We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fantastic”
Review of Forest Peak Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest Peak Motel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

A lovely Family orentated Motel that has fantastic new owners who are friendly honest and very reliable, the rooms are warm and spotless, sheets are clean and bathrooms also. Short walk to town, fantastic owners who what i could tell had family visiting, and they all seemed to jump in and help, true Kiwi Spirt! would stay a million times over and would recomend to anyone going to Hanmer. Priced just right so not only the rich and famous can stay but the younge and restless down to the single parents! FANTASTIC

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shakennotstirred105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    20
    11
    8
    0
See reviews for
34
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I have stayed here a few times over the years, and it hasn't always been great. However, this weekend, I found this stay to be of a high quality. I understand the motel is under new management, and am very impressed with the service and cleanliness. Vicki was so pleasant and helpful when I asked about things to do around Hanmer. Overall a wonderful improvement, I will be sure to come back!

Room Tip: The Challets are beautiful, if available, I advice you to choose those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Elsie and her daughter are working to make this an affordable, pleasant place to stay that families can enjoy. I have always taken my children there as they rooms are set around a playground. Even though some of it is dated it doesn't worry as that's why it's an affordable trip away with kids. It set in a lovely setting so give it a try!

Room Tip: Chalet on garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heykuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

There was a huge billboard on the corner of the street leading up to the motel - Forest Peak Motel for sale.

We were met by the owner who didn't really chat - not very friendly and basically gave us the key and that was that.

The unit was a throw back to the 70's - the main sliding door had a crack in the glass, the seats outside - were spilt and looked old.

This place could be so nice - looking at the middle bit of gardens - the grass hadn't been cut, the picnic bench had seen better days - starting to rot, plants dying.

The inside of the unit was basic and again cleaned on a basic level. The heater had burn marks on it, the duvet had white marks on it - I’m hoping it was from the soap powder?! Signs around the need to be replaced as they had water marks on them.

TV was small, old and little channels. The curtains had dead fly stains on them. Shower had previous guest’s hair on the floor. Basic style bathroom. One of the spot lights didn’t work in the kitchen. The kettle had brown marks on the side. Fridge was dirty. Large rule book – maybe the guests could write one for things needing sorting for this place?

I agree with an earlier reviewer that the owners have lost heart - well if its up for sale then I got the feeling I was just another dollar $ to them - once they had that at the front desk - that’s when the caring stopped.

We paid $120 for this but I would've said due to how basic it was, with cleaning issues and the lack of effort put into the gardens it would've been worth no more than $65 for the night.

We got the feeling Hanmer springs was a bit of a rip off place - bus loads of tourists flock to the thermal pools - paying over the odds. We walked around the back of these pools around the old hospital and they looked no more than an overcrowded man made pool.

We stopped off at a bar and the beer was dearer here than in Auckland! The local shop had also raised its prices.

All in all the Forest Peak motel moto on their website is to stay here and wake up to the sound of the birds - I'd say the birds have already left - give this place a miss under the current state of the place and current owners. It needs a SEVERE revamp for money being charged.

It's worth a drive through Hanmer springs for the views - have a coffee maybe and move on, avoid the tourist pools and rip off bars. The main car park in town also has signs up of be aware of break ins - this is the only place we saw this. I'd advise not staying over here and parking on one of the residential streets nearby and lock your car, hide valuables!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27L09R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

What makes me say 'pretty good here' is that everything in this town is expensive. This is the only place to rest your head for less than $100, and it's not bad. The units are dated, and spartan, but the central green is nice, and it's quiet. Pretty steep walk from town up the hill to the motel, but it's not a long walk. If you're on a budget, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Great motel, despite other comments, hosts were very welcoming. Chalets are delightful and the location is relaxed, quiet and very serene. Good value and would return again.

Room Tip: Chalets are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chchgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Looking for a quiet no frills place to stay this is ok. Must say the couch was not to comfortable but other than that it was what you expect. Hanmer is a tourist trap so it is hard to find reasonably priced motels, still think this is expensive at $95.00.
Plenty of nearby walks and it is only minutes to the pools.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAP245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Larchwood Motel
Larchwood Motel
#21 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Greenacres Chalets And Apartment...
#18 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Peak Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Peak Motel

Property: Forest Peak Motel
Address: 4Torquay Terrace, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Forest Peak Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing