We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough place to stay”
Review of Forest Peak Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest Peak Motel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice enough place to stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights in August - a couple of cold winters days. The motel is fairly dated but it is warm, clean and comfortable and for Hamner Springs the price was OK. It is 10 minutes walk into town and to the thermal pools. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. The only negative is the common New Zealand practice of charging for internet access at exorbitant rates.
The NZ accommodation industry needs to travel to Europe and understand the reality of the rest of the world....if you don't supply free internet you don't get the business. It is a basic service like electricity.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerrickandMyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    20
    10
    8
    0
See reviews for
33
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed for one night only and was pleased to leave. The location in Hanmer is fine however the interior and furnishings of the rooms desperately needs updating. The tired and dated appearance was quite depressing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoDubaiUae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

GFour of us stayed here in April in Chalet 3 & 4, this accommodation is so inviting, very clean and well equipped, so relaxing, the customer service is outstanding, Just a short walk to the town centre and hot springs. We all highly recommend this quaint accommodation, would love to see it when there is snow around.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Super cosy chalet!
Good position, very clean room, nice view, All the facilities inside, kind owners!

We hope to visit the place again (maybe during the winter with the snow outside)!
Valeria and Giovanni

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valeria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a "downtown" place to stay this is not for you. But if you want space for three adults with kitchen facilities then this is great. It is only 5 minute drive into town. It is quiet and the view from the kitchen window is spectacular.
Wonderful, friendly hosts.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 51traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had to change our dates last minute and the staff were very accommodating. We experienced excellent service from the staff and a marvelously prepared room. Very warm rooms and all the amenities were provided. Cant wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottiev8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Really blissful to return and experience chalet No.3 for the first time. This is in a perfect setting and so private. A most comfortable two nights, really clean and fresh and such an improvement on a few years back. So close to a range of forest walks which are therapy in themselves. A lovely welcome from hard-working Elsie. Probably the best motel in Hanmer but don't tell everyone...

Room Tip: Every unit is different but have never been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaibeartAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
682 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Larchwood Motel
Larchwood Motel
#21 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Greenacres Chalets And Apartment...
#15 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Peak Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Peak Motel

Property: Forest Peak Motel
Address: 4Torquay Terrace, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Forest Peak Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing