We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place and wonderful hosts”
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“amazing place and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Pat epitomizes Kiwi hospitality. We traveled with our children and the 2 bedroom cabin worked out nicely. Cute and cozy place. Highly recomend We cant wait to go back. thanks

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bacwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    45
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
128
171
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
christcurch
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2011

After a stressful week we came for a weekend of peace and quiet and left felling like royalty. We can not recommend the Chalets Motel high enough! Trip Advisor should have a rating of "Outstanding" just for this stunning gem. The hosts made us feel so welcome and the quality and cleanliness of our room was of an "Outsanding" quality. The free breakast (which we got from trip advisor) was freshly cooked and arrived to our room piping hot. Our hosts helped us with where to go for the best food and showed us a awesome half day walk. Once you have been to the hot pools for the night and cuddled up in your room there is no where else you would want to be. We will be back again and again and again! Thank you so much for the effort you put in

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank less_stressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Jock was fantastic & could not do enough to help make our stay comfotable. We stayed in the largest available Chalet due to having 4 small children! It was modern, comforable & warm. I cannot recommend this place enough :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCOL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

The chalets awesome feature is the separate cottages. Each unit is separate so we had absolutely no noise from people in other units, and they were all booked. We really appreciated the easy parking, large grassy open areas in front of the unit, outdoor picnic table, own clothes line and quiet. Heating in the units was excellent. Each of the bedrooms had a radiant heater, plus a thermostat controlled large fan wall heater which worked very well. The units were clean and we the small touches such as free DVD hire, books, pegs for the clothes line. PLUS the laundry was the cheapest I have experienced at $2 for washing and $1 drying. Wireless internet was $5 for unlimited use in 24 hours. Another bargain. We arrived with two keen basketball players desperate to watch the Breakers play. Yes, they even have SKY SPORT - 40 channels to choose from. The chalets are a short walk from the busy bustling eatery area. But thats why they are so wonderful. You are away from the rat race here.
My only thing is I found the bed a little small as I am use to king size. But otherwise it was extremely comfortable. And two couches in the lounge was brillant for a family. Kitchen very well stocked with utensils.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Can only agree with all of the other sparkling reviews.....This place was, without a doubt, THE nicest place we stayed during our 2 week tour of the South Island.
Spotlessly clean, beautiful surrounds, quiet and peaceful. The hosts, Pat & Jock, were almost too nice and accommodating to be true!
We had a BBQ dinner and invited friends who were staying elsewhere in town....they soon wished they'd booked in here too !!!
This was our 2nd visit here, can't wait to go back...maybe in Winter, it would be stunning in the snow!
A credit to the Hosts...well done, keep it up.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beek0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

This chalet was our overwhelming favorite of our NZ vacation. Set on the edge of town amoungst the trees and hills our privatel chalet was perfect. Could walk to town, yet it was so peaceful and quiet. Spotlessly clean,private, with 3 rooms, including King bed, jacuzzi tub, sitting area, and kitchen. Patio and picnic table and lounge chairs. The owners were very kind and made sure we had everything we needed. The grounds were beautiful, (they were continuously working on them,) terraced with rock garrdens, and they were planting native trees and plants. Just felt good being there! And the price was very reasonable. We stayed a different place every night as we travelled around and this was without question the highlight as far as accomodations are concerned.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianTraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Uk
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We picked this out of the AA guide as I hadn't had time to look at TA! We were not disappointed. We only needed a 1 bed but as they were all full Pat allocated us a 2 bed chalet for the price of a 1 bed. This was an individual wooden chalet, on its own spacious plot, with a parking space next to it.

The views were stunning and we sat out side & watched the sunset.

There was a guest laundry which we used.

The interior of the cabin was comfortable, maybe a little dated. The shower wasn't brilliant. But it all came remarkably cheap, Pat & Jock the owners were friendly & helpful and so if we are lucky enough to visit Hanmer again, we would return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Property: Chalets Motel
Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing