We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So well accomplished, could it actually be any better?”
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“So well accomplished, could it actually be any better?”
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Hanmer itself is a delightful town. Full of caring, respectful and happy holidayers. In this regard, it would be hard for the Chalets to excel and mark itself out. But it does.

We were greeted by a warm New Zealand smile, and the owner showing us the chalet. I can only remember one other place in which I was showed my room like this (The Merrion Dublin). What a great way to start. And the hosts wanted us to be happy, and provided a whole load more guidance.

The accommodation was a typical New Zealand 'unit', but it has to be said that despite being two years old, it felt as if it were brand new:- homage to how clean the accommodation has been kept. The view was amazing.

The coil-sprung beds were nice enough and gave a good sleep, while the hot water was enough for a family of four to have a shower each, and for much more to be left. The only other essential (sun) is outside of the owners' control.

We would come here again. Our only 'niggle' is that in Hanmer itself, we would struggle to justify more than a two-day stay. But then again, we are 'busy Europeans' so maybe a longer stay would bring us back down to earth.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fresh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Wow, thanks for your great review of our Chalets and our lovely alpine village. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We can assure you that it's not hard at all to stay longer than 2 nights in lovely Hanmer Springs! Thanks for taking the time to write such a good comprehensive review for us, it's much appreciated =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    45
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
128
170
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Pat and Jock were lovely, very approachable and accomodating. When I emailed and explained that we were unable to arrive until late evening I was told this was no problem. We arrived at 23.00, milk in the fridge for us and lights left on, plus the heating had been on to warm the chalet for us arriving. The chalet lovely, very clean, seperate bedroom to lounge area, and fully equipt kitchen area. Beautiful views and we would have been happy to stay there for the duration of our holiday had we not been travelling around NZ.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1957Bernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thanks heaps Bernadette for your lovely positive review of your stay with us ~ we are most appreciative of you taking timeout to do it for us. We are very glad you enjoyed staying with us in lovely Hanmer Springs and yes, hopefully you will be able to stay longer next time! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonthill, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This was the last stop on our road trip, before we returned to Kaikoura.
Beautiful chalet, large and inviting and very quiet. We were there for the night. Very hospitable and quiet location.
Many people are there to enjoy the hot springs and we saw them walking into town to do so.
We decided to do it in the morning, hoping it would not be so busy.

Very inviting town with great shops. Got beautiful Merino wool gloves at The Woolshed Gallery.
I would recommend doing what a woman was doing and putting in her order to be shipped to her home.
Very quaint town. A great place to retire to in the future.
Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
A big thankyou Louise for your wonderful review of you stay with us. Bet you are getting some good use from those merino gloves you bought at The Woolshed now that Canada is in the grip of winter! Keep warm and hopefully we will see you again one day. =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This was everything one could expect - a warm welcome, escort to the chalet, explanation of how everything worked, offers of advice on attractions and eating out. The chalet was attractive and spotlessly clean with everything looking new, well cared for and in full working order. Wifi was very fast. The kitchen area was well equipped with good quality utensils and crockery. The furnishings and style all made it a very pleasant, quiet yet not too far from town place to stay. No hesitation in recommending it and I will stay again. All the 5 star reviews for this place are very well deserved.

Room Tip: I think they all look pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JW1965Hitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thanks for your good constructive review Ross ~ we very much appreciate you taking timeout to do it for us. =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This motel consists of a number of standalone wooden chalets. Ours was well appointed, well equipped and comfortable; I was pleasantly surprised to find it had decent blockout curtains. It was very peaceful and quiet, with a fantastic view of the mountains. The hosts make a point of keeping out of your way after you've checked in, so if you're looking for a secluded getaway spot, this may very well be it.

The location is just 10 minutes walk from the centre of Hanmer. (The chalets are situated on a gravel track up a little hill, so it might be a tricky walk if you have mobility issues.) Each chalet has its own parking space. We found the chalet got a bit warm in the blazing summer sun, but the hosts will provide a fan on request, and it cooled overnight.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Hi Ross,

Many thanks indeed for your great informative review of our complex. I am sure it helps people decide on their choice of accommodation when they have a review such as yours to read. We really do appreciate you taking the time to do it for us. =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I enjoyed a relaxing stay at The Chalets Motel. The view was beautiful, the rooms clean and it was convenient for us to visit the hot springs. But what I want to particularly highlight is the great service provided by Pat and Jack during our stay - unknowingly, I had left my wallet in the motel. Within the day, I received a call notifying me of it's loss and they even went so far as to courier my wallet to my next destination. Thank you Pat and Jack! We will definitely come back to stay the next time we visit New Zealand again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Great to get your positive review! It was not a problem at all to post your wallet onto your next destination ~ a holiday is no fun if you haven't got your wallet with you! We do appreciate you emphasising our good service in your review. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around the Sth Island and you had a good trip home. =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

A wonderful relaxing stay in a perfect mountain retreat. The chalets are very comfortable and very clean. The views of the mountains are lovely and the complex is surrounded by beautiful trees. Only a short 10 minute stroll to the fabulous spa pools of Hanmer Springs and the shopping in the village, A special treat are the woodland walks which abound in Hanmer,only a stroll down the road. Thanks to future thinking settlers we can enjoy thousands of gorgeous English trees and winding shady walks along a pristine stream. In winter this place would be utterly exquisite.Having experienced summer and autumn with perfect weather both times, I will have to return to a snowy wonderland. The hosts, Pat and Jock were very friendly and generous, delivering my suitcase to the bus stop at the end of my last day, allowing me to wander and swim free of baggage.

Room Tip: One bedroom chalet was perfect - included all facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwijd102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
We are rapt you enjoyed your stay so much in your Chalet and in the lovely alpine village of Hanmer Springs ~ yes a return trip in winter to experience a 'snowy wonderland' is definitely a must! It was a pleasure to meet you =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Property: Chalets Motel
Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing