We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Chalets Motel was a great stay. Me and my partner had a very quiet, private experience which was just what we were after. It also felt quite homely, with lovely wood panelling, art and a cosy atmosphere. The owners made us feel very welcome. Overall, it was a lovely experience and wasn't too pricey!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
It's so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us ~ thank you so much for taking the time to put your very positive review on Trip Advisor for us. We look forward to seeing you again sometime! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    43
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
123
165
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kempsey, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon for 3days it was absolutely amazing!!! The chalets were so perfect they smelt of beautiful pine and were spotless. The views were breathtaking and the owners were so lovely and very helpful, they made us feel at home and helped make our experience even more perfect. We would reccomend this place to absolutely everyone wanting to stay in lovely hanmer springs. :) 10/10 for sure. Kim & Arvinder from Australia & India.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimL513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you so much Kim & Arvinder for your great review! We are so pleased that your stay at The Chalets made your honeymoon even more memorable and we so appreciate you taking the time to do this wonderful review for us. Hope to see you again one day! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Having narrowed down 'Where to stay in Hanmer" to 3 possibles, I rang all three. Once I spoke to Pat, I was sold. There was plenty of room for my husband and I and our daughter (at Canterbury Uni). The chalets are private, have great views, are warm and have plenty of parking. We found everything very well thought out, and Pat and Jock made us feel very welcome. I couldn't fault it, and we loved our time at Hanmer, and would go back any time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thanks heaps for your great review! We are so pleased that you and your daughter had a lovely stay here with us (a special time). Many thanks for taking the time to do this lovely review for us.
Hope you can make it back before too long =) Pat & Jock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We spent 5 nights at The Chalets Motel in Hanmer Springs. We were attracted by the individual residences, to get away from the big smoke and everyday worries. We argued that this isn’t really a motel - definitely of higher standard than a motel. The chalets are suitably well equipped with all the comforts of home away from home. They were warm and our few-month-old baby was also very comfortable. While it’s located less than 10 minute walk to the township, which has got some bars and restaurants, we opted to cook most of our meals in the chalet, and found it suitably equipped and extras were easily available from the reception. The view from our Chalet were amazing and we wish we could’ve stayed longer. The view is southerly, so it’s perfect for Southern Light chasers like us. Once again many thanks to the hosts and we’re looking forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorAucklanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
What a great review! Thanks so much ~ we are so pleased that you enjoyed your 5 day stay here with us so much. We very much appreciate you taking the time to write this comprehensive and very positive review for us, and we look forward to seeing you again =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Chalets Motel and found the couple who run the motel both helpful and very friendly. They accomodated our changed booking with no problems and gave us all the information we needed.

The chalet was warm, cosy, clean and tidy. The owners had put the heating on for us, and assisted us when we arrived by showing us through the chalet and explaining how things worked, which is a great help. The chalets are well priced and affordable for singles, couples or a family.

Compared to other accommodation in Hanmer Springs, the Chalet Motels are slightly off the beaten track but still close enough to walk (600 metres from the town centre) and avoid the township noise of a weekend.

Everything worked in the Chalet and a small leak in the toilet I reported to the owners was appreciated by them as a maintenance issue. They provide little extras for free like umbrellas, towels for the hot pools and Videos Movies to watch.

The atmosphere is of a "home away from home" and the owners live up to that effort successfully.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ngaioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
A wonderful comprehensive review ~ thanks so much ~ we do appreciate you taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor for us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay ~ we do try hard to make our Chalets your 'home away from home' !! Hope to see you on another trip down South. =) Pat & Jock P.S. The plumber took a couple of minutes to fix that little leak in the toilet pipe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My first thought on seeing our chalet was "I want to live here". Sadly, I don't think any of the chalets are on the market, but it was still a lovely place to spend the weekend... and we will absolutely have to return!

Pat and Jock were welcoming and friendly. We stayed in the spa chalet, and the spa itself was brilliant and good sized, though it did take some time to fill up - make sure you have something else to do while you wait (maybe a DVD?). The chalet had everything we needed (plenty of towels, a hairdryer, a clothesline, a TV with 50 Sky channels...). There was even a full kitchen with an oven, although we didn't use it - if you wanted to do some baking or cook a roast on holiday, you'd have the ability to do so!

I used to work as a motel cleaner, and I could not fault the cleanliness of the room - everything was spotless. I liked that, unless guests request otherwise, the rooms are only fully serviced every 4 days - means you have privacy, and avoids the needless wastage from washing essentially clean towels every day.

All the little things were there - Pat gave us a little 250ml milk bottle (which I much prefer to the little 15ml pots some places use), the spa had plastic wine glasses and bubble bath, and they had the heater on before we arrived in the late evening. Although it was cold outside at night, the chalet was cosy and warm.

Well worth the weekend trip up from Christchurch, and only wish we could have stayed longer. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocmilk03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
What a superb review for us ~ thanks so much ~ we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our Spa Chalet. Yes, the spa bath is a biggy and does take about 40 mins to fill up, so as you suggest it's a good idea to have a cuppa (or a vino!) while you wait.
We are glad you liked our servicing policy and found the Chalet clean & warm. We place a lot of emphasis on our Chalets being spotlessly clean plus warm & cosy.
We so appreciate you taking the time to do this wonderful review for us, and we look forward to seeing you next time you can get away to lovely Hanmer Springs! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Wonderful hosts with a great knowledge of the Hanmer Springs area. Cosy, warm, clean, separate chalets with great views and outside seating on both sides to catch both the morning and the afternoon sun and views. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Great review Gillian ~ We so appreciate you taking the time to do it for us ~ thanks heaps! It's lovely to hear you enjoyed so much about your stay with us ~ hope to see you again when you can make it down south for another holiday. =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.2 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Property: Chalets Motel
Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing