We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marchmont Gardens
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Alpine Springs Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Lodge Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalets Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tussock Peak Motor Lodge(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Lodge Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The St James(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Garden Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Settlers Motel(Hanmer Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
179
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
179
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbhindib bmt isobelgolf coursebeautiful gardenhome baked cookiesfresh flowers in the bathroommost comfortable we have eversouth islandcomplete privacyquality toiletrieshuge bathroomcomfortable bedrooms are lovelya wonderful stayfor more than one nightbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Bindi was a thoroughly helpful and friendly hostess. On arrival Bindi explained all the attractions around Hanmer Springs, showed us our room and invited us to Carols by Candlelight at the Spa Pools that evening. After our evening meal we attended the Carols and had a good time. As for the room we cannot recommend it highly enough. It was actually a suite. It was immaculate in every way. The bathroom was enormous. So was the tasty breakfast Bindi made for us. Bindi even packed us a couple of muffins to eat on our travels later in the day. Our only regret is we did not have the chance to stay longer. It was so quiet and peaceful and we slept very well. Marchmont Gardens is a must stay location!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Thank you for coming to our Carols by the Pools hope you didn't get to cold!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Hanmer Springs was to be our last stop before returning to Christchurch and completing our South Island circuit and so it was going to have to be pretty special. Marchmont Gardens lived up to expectations.

Our garden cottage (Dunblane) was "House & Garden" stylish, spacious with a good bathroom, comfortable bed, functional kitchen space, sitting area, all giving on to a pretty garden with fine mountain views...and it is right next to an 18 hole golf course.

We took up Bindy's recommendation for dinner at Malabar, delicious Indian "fusion" food. Breakfast was arranged the previous evening and brought to our room at the agreed time on trays, all cooked to order.

As we were about to leave, an unexpected surprise: we were invited into Bindy's and Pete's living room to enjoy the exciting climax of the Ryder Cup on a huge TV. Sadly, no time to enjoy the Hanmer Springs course but plenty of inspiration during our brief stay at this excellent B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Thank you for your review. The golf was exciting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

What a treat! The setting, the personal hospitality, the décor, the facilities and the breakfast were all superb. Set in a beautiful garden with views of the mountains and walking distance from the village and the hot pools; we stayed for one night and it felt like a week of relaxation. Just the right balance of privacy and care. Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We arrived tired and exhausted and left feeling relaxed and refreshed. We were treated to the most delightful spacious living room and bathroom all absolutely charming. The rooms were stylish and fresh with outstanding views of the countryside. However the treat did not end there we were then cossetted and looked after in a gentle but unobtrusive way with wine, nibbles and the most sumptuous breakfasts. Attention to detail with special flowers and goodies were all presented in a caring and throughtful manner.

We have spent a great deal of time in B&B's both in New Zealand and overseas and would rate this stay as one of our most delightful and great value for money. Highly recommended.
Barry & Lyn

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellyChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Thank you for your glowing review, do hope the plants survived and have found a place in your garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This place has everything we want to an exceptional standard - comfort, privacy, cleanliness, very comfortable bed, etc. the garden setting is superb. We took the mid-week self-catering option which was good value for money. The way the place is set up is very modern with lots of nice little touches. It would be a great place to stay in summer and winter.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you for your review and for the photos of the kitchenette and Dunblane bathroom so hard to take!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews