We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hospitality iv had”
Review of Marchmont Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marchmont Gardens
Ranked #2 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2013

absolutely loved this place. room was perfect. service was above and beyond. would defiantly recommend staying here. couldn't say a bad thing about this place. the owners are very welcoming and friendly. it was like a home away from home. very thing you need will be there. and the breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinefurniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a good review. I hope you have received the little parcel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Marchmont Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

What an amazing treat! Best place we stayed at in all our travels on the South Island. We loved our stay at Marchmont Gardens and would not hesitate to go back. The friendly Owners Bindy and Peter, the accommodations, the gardens, the breakfasts and even the bikes were perfect. As B & B owners in Hawaii, we garnered a few tips from our stay on how to take it "over the top".
Thank you Bindy and Peter for your hospitality and an outstanding 2 day stay!! Aloha, Tamy & Rick

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haleolaohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Loved having you , perhaps we will see you in Hawaii one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Bindy was a very attentive hostess and was good at recommending places to go and eat. We enjoyed eating at Whatever restaurant, and walking around Mt Isobel. Beautifully kept gardens, good location, great facilities. Breakfast was very generous and the rooms very well furnished and felt very comfortable. We especially liked the cookies and tea facilities, including microwave. A lot of DVDs and books to read. Bathroom was huge and had great shower gel. Around 10-15min walk into town. Was provided mountain bikes and went around Hanmer Springs for a short while. We stayed in the Mt Isobel room and had great views.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank bananachai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Every little detail considered and catered to.

Great breakfast, caring host, enjoyable location and simple parking.

Walking distance to high street and golf.

Take the hosts advice on restaurants, we did and her suggestion was very good.

Room Tip: Have breakfast in the garden if weather permits.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon123456789648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

bindy and peter are great hosts and made us right at home. they knew we were there to play the local golf course (they are located right on the second green) so they helped us get oriented to the other attractions in town. we settled in quickly and joined them for a glass of wine in their glorious garden. we took the short walk into town and enjoyed exploring the variety of establishments up and down the road from the famous thermal pools and spa. talk about service, bindy played golf with us the next morning! she was an excellent guide and helped us navigate the challenging back nine holes. breakfast was always a feast. one morning we ate in the garden and thoroughly enjoyed the birdsong and early morning sunshine. it's one of our great moment memories from our trip. as for the accommodation, we had everything at our fingertips, including a small kitchenette. everything was well planned, organized, immaculate, and comfortable. what a great bed. what a great bathroom. bindy has some of the best towels ever. this is one great b&b.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

How lovely to hear from you, thank you for such a glowing review, would be great to get more golfers stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I agree with most of the previous reviews, very nice room, comfy bed, excellent breakfast, stunning location and Hanmer Springs well worth a visit. Cloe enough to the village to walk, but far enough out to be quiet and feel like country with great views.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turkey_Baster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

A lovely photo of the view from Mt Isobel Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Bindi was a thoroughly helpful and friendly hostess. On arrival Bindi explained all the attractions around Hanmer Springs, showed us our room and invited us to Carols by Candlelight at the Spa Pools that evening. After our evening meal we attended the Carols and had a good time. As for the room we cannot recommend it highly enough. It was actually a suite. It was immaculate in every way. The bathroom was enormous. So was the tasty breakfast Bindi made for us. Bindi even packed us a couple of muffins to eat on our travels later in the day. Our only regret is we did not have the chance to stay longer. It was so quiet and peaceful and we slept very well. Marchmont Gardens is a must stay location!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Thank you for coming to our Carols by the Pools hope you didn't get to cold!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cheltenham House
Cheltenham House
#1 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
142 reviews
3.5 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marchmont Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marchmont Gardens

Address: 123 Argelins Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £111 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marchmont Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two purpose built adjoining suites in their own garden, separate from the main home. Each suite has a small kitchenette with a microwave, a barbecue facilities are available. Your breakfast is delivered to you at your appointed time to eat in the garden or in your suite, a self cater option is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marchmont Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing