We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful bed and breakfast”
Review of Marchmont Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marchmont Gardens
Ranked #2 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Thanks Bindy for a wonderful stay at your place in Hamner Springs we really enjoyed the beautiful private accommodation and the wonderful service you provided.

Would recommend to others.

Thanks Helen and David

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

I am so sorry you did not sleep well , we get wonderful fedback about how comfortable the beds are so I hope it was just one of those sleepless nights we all get.
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Marchmont Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

We have been fortunate to travel extensively over the years and have stayed in many 5 star establishments but our stay here still took our breath away! The views of the mountains gardens were a starter to the immaculate interior of our suite and attention to the minutest detail.The hospitality and professionalism shown by Bindy and Peter will be etched in our memory thank you both Lynn and Margaret Jones

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscar081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Iwas lovely having you to stay with us ,hope the winter in Wales is over think Our summer may be on the way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

After having an unpleasant stay in Kaikoura the night before we approached our next stay with a feeling of intrepidation. We need not have worried. Thank you both Bindi for such a lovely welcoming stay. Your standards and professionalism are to be commended and we would not hesitate to recommend you to our friends. Next time we will be bringing our golf clubs.

Room Tip: No need as Bindi makes sure that you receive the best possible experience.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry and Larra... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We were warmly welcomed by Bindi and shown to our large, well-appointed room with excellent ensuite. Everything you could possibly need was provided and an offer to do washing was declined and could have been very useful but we were at the start of our holiday. We had planned this as a luxury, relaxing couple of days and we were not disappointed.
We enjoyed the evening chat over wine and nibbles.

Breakfast was served outside in the attractive garden in a sheltered spot. It was excellent.

We used the towels provided for visiting the Hot Springs and also enjoyed walking in the area.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and thank Bindi and Peter for their hospitality.

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally excellent.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Potterers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

we had a great stay in this lovely, very clean and luxurious B&B.
Bindy and Pete are great hosts and gave us a very fine welcome.
The extra treats and little attentions made us feel very happy and made us feel as if we were speciale. Bindy did our laundry for free. The breakfast is refined and very good! We recieved extra towels to go to the hot springs. We stayed here 2 times in a 5 weeks stay in NZ. We just had to come back to this place !!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

We were the lucky ones to have you stay with us twice ! Know more about New Zealand birds than I did before!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The room was very well furnished and etrememly comfortable. Breakfast is served to the room and was both substantial and tasty. The surrounding area is beautiful and there is plenty to do in addition to the Hot Pools. There are beautiful walks/tramps ranging from 20 mins to several hours. Overall, Marchmont Gardens is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishgirl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This place is absolutely beautiful. Marchmont gardens is by far the best b and b we have ever stayed at. the furnishings, cleanliness, beautiful soaps and hand creams, garden facilities, location and more were just all exceptional. Bindy is an amazing host and they even do you laundry free of charge. The rooms have all the comforts of home and nothing has been forgotten. When we return we wont consider staying anywhere else. Its away from the busy tourist traffic, yet close enough to walk to. A truly beautiful place to spend your holiday.

Room Tip: You cant go wrong with either room you choose. They are close together, but they are totally sound p...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
704 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cheltenham House
Cheltenham House
#1 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
142 reviews
3.5 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marchmont Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marchmont Gardens

Address: 123 Argelins Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £110 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marchmont Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two purpose built adjoining suites in their own garden, separate from the main home. Each suite has a small kitchenette with a microwave, a barbecue facilities are available. Your breakfast is delivered to you at your appointed time to eat in the garden or in your suite, a self cater option is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marchmont Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing