We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This was our last accommodation before leaving the South Island. Everything was perfect. We stayed at cabin 8. It was very cosy and had a good view. We quite like the wooden design and felt like being home. Jock even provided free towels for our thermal spa. Thanks heaps!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graciexiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Thanks for that wonderful review ~ just 'perfect'! Glad you picked us to stay with as your 'lucky last' accommodation in NZ before heading home. We do also appreciate you taking timeout to post this on Trip Advisor for us. Hope to see you again one day =) Pat & Jock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    45
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
128
171
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mascot, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Cabins are cosy and comfortable. Jock was very welcoming. We only stayed one night but wish we could have stayed longer. The two bedroom cabins are a little more classy than the 1 bedders, but they are still good, cosy and very clean. All was great. Thanks Jock.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Thanks heaps Mark ~ we are rapt you enjoyed your stay with us, and we much appreciate you taking the time to post this review for us on Trip Advisor. Hope you can return' one day to lovely Hanmer Springs! =) Pat & Jocki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We had one chalet and cousins another near by- perfect privacy and the most glorious view of mountains and the Lewis Pass. Chalets had everything needed for a relaxed self cooking stay but were a short walk from town for eating out too. Warm and comfortable, each chalet is well situated on the property which is high enough to afford all round views. Our hosts were extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. Unreservedly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255100Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Hi Amanda, Thanks heaps for your great and positive review ~ very much appreciated! And big thanks too for taking timeout to post it on Trip Advisor for us. Hope to see you again one day =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Very comfortable rooms with full kitchen and facilities. Short walk to shops, restaurants and hot springs. Lovely views and very friendly and helpful owners. Have previously stayed at another hotel in Hanmer Springs, but not a patch on this one. Will certainly be staying here again next time in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Thanks Cathy for your excellent review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor for us. =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Only 10 minutes walk to Hanmer Springs, close to all amenities, restaurants and the hot springs, this accommodation was superb. Comfortable rooms with great facilities, beautiful views and friendly, helpful owners. Had a great stay. We only stayed one night but would definitely return and stay for much longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Hi Katharine, thanks so much for your great review, and we certainly do appreciate you taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and yes, hopefully next time you might be able to stay more than one night! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Only a few minutes walk to the CBD/ Hot pools. Each motel is a desperate chalet. They were spotless and totally self sufficient. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. Our group of two couples were very happy to stumble over this accommodation find in such a busy resort. Great for families and long term stays. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmw84015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay so much here with us at The Chalets. Having a separate Chalet all to yourself in a lovely alpine environment certainly is a winner with our guests. We do appreciate very much you taking the time to post this great review on Trip Advisor for us, and thank you for recommending us to your friends =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Another couple and ourselves stayed at the Chalets Motel for a couple of nights just before Easter in one of the 2 bedroom Chalets. What first impressed us, was that each Chalet was a small distance from the others, which gave you a lovely feeling of "being alone", as to a normal motel where you are right on top of each other. We had lovely sound of Tui's and other birdlife during the day. The whole property is superbly maintained and our unit was lovely. It was not big, but really functional for the four of us. The hosts could not have done more for us, and already I have told friends this is the "only place to stay at Hanmer".

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandNZTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Great Review ~ thanks so much for taking the time to post this on Trip Advisor for us. It's great to hear how much you both enjoyed your stay and the birdsong! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Property: Chalets Motel
Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing