We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean - I would definitely come back here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Forest Peak Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest Peak Motel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very clean - I would definitely come back here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed for one night at Forest Peak and loved it. We had the two bedroom family unit (number 7). It was spotlessly clean - the shower and fridge seemed brand new, the sheets were crisp and well laundered and the unit had everything we needed. Our kids loved the trampoline, swing and slide, and the owner was very friendly and helpful, recommending a perfect picnic spot for our lunch and a great place to eat in the evening. Overall we were really impressed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ponygirl131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    19
    10
    7
    0
See reviews for
33
31
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had the best experience with the staff, they are unbeatable. They went above and beyond expectations. They also helped us with bookings for another location and we shall be coming back. Great village and the springs were great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kezza111962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed here and it has been great both times. The hosts are very friendly. Units are well equipped.
It is separate from the township but still within walking distance. The kids liked the swingball and trampoline.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bijouxtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

with a broken heater (another unit also had this problem) and a noisy fan heater as the replacement (which didn't make a difference at all in the unit), I sat in my ski jacket trying to keep warm. The light outside turned off on a timer so going to bed early wasn't too great. Sleeping on the sofa couch was the stiffest and most uncomfortable place I have ever slept - it shouldn't have been marketed as a bed...but at least I got up early the next morning - I was so cold that I couldn't sleep! The bathroom didn't have a heater/dehumidifer so after a shower the room was misty, with a wet floor. Good news if sleeping in the back bedroom, you had no problem with a bright light, because there was no light at all - remember to pack a torch if you are going to be home after dark and will be walking up the driveway - not the safest option. On the upside, it was a very clean unit, but when you are soooo cold, it simply isn't pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Green123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicki c, Owner at Forest Peak Motel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your review! We are sorry you were not happy with your stay here. Your comments have been duly noted and acted upon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

I have stayed at the Forest peak motel many times and it never seems to disappoint. Very clean tidy and great greeting at arrival. Heating was turned on for us before we got in the room so it was nice and cosy for us. Such a great place to stay for a cheap price! Would recommend it to everyone from couples wanting a get away to families. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicki c, Owner at Forest Peak Motel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyttelton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Despite a late booking for Easter we were very happy with our stay at Forest Peak Motel. We found our unit very clean and comfortable and the surroundings peaceful. Loved being on the doorstep of the forest walks and also close walking distance to the township.
Our hosts welcomed not only an additional guest we had but also our pet spoodle.
I would highly recommend this motel and wish the owners well with their future plans for it. We would love to come back here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicki c, Manager at Forest Peak Motel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thanks for your comments. We hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Comfortable, attractive, spacious and spotless chalet made for a lovely two day stay. Hosts couldn't have been more helpful, providing excellent advice on eating places and information on local walks, which start very nearby. Lovely garden area perfect for children, while chalets positioned so very private feel. Overall, I would highly recommend a stay here, and would go again myself.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicki c, Owner at Forest Peak Motel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thanks for your review of our motel. We look forward to another vist from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Greenacres Chalets And Apartment...
#14 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.4 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Peak Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Peak Motel

Property: Forest Peak Motel
Address: 4Torquay Terrace, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Forest Peak Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing