We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home :)”
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Pat and Jock provided me and my friends with the best accommodation we could have asked for. They were so friendly and helpful and more than happy to help us out when things didn't go as planned, even gave us a lemon so we could make some famous kiwi dip!
Definitely best motel I've stayed at in NZ thanks so much Pat and Jock I've already told family and friends where to stay when they're in hanmer :) :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Thanks Erin ~ that's an awesome review you have given us and we do appreciate it heaps.
Look forward to seeing you again for that 'girls' weekend!! =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

A beautiful position overlooking the mountains with superb views all around. We felt as if this was our home. There was a small garden to the front and rear so we could sit outside and have different views. There was also a side garden with a private washing line. We had a separate bedroom which was unexpected for the price we paid. The kitchen was well equipped and having been travelling for such a long time it was great to be able to cook a meal and not have to go out and eat. The cleanliness was superb, we wish we could have picked the whole house up and taken it with us everywhere we went. Pat and Jock were so kind, we wouldn't think of ever staying any where else should we go to Hanmer again

Room Tip: We were high up and had fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Combsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Thankyou so much for the wonderful review you gave us. We do strive to put everything in the Chalet to make it a 'home away from home', and the beautiful mountain views are an extra special bonus! And yes we do agree that it's great to be able to cook your own dinner sometimes on holiday, instead of having to eat out every night. So glad you enjoyed your time with us.
=) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We arrived and were greated with a professional and caring attitude, and the two seldom go together. Whilst there were other places to stay, the Chalet Motel accommodation was perfect. It extremely well presented, it was clean, it was tidy, and the windows were beautiful. The kitchen (and I am fussy) was spotless.

The Chalets were well equiped, well presented, and the environment was well groomed.

We will return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Wow, what a great review ~ thanks so much Peter. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and everything that we offer. We very much appreciate you taking the time to write this great review for us. =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed at the Chalets Motel on 18 December and were not disappointed. The hosts were very welcoming, the chalet was excellent value for money, at $145 (not sure if that was Aussie or NZ dollars... sorry, either way, super value!). Free internet was offered and well used. Location was within an easy walk of the townsite. Only things that would have turned this ito a 5 star property would have been a TV in the bedroom, more luxurious fittings with a few extra touches and a plug in for my hair dryer in the bathroom. The plug issue seems to be with this particular brand of chalet as we experienced the same issue at another place in the South Island. It is, of course, a safety feature, so very understandable.

As we arrived fairly late in the day after a 7 hour drive from Wanaka, we didn't have time for a soak in the thermal springs that evening. The hosts very obligingly offered us the option of taking their towels the next morning after checkout and returning them to unstaffed reception before we resumed our road trip. Much appreciated!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozwandererPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thanks heaps for giving us such a positive and comprehensive review ~ we very much appreciate you taking timeout to do this for us. Yes, as you say safety is the main issue with hairdryers in the bathroom, and so we ensure we have mirrors in our bedrooms close to a plug so you can dry your hair safely there.
We pride ourselves on being an excellent Four Star Motel, and our prices obviously reflect our Four Star Rating. Glad you enjoyed your stay and found us good value for money, we surely strive to be! Many thanks again =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Just looooveee Chalets Motel. We only had a 1 night stay here in the one bedroom chalet due to full occupancy. My 2 year old son seemed soooo happy when we entered the chalet. He still had place to run around back and forth from the bedroom, living area and terrace. Not huge but just enough for us. The cleanliness is excellent, they provide a complete menu of near by restaurants to help us in deciding before finding dinner. The location is off main road but still close approximity to the pool & spa. I can't say enough of how satisfied we are with our stay. Will definitely come back when visiting Hanmer Spring again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aastari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you so much for your great review of your stay with us ~ we do appreciate you taking the time to do it. Hopefully you will be able to return for a longer stay before too long! =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night whilst heading south. Lovely place to stay and worth of more than a stopover. Well equipped, clean and attractive unit. Quiet. Great play area for kids. Helpful hosts with great DVD library to choose from. Recommended. Definitely family friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chocbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

A big thanks for your great review of our 'family friendly' motel ~ we certainly try and make The Chalets a great place for families and couples to stay.! We very much appreciate you taking the time to do your review for us. =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Very personable hosts Jock and Pat ensure that any stay at the chalets is a home away from home experience. Although close to amenities and an easy walk into town the Chalets Motel is also tranquil, relaxing and private. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and offered our respective choices of milk; provided with a choice of DVD's which we enjoyed and given an excellent recommendation for dinner-which we took up and which met our high expectations. During our stay we observed Jock and Pat providing an equally hospitable and warm welcome to other guests staying at the Chalets. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Chalets Motel to others and we also look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thanks Bruce for your awesome review of your stay at The Chalets. We so appreciate you taking the time to do it for us, and we are rapt you enjoyed your time here. Yes, we look forward to seeing you too when you are able to return. =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
771 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
629 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £77 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing