We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Lake Apartments
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A bit of luxury”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

The apartments here have everything you could possibly need during your stay. The kitchen is fully equipped and there is more than enough info provided on local restaurants and activities. The location is a short 2 minute walk to the main shops but still manages to maintain a sense of quietness in the surroundings. The bed here was probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on, it completely sinks you in. Will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
124
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Uk
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Overall
This is a very nice apartment suitable for couples or a family group. Nice decor, great views, very handy to the pools. Book swap at reception a friendly touch. All the kitchen and laundry equipment you could need. Gas fire and double glazing ensured a warm stay.
Unfortunately a few things let them down. The bathroom sink was broken, there are no electric blankets, and the mattress topper in the master bed, that I assume was to make the bed more comfortable was lumpy. We had to ask for a hairdryer as none was supplied in the unit. If not for these things I would have given a five star rating.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank kiwitravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageLake, Manager at Village Lake Apartments, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hello Kiwi Traveller
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay here at Village Lake Apartments, we appreciate and take note of all feed back to enable us to provide the very best of service to our guests.
I am at a loss to understand your comment about a broken sink or exactly what is broken I have checked the apartment and can find no sign of a broken sink so please contact us again so that we can better understand and rectify the problem you had with the sink. With regards to the electric blankets or lack of this is because of the luxury Feather underlay on the bed would simply be far too hot to sleep in if there was an electric blanket on top of it. these underlays are very warm in Winter and very comfortable in the warmer summer months.
With your feeling of the underlay being lumpy this is the way they are designed to work so that when you get into bed it moulds around you for that perfect comfortable warm sleep, we realise that some of our guests may not like a bed like this and in these circumstances we are more than happy to remove the topper and remake the bed so quick call to reception would have seen us come to your apartment straight away and rectified the situation.
All apartments have wall mounted hair dryers except the one you were in because that particular apartment also doubles as an access unit for wheelchairs etc so there is a hand held hair drier in the drawer, unfortunately the guest prior to you had taken the hair dryer when she departed and we were waiting on a replacement to arrive hence us having to give you a spare one we keep here in stock for anyone who needs a second dryer ( wedding parties etc ), this is of course not intended as an excuse so we are sorry you did not have one in the apartment when you arrived.
We do hope to see you back in the future and be rest assured these less than satisfactory points you have raised will be dealt with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here in December 2013 on a weekend break from Christchurch and all I can say is wow! We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was amazing - so much space, beautifully decorated, very comfy beds and an amazing bathroom with jacuzzi. We had a lovely sunny balcony with loads of space. Only a couple of minutes walk into the village and to the hot pools too. We booked it as part of a spa package through the hot pools.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren160184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Recently my 2 friends and myself spent 5 days in Hanmer Springs and stayed at this fantastic accommodation. It is by far the best I have stayed in for a long time. It was exceptionally clean, spacious, very well decorated and had fantastic views, with the lake just outside our dining room door and the snow capped mountains in the distance. Loved watching the ducks come running if they thought they were going to be fed.
We would highly recommend staying at this beautiful place. Owners were extremely friendly, helpful and professional. Nothing was a bother.
It was only a short distance to walk to the shops and the pools.

Room Tip: We were in No 2 'Rutherford Suite' but any unit would be good. Very quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellie2517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely few days in Hanmer made even more memorable by the great accommodation and service. The apartments are private and warm. The heating is perfect and facilities certainly luxurious. Just a short walk from the town or just stay in for a comfortable getaway.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank waynefmarriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in a three bedroom apartment on the first floor with a view of the little lake and the resident ducks!. The apartment was beautiful, spacious, well decorated and had a large kitchen area with a laundry. We had two bathrooms and another toilet. The staff were professional and friendly. An ideal place to stay as it was only a few minutes walk to the Hot Pools /Spa and the village shops and restaurants. They provide towels to take to the Hot Pools / Spa at the reception which saves you having to rent them when you get to the pools.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldSearcher2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in a number of hotels in New Zealand but this one was by far the nicest and most luxurious and spacious. Our family of 4 were more than comfortable in the 2 bedroom apartment with a wonderful large gas fireplace and the feather underlays on all the beds were to die for.

Room Tip: Apartments accommodate 4 comfortably and have full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
600 reviews
3.8 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Lake Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Lake Apartments

Property: Village Lake Apartments
Address: 1 Rutherford Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Lake Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark 5* Rated! Hanmer Springs Premier luxury 2 and 3 bedroom apartments in a fantastic location, balconies/patios, spa baths, gas fires.Complimentary daily newspapers (except Sundays)Complimentary use of Pool Towels for Thermal Pools Complimentary use of DVD's Complimentary Swap a Book Complimentary 400Mb daily internet use Complimentary booking Service. Rental cars available on site. Ask us about a 'Late checkout when staying mid week!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Village Lake Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing