rooms on how to use these and also explained the function of the simmering ring.
We have also placed into the compendiums clearer instructions on how to use the gas fires.
Once again I do apologise for your less than memorable stay with us and hope these matters that you have raised do not put you off staying Village Lake Apartments in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This place deserves all its great reviews. It was lovely to have such a peacefull unit with a LARGE amount of space to unpack our days shopping in Christchurch in.
It was beautifully appointed with a lot of thought going into the appliances used, the decor and even the toiletries showed that care had been taken to make things just so. And certainly, having a second toilet in the room is great when the mother wants a soak in the bath and the boys need to use the facilities! Also the little aside from the mananger on using the lights in the bathroom at night, much appreciated!
Being able to borrow towels to take to the pools after our check out was a great perk! Nobody wants to drive around with wet towels in their car, so than you.
I am sure if we had come in winter, the gas log fire would have been a wonderful way to keep warm and watch the snow fall, but alas, not this trip.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank Tounga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

At $275 per night for a 2-bedroom apartment, it is not the cheapest accommodation in Hanmer Springs, but this place wasn't built or decorated on a budget either. From the beds to the kitchenware, from the sheets and curtains to the toilettries, everything was of high quality and felt luxurious. The gas fire was perfect and warmed up the apartment very nicely. The apartments are located on a very quiet street, yet easy walking distance to the hot pools, shops and restaurants.
Around 8:00 PM we received a call from the office, saying they were about to close and was there anything we needed. I thought this was very thoughtful.
Free towels are provided for a visit to the hot pools.
Just thinking of that comfortable bed makes me want to go back!

Room Tip: Don't book anywhere else in Hanmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Stayed here as part of a road trip around New Zealand. The decor and facilities is of the highest quality. Well situated and I wished I lived there permanently. The fireplace is delightful and really sets the scene. I wished I was there for longer as it is a lovely apartment.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed here in January 2013 with a girlfriend. We decided we wanted to stay somewhere that was nicer than our own home. Well we certainly got that. This motel is lovely, it was spacious, clean, beds were very comfortable, and the kitchen well-equipped. In fact we decided to eat in both nights, as we enjoyed the feeling of the motel, enjoyed sitting on the balcony, and enjoying the view. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ptbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during a road trip of the South Island. Four of us stayed in a 2 bed unit which was very clean and comfortable. The property is right in the centre of the town. We did use the washing machine etc which was very good but we ate out. The beds were comfortable and toiletries and welcome teas etc very good - needed more milk as you seem to get one small bottle whether byou are a 2 or 4 but not a problem. Only downside was the BBQ was dirty but this was probably just an oversight. We had driven through the Molesworth station which is the biggest farm in New Zealand. The scenery is stunning here. We ate out in the town and had a very good meal Can't remember the name of the restaurant at the mo but will let you know if it comes to me

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeansandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
712 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
472 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
610 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
514 reviews
3.8 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Lake Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Lake Apartments

Address: 1 Rutherford Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £131 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Lake Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark 5* Rated! Hanmer Springs Premier luxury 2 and 3 bedroom apartments in a fantastic location, balconies/patios, spa baths, gas fires.Complimentary daily newspapers (except Sundays)Complimentary use of Pool Towels for Thermal Pools Complimentary use of DVD's Complimentary Swap a Book Complimentary 400Mb daily internet use Complimentary booking Service. Rental cars available on site. Ask us about a 'Late checkout when staying mid week!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Village Lake Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing