We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location/View, Clean & Very Friendly - Great Value!”
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Our stay was terrific - clean, well appointed chalet with an amazing view of the mountains and nice outdoor seating on a small private lawn. The hosts were knowledgable and very friendly. They even have a free library of books and movies for guests to enjoy. A quick walk (less than 10 minutes) into town for the hot springs/spa, restaurants and shops. We would stay again and definitely recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Check out the room photos on the website - it helped us select our chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The2Welches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

A great review ~ thankyou! It's always a real boost for us to see that guests have enjoyed a lovely relaxing time with us here at The Chalets in lovely Hanmer Springs, as holidays can be busy!
Thanks heaps for taking timout to do this great review for us =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

Our one night here was nowhere near long enough, could easily stay for a week! The chalets have a fantastic view of the surrounding alps and are just a short stroll to all the restaurants, bars and shops in Hanmer Springs and most importantly the hot springs, where we spent a wonderful few hours. The chalets are very comfortable, clean and have a fully equipped kitchen if you want to self-cater. Pat was really friendly and helpful and there if you need anything. They have towels for the springs for hire for just $2 (the ones at the springs cost $5); we took our own but spent ages trying to dry them afterwards, so I would definitely use this option on a return visit. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arantius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thanks heaps for your great detailed review ~ and we would love to have you come and stay for a week next time! (Great advice about the towels too!) We do appreciate you taking the time to do this full and positive review for us =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Incredible price for the location and quality of rooms provided. That's not to take away from the quality of the rooms, it was great! Everything needed to make for a great stay was there, and the owners were extremely helpful when it came to changes to the number of guests.

Don't spend time trying to find anywhere else to stay, just book in here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clinton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Wow, thanks for that great advice to Trip Advisor browsers Clinton ~ We thoroughly agree!!
Great review ~ thanks heaps =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Beautifully situated chalets with uninterrupted views of surrounding countryside. Chalets have everything you could wish for. They offer privacy and alsom have small garden where you can sit and take in the views. Ample space and offer excellent value. Hospitality and friendliness was excellent

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timrow178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thanks Tim for your wonderful review, so glad you enjoyed your time here with us. We do appreciate you taking timeout to post this on Trip Advisor for us. =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Other reviewers have commented accurately on this place. I suppose it is a motel, but it's much more a park dotted with a small number of detached wooden chalets, all with good views. Accommodation arrangements vary from chalet to chalet, and we had one with a living/dining room/kitchen and two bedrooms, and a broad deck out front. The welcome was warm and friendly, and I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Thanks so much for your lovely review ~ we did enjoy meeting you and your wife and are so glad that you enjoyed your time here with us at The Chalets. We really appreciate you taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor for us. Happy Travels! =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

After 5 days cycling the rugged Molesworth Rd on our tandem bicycle, it was wonderful to have 3 days staying at the Chalets Motel. Jock and Pat were wonderful hosts, catering to our specific needs, which were different from the usual vehicle based traveller. Our chalet was very clean, comfortable and cosy. We found it well appointed and spacious for our needs, enabling us to self cater or spoil ourselves in and around Hanmer as we pleased.
Would highly recommend The Chalets Motel and it is deserving of it's high ratings for accomodation in Hanmer Springs.
Thanks Jock and Pat for being part of our wonderful NZ adventure.

Room Tip: We stayed in the chalet at the top of the property, and this gave us amazing views, and afternoon su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Hi Linda & Adrian! Lovely to get your awesome review! Thanks heaps ~ we really enjoyed meeting you and are still in awe of your efforts on the tandem. Hope all is going well for you with your new challenges. =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Comfortable rooms, not lavish but perfectly adequate. Lovely location with good views. A 10 minute walk into town. Very quiet and private. Very friendly and helpful reception. They have even got free wi-fi in all the cabins.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahonia100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thanks heaps for posting this positive review for us ~ so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do appreciate you taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor for us. =) Pat & Jock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#15 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
617 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £72 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing