We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little chalets and service”
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little chalets and service”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed here just last night and I have to say, Jock and the chalets are just lovely. I didn't really want to do much after driving so Jock upgraded me and I had a lovely night enjoying my Chalet. The service is great and the accommodations are very nice. Private and very clean and looked after. The views are spectacular. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Hi there Jess, wow we love your review! Thanks heaps and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We very much appreciate you posting this great review for us, and we hope that you can make it back 'across the ditch' before too long to stay with us in lovely Hanmer Springs again! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    45
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
128
170
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2013

What an amazing place. Breathtaking views over the mountains from the chalet which was perfect for our time in Hanmer. Our chalet was very clean, a good size for our family of four plus the added bonus of the grandparents renting one just across from us. Jock and Pat were very welcoming and went out of their way to ensure we had all we needed. Lots of extras provided in the kitchen which helped make life easier with a small baby! Beautifully warm and in a great location for town. We will definitely be back:) Thanks for making our stay so special.
Paula, Dale, Ben and Emily Hulburt, Robyn and Peter Batters and Ryan Bull

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, General Manager at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
A big thank you to Paula, Dale, Emily, Ben, Robyn, Peter & Ryan for your wonderful review! We are just rapt that you enjoyed your family get-together here at The Chalets. Family get-togethers take a bit of planning, and we are so happy the weekend went off so well for you all.
We do certainly appreciate you going on Trip Advisor and posting this great review for us, and we hope to see you back one day! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Pleasure to stay at. Clean quiet rooms, great if you have kids. Terrific friendly and personal service. The views are amazing so if you can stay in one of the higher rooms. We spent 11 days travelling in the South Island and a few of the places we stayed we lacking in the heater department but these chalets were cozy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PegasusTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
A super review for us ~ thanks so much, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here at The Chalets and that you were cosy and warm during your stay. That's absolutely essential as far as we are concerned ~ when it's cold outside you have to be snug and warm inside our Chalets!
Thanks heaps for taking timeout to do this awesome review for us, and hopefully we will see you again on your next trip to 'The Mainland' =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in our little cabin like room, woke up to lovely views of the snowy mountains. Great location, just 3 mins drive to town and the hot springs where we enjoyed soaks in the thermal waters. Only point to note is that the motel signage is a little inconspicuous in the dark, as we arrived after 6pm, so we spent a bit of time going around trying to find it. Josh and Pat were very friendly hosts, one of the best we've ever met actually. They made sure we were comfortable and were very caring to ensure we have an enjoyable time in Hanmer Springs. We look forward to staying with you again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Hi Charlotte, thanks so much for your awesome review of your stay with us! We are just so pleased that you enjoyed your time here at The Chalets and hope to see you again one day.
We do appreciate you taking the time to do this great review for us =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powys, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013

What a fabulous place to stay, just wished we'd have stopped more than one night.
Lovely hosts who were very helpful, but not intrusive. Well equipped, clean and comfortable chalets in a great location. Peerfect place to relax and unwind.
Hamner Springs is a delightful town and would reconmend the hot springs.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaxonPowys_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, even though it was only one night. Next time you come down to the southern hemisphere hopefully you can stay longer! Thanks heaps for doing this great review for us ~ hope the UK weather has improved and you are enjoying a taste of early summer as we go into winter down here! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australian
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

we stayed a couple of nights, walked down to the hot springs and soaked for a few hours, had a good meal in town, slept peacefully. the accommodation was spacious, with a view from every window. the hostess was very helpful, and there was a lot of information available for us on the local attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olderaustralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in our lovely alpine village. We so appreciate you taking the time to do this review for us, and thanks again for choosing us as your accommodation in Hanmer Springs! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This will forever be one of my favourite places to stay. Cute chalets with lovely views which have absolutely everything you need! Great kitchen (was so excited to see an oven!) and very well equipped. Loved the privacy, are left to your own devices. Host is great, very helpful and friendly. Finally a place with free Wi-Fi that isn't restricted to a tiny amount. A gem of a place that is walking distance to the centre of town. Thank you. Two nights wasn't enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Wow! Thanks so much for your wonderful review ~ we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and we hope you can return for two or more nights before too long! We both appreciate very much you taking the time to do this awesome review for us! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Property: Chalets Motel
Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing