We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best accommodation of our trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Burnie, Australia
2 reviews
“Best accommodation of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at the Chalets Motel for two nights, which happened to be the last two nights of our honeymoon. It was such a perfect place to stay, quiet and comfortable and the owners were lovely. Great views and short walk to town, we will definitely be back! Thanks again :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleandTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Hi Elle & Travis, It was a pleasure to meet you and have you stay with us, and thank you very much for your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here at The Chalets. All the very best to you as you start your married life, and we hope to see you back one day! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    43
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
123
165
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in 99% of motel accommodation in Hanmer Springs, over many years! (As from nearby Christchurch) I fully recommend a stay at The Chalets Motel. The best aspect is the quietness of staying in a separate unit, (no snoring or loud talking through the wall). A full oven in the kitchen, and microwave, and all the drawers filled with everything you need, right down to tin-foil! And a torch !! Have stayed in 3 different Chalets, all have been so clean, warm-as and with beautiful views. So like the lay-out, of a separate bedroom from living and kitchen - just like 'home-away-from-home'! The whole complex is so spacious with lovely shrubs and native grasses. Nice having your own clothes-line,private lawn and outdoor chairs. The views are beautiful in all directions, including the night sky! (Saw the International Space Station pass over). The free Wi-Fi Christchurch Press paper and pool towels, very much appreciated! The hosts Pat and Jock are so welcoming, and you feel 'like family'. Favourite Chalet is No 5 for a couple, although my married daughters with family, would love 2 bedroom Chalets near the playground!

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JanPat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hi Janice! Thanks sooooo much for your awesome review!! We are just rapt that you enjoy staying at The Chalets (especially in No. 5!) and enjoy the privacy and peace of having your own separate Chalet. We do try hard to make our chalets a 'home away from home', but unfortunately we can't take the credit for having 'Skylab' cruise across the sky in front of Chalet 5 whilst you were here! Look forward to seeing you next time, =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We really enjoyed our one night stay at the Chalets Motel. Jock was very welcoming and informative and the cabin was clean, warm, cosy and well-equipped. Our son accidently left his very much loved soft toy behind and very shortly after we had left Pat gave us a call telling that she had found it while cleaning the cabin. This lovely couple then posted the toy to us via next day delivery - on their own expense! I would call that real customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leafcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
That's a great review for us ~ thank you so much, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you when you can make it up again to lovely Hanmer Springs! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights stay at The chalets Motel. The accommodation was clean, warm and cosy and Pat was the perfect hostess, making sure all was well. Having a separate unit was just perfect so that we could relax and not have to worry too much that our kids were bothering neighbours with their usual noisy games! The kids loved the little park and had more than enough room to run around outside. The motel is well located, just a few minutes walk into main town area, which was handy. Plus the view from our chalet was lovely indeed. It was a pleasure staying there and we will definitely be recommending to others. Thanks for the lovely stay, Pat and Jock!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sajsolofa-hansell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Wow, thanks for your wonderful review!! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we look forward to seeing you again. We so appreciate you taking the time to do this awesome review for us =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights and were so well looked after by Jock and Pat. We stayed during a more quiet time and received a free upgrade on our chalet, which was a lovely wooden 2-bedroom private chalet. The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable. Jock and Pat helped with recommendations on places to eat, how to get to the ski fields, and other things to do in town. This is our second time staying here and would definitely recommend it to anyone planning to visit Hanmer Springs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebug_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Hi Jo ~ A really great review! Thanks heaps ~ we really enjoyed meeting you and the crew again, and we are so happy that you loved your time here with us. We were rapt too that you had a few good days on the ski slopes ~ hopefully you can return again next year - with a bit of luck we might have snow around your Chalet! Thanks so much for making the time to do this awesome review for us. =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

On a recent trip around the South Island we finished off with 4 nights at The Chalets Motel in Hanmer Springs and were not disappointed. In the middle of winter it was important to us that we were warm. The Chalet was incredibly cosy as well as being comfortable and clean. Jock and Pat were the perfect hosts but what our family really enjoyed was the privacy of the stand alone Chalets. We didn't even see anyone else in the complex. My three teenagers were more than happy sharing a large room in the large 2 bedroom chalet (number 5). The Chalets are an easy walk to town and Hanmer a good base for skiing at Mt Lyford if you enjoy uncrowded slopes. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Hi Ange! Big thanks for your awesome review ~ we are so rapt that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us so much. And we do appreciate you taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor for us. Hopefully you and your family can return to the South Island for some more fun on the slopes next winter. Hopefully you can put The Chalets Motel in lovely Hanmer Springs on your itinerary again! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We could have spent days relaxing here. The owner was very attentive and the view was breath-taking (sp?) with the snow on the mountains in the morning. There are great running paths along the roadways, and excellent restaurant in town (can't remember the name but might be Monteith's - ask the owner, he and his wife go there), and the sulfur pools are very relaxing. Both my husband and I were sad to stay only for the day but had lots planned in our trip. This is definitely a great place to stay and rest!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RachelU178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hi Rachel, Thanks heaps for your wonderful review of your stay with us and the 'big ups' you gave to our lovely alpine village! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your one night stay with us, hope you can make it longer next time! We do appreciate you taking the time to do this great review =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.2 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Property: Chalets Motel
Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing