We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss a home away from home!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Lake Apartments
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
1 review
“Bliss a home away from home!!!!”
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We arrived early and fell in love with our room, the comfort and space. Modern decor and the kitchen has everything you could think of plenty of utensils, pots, glasses you name it they had it. Laundry facilities are excellent and the jetspa bath is pure bliss!!! My kids couldn't stop raving about the place and definately were upset to leave.

The hotel is close to the village only a brief 2-3mins easy walk. Worth the trip next time we will stay longer and probably will book the 3 bedroom suite so our friends can join us as well.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whanau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
123
81
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland NZ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

If you are looking for a place to stay in Hanmer Springs look no further and stay at these beautiful apartments. The hosts Cathy and Bryan are wonderful people and nothing is too much trouble for them. The apartments are luxury themselves with everything you require for a comfortable stay. The beds and bedding are out of this world. Both the bathroom and kitchen has underfloor heating which is extremely comforting on those cold and frosty nights and mornings. Dont forget to try the continental breakfasts they supply - plentiful and well worth the money. The only problem was we only stayed two nights - we could have easily relaxed here a few more days.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishalAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We arrived on the first day of spring, the weather was horrendous with the rain bucketing down, arrived at the apartments to be warmly greeted by Bryan at reception who kindly checked us and showed us to our apartment, when he opened the door for us, our jaws dropped and all we could say was "WOW" the room was huge and soo modern and warm. We settled in and headed for the Hot pools, which were lovely even in the rain, when we came back to the room it was nice and cosy, slipping into our bathrobes and pouring a glass of wine we were settled for the night. The beds were like a cloud, and with the added rain on the roof it was almost impossible to get up. The apartment is equipped with everything you need full laundry, cooking equipment, you name it. The second night was stunning watching the sun set behind the hills while we sat on our private balcony, it was breathtaking. Unfortunately our trip came to an end and it was time to return home. After being checked out by Cathy, who was SO lovely and helpful, we set off home. Thank you for such an amazing stay, we are DEFINITELY going to return, it's our home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chchtraveller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2009

What a fantastic place to stay! The beds are so comfy we didn't want to get up in the morning. The apartment was so cosy and homely with everything needed to enjoy your stay right at your fingertips. The hosts Caty & Bryan were really helpful and went out of their way to make sure our holiday was hassle and stress free. I will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella_Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

What a fantastic experience. The only mistake we made was making this the first stop on our trip. It is definietly going to be the last or only stop next hoilday. Bryan & Cathy were fanatastic hosts. The rooms were top class, the in room facitiliies like laundry, full kitchen, heating (both gas & under floor) was nothing but comfort & convience for my wife & kids. If our family had a choice we would have stayed there for the rest of our trip

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJnzNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Last minute decision to run away for a romantic weekend in Hanmer was the best idea I have had for an anniversary, especially after choosing these apartments. The apartment is much bigger than the photos on website lead me to believe. Beds are super comfy and the fit out was so lush that my girlfriend took photos to send to her family overseas...we stayed in the whole night rather than go for the planned dinner.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myspaceship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

travelled with 8yr husband, 8yr old girl & 14 yr old boy. We all loved this clean, modern accommmodation, relaxing & enjoyable for all even the hard to please 14yr old keen to go back. All beds extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
3.8 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
302 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Lake Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Lake Apartments

Property: Village Lake Apartments
Address: 1 Rutherford Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Lake Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark 5* Rated! Hanmer Springs Premier luxury 2 and 3 bedroom apartments in a fantastic location, balconies/patios, spa baths, gas fires.Complimentary daily newspapers (except Sundays)Complimentary use of Pool Towels for Thermal Pools Complimentary use of DVD's Complimentary Swap a Book Complimentary 400Mb daily internet use Complimentary booking Service. Rental cars available on site. Ask us about a 'Late checkout when staying mid week!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Village Lake Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing