We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely retreat!”
Review of Marchmont Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marchmont Gardens
Ranked #2 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely retreat!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Quality accommodation with modern furnishings and lots of little extras. Views of the mountains are so beautiful. Fantastic cooked breakfast - absolutely yummy! Hosts very welcoming. Will definitely be back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sairsimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review each and every one is special to us. Hope we see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
157
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Both the hosts and the accommodation are excellent. The views are spectacular as are the breakfasts and gardens.

If you want an escape with everything this is the place to stay. We are already looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rusky_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
So exciting to have had you both back to stay with us and looking so good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikoura, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Marchmont Gardens B & B was absolutely beautiful. Bindy the owner was most welcoming and informative about Hanmer. The unit was beautifully presented with a king sized bed, quality linen and furnishings. Everything was absolutely spotless and we couldn't find fault. Having returned
after dinner to find our bed turned back, a piece of slice placed on a lovely china plate
on either side of the bed and the most nicely presented cooked breakfast delivered in the morning
to our room, excelled all expectations. The gardens and view were beautiful and certainly added to the ambience of the Bed and Breakfast.
We would highly recommend this B & B to anyone, as we already have.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a great review. I have already taken a booking on your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a superb time with Bindi and Peter. From the outset our offer included a welcome bottle of wine and platter - what a great start.
The place was well appointed, private and the breakfast was perfect. A very restful night and the locaton added to the ambience. Only a short pleasant stroll to the main shopping area.
We could not have asked for much more.

Thanks to you both for a wonderful weekend away in Hanmer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lincoln_Megan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for writing a review. What a coincidence being up here at the same time as your Aunt and Uncle! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Loved everything about Marchmont Gardens. The outlook from our room (Isobel) was wonderful and the room itself was so spacious and thoughtfully equipped.Thank you, Bindy and Peter - hope we can return soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John and Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hello Alison and John , thank you for taking the time to write a review look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motueka, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is an excellent b & b. Set in a peaceful and beautiful garden, with stunning mountain views, slightly out of the town centre and next to the golf course. The large bedroom has tasteful, high quality furnishings and is very comfortable, opening on to a private terrace and the flower filled garden. En suite bathroom also large and very high quality. Excellent breakfast served on our terrace. Bindy is a very welcoming and helpful host. We'll certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hello Richard,
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Loved our stay at Marchmont Gardens. Our suite was spacious, clean and well equipped. The garden view immediately outside was stunning. This is the prefect place for relaxing. And the location is within a 5 minute walk into town and the thermal pools.

Room Tip: Only two suites, both superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scott1197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your review, but think you must have run into the village!!!!!!!!! It takes me about 13 to 15 mins to walk! Oh to be young and fit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cheltenham House
Cheltenham House
#1 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marchmont Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marchmont Gardens

Property: Marchmont Gardens
Address: 123 Argelins Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marchmont Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two purpose built adjoining suites in their own garden ,separate from the main home. Each suite has a small kitchenette microwave no hob but a barbacue is available. Your breakfast is delivered to you at your appointed time to eat in the garden or in your suite, a self cater option is also available.Guests must enquire if they wish to bring a pet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Marchmont Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing